We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stay Bolholt Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Plaza(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$447
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
59
60
30
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
60
30
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrelaundry roomsmall kitchenmicrowave ovenkringlan mallclean towelslocal supermarkettwin bedsfree wifihire carworked finepots and pansquiet areaother guestsself cateringhome from homeyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I came to the apartment with low expectation since the price was quite low for Iceland. But it was a nice surprise. The location is good, not close to city center but it's easy to get out of Reykjavik if you use the city as the base. Reykjavik is a small city anyway so it takes 10 min to walk to city center.

The service is minimum so they can keep the price low. Everything is self service. The owner gave clear instruction and tips so it was easy check in and check out. The apartment itself is in good condition. They still clean up the place and change towels. The view from the apartment is great especially if it's sunny day.

I would definitely go back to Iceland and this place would definitely be my first option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here for a week in February. Check in - a bit of a challenge as no-one answered phone to see if we could leave luggage, other guests directed to go elsewhere as double booked.
Room was ready at 2pm (just!). Apartment clean reasonably well equipped. Towels changed, rubbish emptied.
Could do with a normal table and chairs as bar stool perches not good for older guests.
Apartment was warm (too warm).
Somewhere to hang wet clothes (we went out a lot in the rain!) and a door on the corridor between our apartment and the pool table would have helped cut down the noise.
Good value if not particularly attractive, scenic or central...

Room Tip: Apartment 14 is next to the pool table which got noisy at night and Apartment 1 has the rubbish bins outside!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBleislager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We arrived shortly after 2 on a Sunday to find our room had not been made up. We were told to come back in about 15 min. With our stack of luggage we decided to wait. It was actually after 2:30 before we got in our room. No reason was given for the delay. When we asked if we could have an hour late departure we were told fine as long as we were out in time to have the room ready at 2 for the next guest. No one was around but the cleaning woman.

I wrote the management thinking they would apologize for the room not being ready but their response was not friendly.

The batteries on the TV remote were dead. One of the main overhead lights was out. The bed lights didn't work.

Aside from those inconveniences the room was large and equipped for light meals. Beds were comfortable. Room was not as clean as we would have liked. There was a collection of hair and crumbs under the table. Location is better if you have a car though buses pass in front.

TV was not flat screen and had very limited channels. At one point we had BBC sound with a cartoon picture.

We were told that cutting staff and services lets them keep their prices low.

As I always say - read the other reviews and decide what is important to you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

These were fine - stayed here for 8 nights - twin beds, when we'd booked a double, was a bit of a pain - but they were comfy.

Some of the equipment, such as the microwave didn't work that well and had to be jammed with a card .. but the staff seemed nice and if we'd have bothered to complain, I expect they'd have sent a replacement.

Sound insulation between rooms isn't great - lots of sex noise from next door on first night when we were tired and grumpy was a bad start.

Made use of the car hire discount with Hasso - who were great to deal with and hire automatics!

Minus points:
an unispiring start to a trek into town
wifi cuts out a lot
equipment a bit tired
lack of storage - we had two cupboards but one was full of itchy insulation
stinky drains

Plus points:
Towels were changed often
lovely comfy beds
laundry room is a bonus
on pickup list for all trips and transfers
warm

All in all, you won't be blown away, but they are absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We booked two family apartments here for the end of October, and on arrival found two apartments allocated that were obviously not big enough. On contacting the owner, who turned up quite quickly, he explained that they had made a mistake with the booking, and that no other apartments were available but that he could give us campbeds to put in the room, which cramped things somewhat, but was the best of a bad job. We received a discounted rate down to the normal rate for a double, but for the inconvenience a token discount would have been appreciated.
However, for the price I wouldn't want to push that point any further, as in reality they are very good value for money, but do please be aware that overbooking does seem to be common, as it happened on more than several occasions whilst we were there, and people were relocated in other apartments, some of which were closer to the main area I hasten to add!
On to the good points, of which there are a lot:
Location is excellent. 15 mins stroll sees you in the centre of Reykjavik; ten minutes in the other direction is a lovely municipal outdoor heated pool which stays open late, and is very good value for families.
The views from the front apartments are fantastic over the bay and mountains.
Hand soap, washing up liquid and cloth, tea towels and clothes washing powder were in the apartment on arrival.
Washing and drying facilities provided free within the complex.
Wi Fi within the apartments, and a free Internet terminal in the complex.
A small pool table to keep the kids happy while you're cooking(which is a definite money saver if you need to economise)
A free phone in reception for any landline in Iceland with plenty of tourist information available in the way of leaflets etc.

As for paying in cash to receive a discount, this is def worthwhile. The terms state payment on the second day, however the owner is very relaxed about it. You can either give it to the cleaner during the week, or, as we did, leave it in an envelope in the apartment when leaving.

Overall, if a little bit cramped, it is in a great location, has good facilities, is clean enough and for the price, extremely good value.

Room Tip: The double rooms at the front have a great view, whilst the family rooms at the back do not.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonescymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews