We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to understand early Icelandic history”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saga Museum

Saga Museum
Ranked #28 of 178 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Viking Museum that intimately recreates key moments in Icelandic early history, moments that have determined the fate of our people and which give a compelling view into how Icelanders have lived for more than a millennium. From the time of the earliest settlers, history is brought to life in a unique and exciting way, with life-like wax wax figurines. Visitors are guided through the museum with an audio-guide.
Level Contributor
200 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good way to understand early Icelandic history”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Situated in the Pearl this is a well done museum of dioramas depicting early Icelandic history. Tickets includes an audio guide. Takes a little under an hour. It is informative and the sets well done. Ends a bit abruptly with no lead into later Icelandic history. Family (14-21) agreed it was worth it, but I suspect any longer would have resulted in some giving up and heading to the gift shop. Gift shop has some nice replica pieces by the way

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    509
    232
    58
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

extremely well done, if you are a western Icelander, this is a great place to figure out who you are

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank organicgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well-designed exhibit, good audio commentary, Iceland history 101”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Really enjoyed this small, but well-thought-out and interesting look at early European Icelandic history. Admission price (which includes audio commentary in a number of languages) is a good value. The video showing how the exhibit was created is worth watching. In our opinion, the little gift shop in the museum itself (not the one in the main lobby) has some of the best quality Iceland souvenirs that we saw. We walked up to the Perlan from downtown Reykjavik - about a 30 minute walk. The last one-third of the walk was a bit steep. You can use sidewalks until you come to the base of the Perlan hill and then there are hiking trails which lead to the Perlan building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bloody awesome”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Saga Museum is tucked away into the Perlan. The location and views are excellent. I was by myself, and had a bit of a mini heart attack in the first part of the museum. When you first walk in, it's pretty dark, and then you turn the corner and hello! There's a figure right in your face. The whole experience was very well thought out and set up. I especially like the little video on how they made the mannequins. The whole place really brings the incredible history of Iceland to life.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kak_rugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice to get to know the history of Iceland”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Diorama's give a good impression of Iceland's history and past. An audio tour tells you the most important things that can be seen. Nicely set up.

I would not feel I had missed something special if I had found out about this museum after I left Reykjavik.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dvdrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saga Museum also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Saga Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing