We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icelandic robbers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Luxury Apartments
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Icelandic robbers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Although we have received a confirmation of the booking, there were no rooms for us. The hotel had booked us into another appartment - out of the centre, 2 classes below the one we booked originally. And they charged on my card original price 436 eur while the real price of the appartment was 290 eur!!!!! After very hot conversation I was promised refunding of the excessive amount plus discount 13 eur for the taxi to the city centrer. This practice becomes very common in Reykjavik. Services in Iceland are somewhere on level of 20 years ago in Central Europe.

Room Tip: Don't try Guesthouse Ísafold - the experience was even worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We spent 4 days : Did the Golden Circle tour in a rented car, ate some lovely seafood in Reykjavik, walked up Eldfell in Heimaey and chilled out for a morning in the Blue Lagoon, Overall a very interesting trip. People were friendly and good humoured. Transport/ tourist infrastucture was excellant.
The appartment was comfortable. A bit small ( as a six person appartment , we were five) It would benefit from a microwave and some extra crockery and a good spring clean.. The hot tub/shower was not user friendly...it was tricky to get into, took an age to fill and only a hand held shower head
The rep was helpful.
Liked the location best and the loud revellers, street smokers from nearby bars least

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galwaygirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 for 4 nights. The apartment inside is nice enough, although nothing special, and location is very good within easy walking distance of everything really. The major problem was that right next to the building there are some very loud large building works going on - when we were here they were breaking out the ground which is pretty much solid rock. I imagine the work will go on for quite a while yet. I appreciate this may not be apartments fault but it really spoilt it for us. With respect to the apartment it would have been nice if someone had turned up at least once in 4 days maybe to empty bins or do light cleaning but this didnt happen. Also when we arrived there is no actual access at the buiding or reception and we were wandering around in the rain for a while trying to find way in! Eventually someone appaered (by chance) from another apartment. We never did find out where we should have gone. Also because floors are wood there was a lot of noise from the apartment above. We were pretty glad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

This apartment is a nice little gem smack in the center of Reykjavik.

Granted that Reykjavik isn't the largest city, but this apartment features everything 2 minutes away: tourist information, groceries (to take advantage of the kitchen), Laugavegur (the shopping street in Reykjavik).

The apartment is perfect for 2 people. It has a modern design, yet a friendly and cozy feeling (plenty of wood). Additionally, the owner is an artist so there's original art throughout the apartment. The kitchen and nice and functional and fine for cooking during vacation. The only amenity you might miss is a dish washer, but we took it as a team sport.

The owner is very helpful and very available. Once it took a second call, but we certainly got help we needed throughout the stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boston_viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Just back from a wonderful visit to Iceland where we stayed at Home Apartments for 4 days. We loved the place
- because it was located very centrally in the heart of the city and yet only 2 min. from the ocean
- because of the extremely friendly and helpful owners
- because of the terrace-area with hammock, bench, barbarcue-possibility etc. in front of the house
- because of the large room with good facilities

We highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeborgDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

I thought that the Home Apartments were great. The beds were soooo comfy, we had a lovely kitchen, bathroom and spacious loune with a huge TV and we were right in the middle of town. The location couldn't have been better. There were 4 of us and we got upgraded to a bigger apartment for free!

The owner was lovely, really helpful in giving us advice on good local bars and restaurants.

I would highly recommend staying at Home Apartments.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from outside
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pippaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bifröst
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

Since I don't live in Reykjavik location is essential for me when I visit the city. That's where Home Apartments comes in, since it's location couldn't be better, at least not for the ones that prefer the city center.
The studios give you a home away from home feeling. It's not the typical hotel-hassle and you rarely meet or even notice the other guests.
Although Home doesn't offer breakfast, room service or carry a mini-bar, it's something I'm ready to forgive - who needs a beer for $10 from the mini-bar anyway? ;)

So without hesitation I recommend this place,
Lei5ure.

  • Liked — Location and the cool rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lei5ure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#69 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Rainbow
#63 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Ice Apartments Reykjavik
#22 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Apartment K
#14 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Luxury Apartments

Property: Home Luxury Apartments
Address: Skolastraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Home Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing