We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Mtl. Qc
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The location couldn't be better. The hotel is very clean, wonderful and hearty breakfast as well. Some glitches in service, though: requested a cot, paid for it, never got it. Missing linens on the beds. Early check-in became very delayed check-in. Overall a good experience, though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethescents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    784
    336
    89
    47
See reviews for
215
802
113
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights. As others have said, the hotel is in an excellent central location, easy walking distance to the harbor, shops and restaurants. We requested and stayed in the newer, renovated section of the hotel. The hotel is on a square and our room at the front faced it. We had to leave the window closed because loud, late night partiers tend to either pass through the square or hang out there. Ask for a room that faces the back of the hotel. Rooms are adequate, with comfortable beds, duvets, flat screen tv and an updated bathroom. The shower is weird, with a glass door that doesn't reach the floor to contain the water! The free Wi-Fi signal is excellent, consistently strong. Breakfast was plentiful and very good--eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, sweet oat squares (almost like brownies) and a good variety of homemade breads. The coffee was outstanding and not the usual brown water found in most hotels. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to those who do not require a 5-star experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the renovated section facing the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for its great location. Within walking distance to shops harbor restaurants and more...
The breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, fresh bread, cheese, ham, fruits, and more.
The staff were pleasant & helpful. Our room is in an older section of the hotel the beds were comfortable.

They are currently doing renovations so I think the older section will be much nicer in the future..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bballmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Plaza 22-25 November 2013 as part of a Groupon deal. The hotel is fine, well located for restaurants and shops. The room (462) was quite basic but comfortable and clean. We asked for a quiet room which is what we got, but the view was disappointing - looking straight into a block of flats! You can get free wife and BBC and ITV channels on the TV should this be of interest. I have to say they were quite stingey with the complimentary coffee (1 sachet per person per day) and the tea was of the herbal variety which was quite revolting! Breakfast was adequate, not the best I have ever had but plenty of variety. Try to get down to breakfast before 9am as its a bit of a bunfight after this time, and some of the table layouts are remininscent of a school dining hall! The receptionists are mostly helpful, if a little disinterested at times (apart from Hilmar who was great).

One important point I would make is don't go there expecting to see the Northern Lights, we were booked on the Grayline tour via Groupon and every night for three nights it was cancelled. In fact on the first evening we sat outside the hotel for 30 minutes waiting for our pick up which never came. Eventually I went to check at Reception and was informed that it had been cancelled earlier in the day. This was a shame as we have rushed dinner to get back to the hotel for 730pm. It would have been nice if we had been informed of this via a note under the room door or equivalent so we could plan our evening.

Theres no getting away from the fact that Iceland is expensive, but if you are prepared to hunt it out you can find reasonably priced food and drink. Soft drinks are a rip off, as a non drinker I got wise to this and asked for water with meals FOC, which by the way is the best tap water I have ever tasted! As for lager expect to pay around 900 krona for a pint, but we did find a small bar which was serving it for 400 krona,(its near the Danish Open Sandwich restaurant).

We checked out for a very early flight and there was a few croissants, coffee and juice laid on in the bar but that was it. We ate on the flight in the end, which was actually quite tasty for a change!

We enjoyed the Whale watching tour, we didn't see any whales - plenty of dolphins though. It was very rough and I would definately recommend taking travel sickness tablets at least 2 hours before you climb aboard. There were a lot of people looking very green around the gills on our trip even though the tour operator hand sea sickness tablets out free of charge!

The bus ride from the airport to the centre of Reykjavik is pretty unexciting, I would recommend that you pay a little extra and get dropped/picked up at your hotel as the bus station is quite a trek out of town.

In essence I would say plan your days well beforehand, make sure you read the tours small print about ringing 24 hours before to confirm etc, and enjoy Iceland!

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room ask for one on floors four or five in the new part of the hotel, the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baklavalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here as part of Groupon deal. location was fabulous - walked everywhere in town. Room was basic, nothing fancy, but clean and served our,purposes. Nice lobby and good breakfast buffet. We had asked for a king bed so we were given a room on top floor and it was a double-queen - not two twins pushed together, so we were lucky. Staff could not have been nicer. We had a problem with our TV and they offered to move us to another room but it was our last night by then so we did not want to move.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed so you will hopefully get a room that does NOT have two twins pushed together, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

So convenient for restaurants and site seeing. Modern hotel and free wifi. Warm rooms and cosy bar. Some rooms better than others so don't be afraid to ask to change rooms! Taxi rank right outside is a bonus

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location. Walking distance to everything you need. Tons of restaurants near by, a bar inside the hotel.
The only downfall is the construction going on, we had to change rooms because our first room was simply too loud. We couldn't even talk to each other. We moved into one of the rooms in the other building. It was quite the journey to get to all the time, but very quiet once we got there. Much appreciated.
The night time front desk guy, Hilmar, provided the best service I have ever had in a hotel. He made reservations for us, he brought some things to our room when requested, gave us great tips about where to go and even had to step in as the bartender sometimes. Amazing guy!

Room Tip: The room is the "dungeon" are harder to get to but worth the walk. 131-139 I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
City Center Hotel
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing