We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hostel in the centre”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salvation Army Guesthouse
Ranked #57 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap hostel in the centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very nice room, good location, excellent services on reception. Big kitchen with dining room. No parking, but there are cheap parking house very near. We were suprised, that at night was quite silence, more than we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    41
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
16
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Reykjavik is an expensive city, and the Salvation Army Guesthouse is a very good option. The best thing is its location in the older part of the city, so everything is within walking distance. My room was clean, as were the bathrooms. Reception was helpful. There might be some noise (especially with large groups) but it is a hostel, so bring along some ear plugs. Recommended,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joaquin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macerata, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I spent in Salvation Army guesthouse almost 2 weeks in August in 2010, when I came to Reykjavik as an erasmus student; as the apartment where I was supposed to stay was not yet available in August, I had to wait in Salvation Army until September. I definitely enjoyed my time in this Guesthouse: the staff was always very kind with me, the people I met there was really friendly and still I have contacts with many of them, the beds were confortable (even through I slept in a sleeping bag for 2 weeks) and every day the room was cleaned and sheets changed (I had the chance to see it by myself, because when tourists used to go out for trips or excursions sometimes I used to have a nap taking advantage of the emply room). To sum up, I won't never forget the beautiful moments that I spent in this guesthouse, I really appreciate it!

Obviously I am a really tolerant girs, even though I used to sleep in a room with other 4 people, I felt confortable and I even used to left all my things scattered along the room and nothing disappeared. Then, there was no lift, but it was not a problem for me and I managed to do everrything by myself...so, you have also to take in mind this aspect and if you like a comfortable and silent ambience, this guesthouse is not for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alekappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

The Salvation Army Guesthouse is a dorm all year long - even when there are not students you will find conditions to be that of any typical college. Shared bathrooms and I imagine that in a full room, it could be very crowded. But the location cannot be matched for such a great price. If you're looking for frills and ammenities, skip this. If you want value and prime location - this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank angie1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

This guesthouse is very cheap and has a great location, but it's very noisy. The walls are thin, so you can hear everything from other rooms and corridors. At least in August the place was very crowded and people were making noise in the corridors from early morning until midnight, and past. The room we had was spacious, but quite worn out. The beds were bad. We didn't manage to get much of sleep during our three nights' stay. Next time we'll choose another place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannamaria72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

For accommodation in the heart of Reykjavik, this is definitely one of the cheaper options you can find, especially for those who enjoy nightlife since the bars and pubs are just out in the street near the frontdoor.

Rooms are small, with just enough space for a bed and a sink for washing up, and a cupboard, with communal toilets shared with the rest of the people living on the same floor(they may have more fancy rooms with its own toilets but check with the hotel on this). The walls though are quite thin and noise levels from the partygoers from the street and from your neighbours may be a problem for light sleepers. I slept like a log though, after an entire day of sightseeing. No lifts were available when I went, and I had to lug my luggage up 3 floors-- definitely not for the elderly and handicapped.

The rooms are clean though, as is the rest of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmottalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I spent three nights here in August 2012 and was impressed. The location in Kirkjustraeti, just a couple of minute's walk from the Parliament Building and the harbour, is excellent. Rooms are various - singles, doubles and dormitory accommodation. A single worked out at 8,500 ISK and represents good value in a pricey city.. Rooms are fairly small. Facilities are clean. Soap and towels are provided. The comparison to a Japanese capsule hotel in the recent edition of the Lonely Planet Guide does, I think, give a misleading impression. A decent buffet breakfast in the pleasant downstairs dining room was 800 ISK extra. Street noise can be troublesome at the weekends - more from early morning airport coaches and tours buses than night time revelers. Earplugs are not a bad idea. The staff are helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building, not facing Kirkjustraeti, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Brattagata Guesthouse
Brattagata Guesthouse
#22 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#50 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Centric Guesthouse
#40 of 108 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#20 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvation Army Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvation Army Guesthouse

Property: Salvation Army Guesthouse
Address: Kirkjustraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
can accommodate about 90 guests at a time, in single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and sleeping bag accommodation for the low budget traveller. Toilets and showers are on every floor. The breakfast is served from 7:00 each morning, ant there are a kitchen available for the guests where they can make their own food and store their food ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salvation Army Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing