We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some lovely experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Home Luxury Apartments
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some lovely experiences”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We spent 4 days : Did the Golden Circle tour in a rented car, ate some lovely seafood in Reykjavik, walked up Eldfell in Heimaey and chilled out for a morning in the Blue Lagoon, Overall a very interesting trip. People were friendly and good humoured. Transport/ tourist infrastucture was excellant.
The appartment was comfortable. A bit small ( as a six person appartment , we were five) It would benefit from a microwave and some extra crockery and a good spring clean.. The hot tub/shower was not user friendly...it was tricky to get into, took an age to fill and only a hand held shower head
The rep was helpful.
Liked the location best and the loud revellers, street smokers from nearby bars least

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galwaygirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 for 4 nights. The apartment inside is nice enough, although nothing special, and location is very good within easy walking distance of everything really. The major problem was that right next to the building there are some very loud large building works going on - when we were here they were breaking out the ground which is pretty much solid rock. I imagine the work will go on for quite a while yet. I appreciate this may not be apartments fault but it really spoilt it for us. With respect to the apartment it would have been nice if someone had turned up at least once in 4 days maybe to empty bins or do light cleaning but this didnt happen. Also when we arrived there is no actual access at the buiding or reception and we were wandering around in the rain for a while trying to find way in! Eventually someone appaered (by chance) from another apartment. We never did find out where we should have gone. Also because floors are wood there was a lot of noise from the apartment above. We were pretty glad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This apartment is a nice little gem smack in the center of Reykjavik.

Granted that Reykjavik isn't the largest city, but this apartment features everything 2 minutes away: tourist information, groceries (to take advantage of the kitchen), Laugavegur (the shopping street in Reykjavik).

The apartment is perfect for 2 people. It has a modern design, yet a friendly and cozy feeling (plenty of wood). Additionally, the owner is an artist so there's original art throughout the apartment. The kitchen and nice and functional and fine for cooking during vacation. The only amenity you might miss is a dish washer, but we took it as a team sport.

The owner is very helpful and very available. Once it took a second call, but we certainly got help we needed throughout the stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boston_viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Just back from a wonderful visit to Iceland where we stayed at Home Apartments for 4 days. We loved the place
- because it was located very centrally in the heart of the city and yet only 2 min. from the ocean
- because of the extremely friendly and helpful owners
- because of the terrace-area with hammock, bench, barbarcue-possibility etc. in front of the house
- because of the large room with good facilities

We highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeborgDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I thought that the Home Apartments were great. The beds were soooo comfy, we had a lovely kitchen, bathroom and spacious loune with a huge TV and we were right in the middle of town. The location couldn't have been better. There were 4 of us and we got upgraded to a bigger apartment for free!

The owner was lovely, really helpful in giving us advice on good local bars and restaurants.

I would highly recommend staying at Home Apartments.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from outside
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pippaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Since I don't live in Reykjavik location is essential for me when I visit the city. That's where Home Apartments comes in, since it's location couldn't be better, at least not for the ones that prefer the city center.
The studios give you a home away from home feeling. It's not the typical hotel-hassle and you rarely meet or even notice the other guests.
Although Home doesn't offer breakfast, room service or carry a mini-bar, it's something I'm ready to forgive - who needs a beer for $10 from the mini-bar anyway? ;)

So without hesitation I recommend this place,
Lei5ure.

  • Liked — Location and the cool rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lei5ure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We arrived at Home to find that they had overbooked the apartments and that we could not stay there. We were taken round the corner (literally) to an apartment on Bankastraeti (owned by the same people as Home), and apart from the fact it was not quite finished, the apartment could not have been furnished to a higher standard. Whilst the owners were putting the finishing touches to the apartment, they treated us to a free meal at the bar/restaurant opposite and brought us a bottle of Moet later that evening, which was very nice of them. The apartment had a five-ring cooker, american-style fridge, huge tv, tempur mattress in the bedroom and very stylish furnishings and artworks. I thoroughly recommend staying there and both of us had a fantastic time.

As for Home, I recommend asking any taxi/bus driver to take you to 'government house' as it is very close to skolastraeti (skolastraeti is a very small one-way street and drivers simply do not know where it is even though it is right in the middle of town). Alternatively, ask for Bankastraeti as Skolastraeti leads off this main street. I also recommend the brand new 'restaurant O' (the old Siggi Hall) in the Hotel Odinsve. The food was amazing although not cheap by any means - 3 courses each with coffee and one bottle of Cloudy Bay came to £170.

I also thoroughly recommend the Gullfoss and Geysir tour run by Iceland Excursions - Reykjavik is fantastic but it's great to get out and see some of the natural sights Iceland is famous for.

  • Liked — Location; the style and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterborough_UKSianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
455 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#76 of 109 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Reykjavik Rainbow
#77 of 102 in Reykjavik
4 reviews
Apartment K
#14 of 102 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Luxury Apartments

Property: Home Luxury Apartments
Address: Skolastraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Home Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing