We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“welcoming and quiet”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Though the weather was cold and rainy, we received a warm welcome at this hotel. It was a bit of a challenge to get in as road construction partially blocked the entrance. Our room was comfortable and very quiet. The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations, shop dirrections and luggage stowing. This hotel was in easy walking distance to many attractions and the hop on and off bus service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is a pleasure to see that your stay was so enjoyable and that our team was so accommodating and helpful to you.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    562
    168
    55
    34
See reviews for
207
607
51
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We selected the Radisson Blu 1919 based on location and other recommendations. Could not have been more pleased with the location and the staff. Bart has to be the nicest and most helpful front desk person I have ever encountered. They seem to go above and beyond to assist you with any request. I loved Iceland, the people, and the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write your review.

I am very pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and especially the 1919 team and our location.

Be sure that I will forward your fantastic comments about Bart and the team.

I wish you a wonderful day,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our recent stay at the Radisson Blu in Reykjavik, Iceland was simply fabulous. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful in every way. Beautiful rooms and great meals. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in high-end, centrally located hotel in the beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan/Collier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the tima and post your review.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the effect that our team had on you during your time with us.

We strive to make each stay as perfect as possible and it is always fantastic to know when we have been able to do just that.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on our day 1-2 and 10-11 of our 12 day trip around Iceland. We stayed in business class rooms on the 4th floor. The first room 436 was rather small but 432 was larger though the windows in this room were high and we were not able to look out to the streets. The lobby and rooms are nicely decorated with nice toiletries. This was also the only hotel we stayed at in Iceland that had a bath tub in the room. The hotel's location is great - close to all sights and restaurants. The famous hotdog stand is right next door. The breakfast has a large selection of items and is open late in the morning.

As with many of the hotels in central Reykjavik, we heard loud music and drunken youths partying on the street. Perhaps this is something unavoidable in central Reykjavik. Be sure to bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akiraoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and post your review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to us, if you would return to Iceland.


Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband, three children and I stayed at the Radisson Blu 1919 July 2014. It was great! Here are the reasons why:
1. The location is right downtown near the concert hall.
2. The buffet breakfast is included and terrific; they even have a waffle maker.
3. The staff were incredibly helpful; my daughter wanted to horseback ride and they set it up for us complete with a pickup from the hotel.
4. When we went to the Blue Lagoon we were allowed to use the hotel towels (and bring them back) at no charge. The Blue lagoon charges $8.00 for a towel. The same was true for the Fortuna Wellness Spa which was part of our Golden Circle tour.
5. They lent us power converters at no charge.
6. We ate dinner in the hotel our first night there and it was the best meal we had in our three weeks in Scandinavia.
7. Finally the first room my children had was too noisy, but the hotel staff moved them to a quieter room. They may not be able to do this every time but they did this for us and we really appreciated it.
All around a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

I am delighted to see that you had such a great experience with us and especially the effect that our team had on your stay in Iceland.

We have just made changes in our menu at the 1919 restaurant and I am pleased to see that your family liked the meal and what we have to offer.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was probably good by Iceland standards, but we found it very average. It was "okay" but nothing special. The location was very central, and price was good. The room was large, but lacked in decoration. They had no electrical outlet (typical European) in the bathrooms,which would have been okay, however there was NO mirror anywhere else in the room. I had to dry and style my hair with a make-up compact mirror.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mirror outside the bathroom if you need one to dry your hair. Ask for blacko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
As we aspire to be more than a "ok" hotel, we value your feedback and will utilize it to improve our service.
For clarity and information to future guests, we do have a full size mirror mounted on the door of the closets in all guest rooms. There are also a electrical outlet in all of our bathrooms, next to the light switch. We offer hairdryers in all rooms for our guests convenience should you decide to not carry this with you on your travels.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to show that we can do much better.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is in a central good location.
We were put in a large room at the top. Therefore, it was very quiet.
It turns out that this was one of the nicer hotel rooms we stayed in in Iceland.

The breakfast buffet was fine.

There is a large car park opposite the hotel. It was easy to find as we arrived at about 1 am from the airport.

The hot dog stand next to the hotel has decent hot dogs.

Only stayed for a night as there is not much to see in the city and there are many more attractive sights outside the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time from your busy schedule to post this review of your stay here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel.

I am honored you choose to stay with us while you were in Reykjavik.

I hope your travels brings you back to Iceland and that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,077 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,612 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing