We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early December and can only echo other reviews on the positive aspects of the hotel. The location is perfect - on a little square - and very close to bars, restaurants and the harbour.

We stayed in room 334 which was fine - two single beds pushed together, wardrobe (with hangers), desk, tv, mini bar, tea/coffee making facilities - plenty of storage space. The bathroom looked recently updated and was lovely - shower over a big bath, modern appliances and the all important hair-dryer!

The hotel bar has a great happy hour (beer and wine only) from 5-7pm every evening. Breakfast (7-10am daily) is great also and the flapjacks are delicious!

We had three tours pre-booked through Grayline (Northern Lights, Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle) and have to say that these were well organised from the hotel. Pick-ups on time, etc.

Can't really fault it for a short break and would definitely look to book the Plaza again if we return to Reykjavik. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen.Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Plaza hotel is situated right on the square in the old town of Reykjavic, meaning restaurants/bars/cafes/shops and the old harbour are all within close walkign distance. We were lucky and were given a room looking out onto the square so had a fantastic view.

The double bed was actually two singles pushed together with two duvets (this seems to be the way they do things in Iceland!), but were very comfortable. TV wasn't great but we weren't in our room an awful lot, and the bathroom/shower was nice and modern.

Breakfast was great (Reykjavic is expensive to eat out so it was good to fill ourselves up each morning!), with a selection of cooked and continential options.

When we first arrived the lady on the front desk was very grumpy and unhelpful, however everyone else we encountered during our stay could not have been more helpful and polite! The tourist information centre is literally next door.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the square with a great view (we were lucky!), whilst reading oher reviews it seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morph29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Everything positive that has been said about this hotel is true..wonderful location, so central, easy to walk anywhere..did have my so as the guide though!! The staff on reception and the bar area were amazing, nothing too much trouble! Breakfast good...the only downside was that we were in a room next to where the renovations were going on...just seemed as though the drill would not stop! Luckily they don't work at the weekend so we had a break from the noise!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juneew2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We returned from a four night break at the CenterHotel Plaza in Reykjavik yesterday evening. We found the location particularly good as we were smack in the middle of the Old Town, surrounded by many excellent restaurants and shops. It was great that the excursions could be so easily booked in the Tourist Information office which was situated next door and that the coaches picked you up at the hotel door. When we arrived last Wednesday the temperature was well bellow it's average (0 degrees) for December and there was a few inches of settled snow. The snow and the Christmas lights all added to an early festive feel. The room was cosy and warm, even at -20 degrees outside!! The buffet breakfasts carried a wide variety of choice and catered to all tastes. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable place to stay - HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After reading a previous Tripadvisor review, I emailed the hotel and asked for a refurbished room overlooking the square. They replied to say that they would do their best to satisfy my request.
We arrived and were shown to a room (265) overlooking a brick wall. Plentiful noticies said that you could request an upgrade for 25 euros. I went to reception to do this but... "sorry, the hotel is full." Apart from the dreadful view, the room was OK. The beds - two singles pushed together with separate duvets - were comfortable, as were the pillows. When we tried again later to get a room-switch, we were given the keys of the world's tiniest double bedroom (105). Viewing this was enough to make us feel more satisfied with the one that we had already. We did not swap.

The high-quality TV showed BBC1/2 (Scotland), ITV and various other channels such as Film4. The free wi-fi was OK. The en-suite bathroom was fine, except that it had a toilet roll holder designed so that you could not detach a sheet or two of paper without the whole roll falling off its support and rolling across the floor. Ah well, that was fun in a way.

Breakfast was well organised, considering the vast number of people present. Self service for cereals, breads, fruit, coffee, overdone scrambled egg and bacon that was generally OK but sometimes double-cooked to very crispy. Basically it was a good breakfast and the various foods never ran out. A good effort by the hotel.

Room Tip: No chance when the hotel is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We originally booked to stay at Centerhotel Skjaldbreid but on arrival were told that they had overbooked! At least 6 other couples were also transferred to various other hotels. We went to CenterPlaza and were very pleased with the location. All the staff speak excellent English and were extremely helpful in re-arranging our trip pick-up change etc. Breakfast was excellent though there was the feeling of being in a canteen, but the food was well cooked and the hotel very clean. We will definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellers021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Pros - location was fantastic, superior room was a good size, good breakfast and also appears bathroom was renovated.

Cons - unless you are going out in Reykjavik on the weekends - avoid room 231. Directly above a tapas restaurant/bar (but if you come in late around 2 am sound won't be an issue); other issues included: windows will not open (some), curtains damaged and queen bed fitted with two single comforters and no flat sheet (as depicted on pictures on the website).

Overall the location was great, service was okay - iin general our experience was neither exceptional nor terrible. Unless you can get a room in the renovated section, rooms are dated (we requested a newer room but none were available....) the noise from bars, other rooms, the street was pretty loud... again totally depends what you are after, but unless we were in a newer room its likely we would book a different hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ReviewsFromKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
City Center Hotel
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
824 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
943 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,888 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,831 reviews
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#29 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £125 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing