We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Bolholt Apartments
Ranked #30 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in Bolholt for 6 nights; it was clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. The staff were around most days and dealt with any issues speedily. The apartment was basic but perfectly adequate; the tour companies knew it's location and picked up from there. It was about a 15-20 minute walk into the city, and there were supermarkets and restaurants close by. The outside of the building doesn't look inviting but our apartment suited our needs well and would use again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JanetLeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Stay Bolholt Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I arrived at this facility as I can hardly qualify this as a hotel or an apartment. I have stayed at hotels and rented apartments and this is not the same as either. It lacks any charm, warmth or true comforts. As indicated in some of the descriptions it is on the 4th floor of an otherwise industrial style office building with practically no security, once past the unmanned first floor entrance anyone can roam free. According to the description provided by the hotel/apartment "lobby staff is almost none existent" but during our stay the word "almost" should not have been included in the description. Also, according to the same description "free wireless internet is in all apartments" but the description fails to mention that each device get a 500 MB Quota per 24 hours after which access speed is slowed. Other than a refillable bottle of hand soap, towels and a hair dryer there are no toiletries provided so if we hadn't brought our own we would have been out of luck.

In regard to TripAdvisor and Booking.com they must provide a better way of indication the tastes of those providing the reviews and ratings because I can easily imagine many people being satisfied with these accommodations but this is a case where I cannot agree with the rating that this facility has been given. For me this deserves no more than a 2 on a 5 point scale and had it not been past the cancellation deadline I surely would have stayed elsewhere (and seriously considered foregoing the full amount of the cost of the stay).

Room Tip: Unless you are a budget traveler look elsewhere. This is a good value if you're a budget travele...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Staff were helpful and the apartment was well equiped and well presented and very close to the shopping centre and main centre of rekyjavik. We really enjoyed our stay the bed was very comfortable however only flaw was the bathroom was a too smaller than expected but we were able to still have fun neverthless. Thank you to iceland and bolholt 4 staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shikha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice little apartment, it was our home for a week and had everything we needed. We are planning a more adventurous trio to iceland again soon and this place is cheep enough to be our base camp even if we don't stay every night.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jimslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Kitche facilities, Wi-Fi, free parking, 10-minutes walk to the main shopping street, decnt Mexican restaurant half block westward, Laugar swimming pool and spa - 10 min walk. We did not see any staff but cleaners during a week stay, but we did not need them. If arriving dyring an weekend or after 6pm, write down a code for the entrance, otherwise you will have to contact the manager by phone, and he will open the door remotely.
The only thing - for my test, the mattress is a bit soft, but we dealt with it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Couldn't ask for anything else. Everything you need for a comfortable stay with all facilities, great location for main roads to further locations or a 5 min short walk into town onto main shopping street.

Had a huge room which was lovely and warm throughout our stay, slept like a baby the whole time.

I recommend the Chilli Pepper mexican restaurant & takeaway a few doors down, even if yes a little pricey it tasted great.
The shell garage opposite the building is very handy and the lady makes a good coffee ready for any journey ahead.
Or a hop & skip across the main road is the 10-11 supermarket which yes a little expensive but the coffee machine as you go in the doorway is great value and makes not a bad coffee and if you can't be bothered with breakfast or need it on the go they have a host of breakfast options.

If you looking for a good stay nothing too fancy but everything that you need for a warm and comfortable stay I would recommend highly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Einholt Apartments
#34 of 109 in Reykjavik
371 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#28 of 108 in Reykjavik
170 reviews
Miõborg
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
#45 of 109 in Reykjavik
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Orkin
#13 of 108 in Reykjavik
217 reviews
Smaragata
#34 of 108 in Reykjavik
38 reviews
Brim Hotel RCH
#37 of 108 in Reykjavik
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Bolholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Bolholt Apartments

Address: Bolholt 6, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £108 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Bolholt Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bolholt Apartments. Bolholt is a modern and spacious apartment hotel in Reykjavik city center. Bolholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveler wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. BOLHOLT is a modern apartment hotel offering 13 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering studio apartments on the 4th floor. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost nonexistent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Towels and bed linen are provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Free wireless internet is in all apartments. Lounge room with sofas, pool table and a computer with internet access. Free telephone in the lobby for domestic calls. Free parking spaces. Ideal for long or short stays. From the north side of Bolholt there is a magnificent view of the bay and our beautiful Esja Mountain. After booking we will send you a confirmation email with all necessary information on how to get here and how to check in after hours. It also includes other useful information. Bolholt Apartments have 7 double studios with either a twin bed and 6 family studios with two twin beds and a sofa bed for two. Possibility of an extra role-in-bed for the fifth person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stay Bolholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolholt Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing