We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value but....”
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great location and value but....”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Sat in the hotel room now with a headache due to the work that is going on under us (I think that is where the banging and pneumatic drill is anyway). I know that it is the middle of the afternoon and we should be out but having had late nights chasing the Northern Lights and off again later tonight this is rest bite - or well at least we hoped it was.

We are on the 3rd floor in room 302 this is a superior room that we paid an upgrade for. It has a fab view overlooking the square with the Christmas huts out and all the lights. It has 2 large windows and is very spacious, it is shown on the hotel website with the sun shining through. However, the furniture is somewhat dated now post that photo. It is Ok though. The bathroom on the other hand is tiny, the shower is very small, so small that when you have a shower (the spray is great) but it floods the bathroom as the water comes out faster than the drain can cope with and being so small goes under the door into the bathroom.

Tiny details make a difference, we were sold this as a 4 star but it isn't it is a good 3 star and it was a great bargin so very happy with the price for what we have. There is no heated towel rail to dry them, the nice soap dispenser is empty and a bottle left on the side, no other toiletries, the shampoo and body gel rests on the plastic tray around the shower, easily knocked off with so little room.

The TV broke yesterday not a big deal really but we reported it and they were due to fix this morning but they haven't, all in the detail. They did offer to move us last night but to be honest too much like hard work when we go home tomorrow.

Again with the detail, there is a tea and coffee tray but no milk.

The staff are very polite and helpful and their English is better than most English people. There is FREE wifi everywhere and it is very quick.

Breakfast: I think there is ongoing work as one half of the breakfast room looks unfinished and that ties in with the (what is now very annoying) drilling. The rooms are designed to share tables which is nice. The food is very good, a choice of hot buffet breakfast as well as cold meat, cheese, and salad. The nutty bread is excellent! Plenty of choice including a wide variety of Twinings teas.

Overall, I would stay again not sure of I want this room or not as the view is great but the room is tired and the bathroom below par. It is quite noisy as the planes fly very low overhead but thankfully not at night. The trip was very good value for money but I do now think that was because of things being done so the travel company Cresta should probably have told us why it was so cheap, not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: 302 is a corner room, great view and is classed as a superior one. If you are large though forget it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    823
    348
    96
    49
See reviews for
236
843
120
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just got back from staying 3 nights at this hotel on an Iceland Air package and found it to be in a terrific location for walking around town. Rooms were adequate, clean and quiet even though we were on the street and only 2nd floor up. Heard hardly any street noise although some sheer curtains would have allowed us to keep the curtains open and enjoy the natural light. Staff was pleasant and professional. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmvollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Reykjavik is lovely don't hesitate to go you won't be disappointed. The hotel is clean and comfortable, tea and coffee and nice hot shower, Breakfast is not to be missed. boiled eggs and toast or scrambled egg, bacon and sausage. Breads and pastries, porridge, cereal, yogurt...try the flapjack its amazing. Staff really friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. Hotel is a nice central location in easy walking distance for nice restaurants and bars which are all excellent. Lots of lovely shops to visit but be aware Iceland is expensive but well worth it. Iceland will take your breath away!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early December and can only echo other reviews on the positive aspects of the hotel. The location is perfect - on a little square - and very close to bars, restaurants and the harbour.

We stayed in room 334 which was fine - two single beds pushed together, wardrobe (with hangers), desk, tv, mini bar, tea/coffee making facilities - plenty of storage space. The bathroom looked recently updated and was lovely - shower over a big bath, modern appliances and the all important hair-dryer!

The hotel bar has a great happy hour (beer and wine only) from 5-7pm every evening. Breakfast (7-10am daily) is great also and the flapjacks are delicious!

We had three tours pre-booked through Grayline (Northern Lights, Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle) and have to say that these were well organised from the hotel. Pick-ups on time, etc.

Can't really fault it for a short break and would definitely look to book the Plaza again if we return to Reykjavik. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen.Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Plaza hotel is situated right on the square in the old town of Reykjavic, meaning restaurants/bars/cafes/shops and the old harbour are all within close walkign distance. We were lucky and were given a room looking out onto the square so had a fantastic view.

The double bed was actually two singles pushed together with two duvets (this seems to be the way they do things in Iceland!), but were very comfortable. TV wasn't great but we weren't in our room an awful lot, and the bathroom/shower was nice and modern.

Breakfast was great (Reykjavic is expensive to eat out so it was good to fill ourselves up each morning!), with a selection of cooked and continential options.

When we first arrived the lady on the front desk was very grumpy and unhelpful, however everyone else we encountered during our stay could not have been more helpful and polite! The tourist information centre is literally next door.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the square with a great view (we were lucky!), whilst reading oher reviews it seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morph29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Everything positive that has been said about this hotel is true..wonderful location, so central, easy to walk anywhere..did have my so as the guide though!! The staff on reception and the bar area were amazing, nothing too much trouble! Breakfast good...the only downside was that we were in a room next to where the renovations were going on...just seemed as though the drill would not stop! Luckily they don't work at the weekend so we had a break from the noise!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juneew2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We returned from a four night break at the CenterHotel Plaza in Reykjavik yesterday evening. We found the location particularly good as we were smack in the middle of the Old Town, surrounded by many excellent restaurants and shops. It was great that the excursions could be so easily booked in the Tourist Information office which was situated next door and that the coaches picked you up at the hotel door. When we arrived last Wednesday the temperature was well bellow it's average (0 degrees) for December and there was a few inches of settled snow. The snow and the Christmas lights all added to an early festive feel. The room was cosy and warm, even at -20 degrees outside!! The buffet breakfasts carried a wide variety of choice and catered to all tastes. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable place to stay - HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
767 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,734 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,323 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing