We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent deal in central Reykiavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alfholl Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alfholl Guesthouse
Ranked #80 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
milano
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“excellent deal in central Reykiavik”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We spent two nights at the Alfholl guesthouse and our experience there was excellent. We got there upon indications of another guesthouse owner. Almost all accomodations in Reykiavik seemed fully booked and we've been so lucky to find Alfholl! The owner offered us the last available room, which was actually a studio apartment, for a discount price (12000 ISK, 80 euros more or less, per night incl. breakfast). The studio was located in the house just in front of Alfholl guesthouse. It has a small kitchenette, a small bathroom and a rather spacious bedroom. Our staying there was just perfect. The guesthouse is in a very convenient location for visiting the city center (5 minutes walk). There is a free wireless connection in the main house, where breakfast (classical Icelandic breakfast, with bread, jam, milk and Cheerios cereals) is served.
I strongly recommend Alfholl guesthouse for your staying in Reykiavik!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachele78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our 8 day trip to Iceland. It was super easy to get to (we took the FlyBus to the Hotel Metropolitan which is next door) and about a 5 minute walk from the heart of Reykjavik. We had one of the double rooms with a private bathroom. My one complaint is that this room was right next to the kitchen so we were a bit jet lagged and wanted to sleep-in and people began making breakfast in the kitchen pretty early. We also needed eye masks for sleeping as the shades were not that great for blocking out the midnight sun. With that said, it was a great price and location for what we were looking for. The beds were comfortable and while the bathroom was tiny, it suited us just fine. I would certainly recommend this to other couples looking for something a little bit off the beaten path in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkw468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Great little guesthouse Alfholl (Elves' House), great owners, 5 minute walk to centre of town. obviously a strong decor theme based on Elves, but done in fun. Rooms were big and airy, beds were comfortable. We were fortunate to have the small apartment with views over the surrounding rooftops.

Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thebelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I stayed at the Alfholl twice in June 2009...on a Friday, and then the following Friday and Saturday. I lucked out, because we were upgraded to the Studio suites - these suites are "sweet". Private bathroom, useful kitchenette, and because they are on the top floor, you can not hear the opening and closing of doors throughout the house (damn elves!). Kristjan (the owner) was very helpful in allowing us to store our luggage prior to check-out, and checking us in early (i.e., 9:00am when flight arrived) since a room was free.

The Alfholl location is fantastic! It is a 1.5 minute walk away from downtown, and is very close to the old harbour - which is off the beaten track and has significantly less expensive dining options. I highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett_atom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is a very good place and has a great location, close to everything. The owner is present most of the time and the rooms we occupied had a balcony and a patio respectively. They were both v. quiet and clean and a good basic buffet breakfast was provided. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennyrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

You're not going to get a swank hotel experience here but what you will get is a basic, decent place to stay with clean and comfortable rooms and with a shared kitchen (breakfast included). Given that Reykjavik is so expensive, this suited us just fine. The location is good - on a quiet street near the harbor and a 5-10 min walk from all the action.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Stayed for 4 nights. The location is close to central Reykjavik and on a relatively quiet street. The rooms are furnished with nice old wooden furniture.

Mattresses were very soft and after several nights you begin to notice it with your back. The shower and toilet is shared between multiple rooms and is not cleaned regularly and our own room sheets weren't changed throughout the time we were there.

Breakfast is basic, cheap supermarket bread etc no fruit. The kitchen is very small so it can be cramped if the guesthouse is full but you get to know your fellow travellers.

There is free wifi throughout and you can arrange for the airport minibus to pickup from the Metropolitan Hotel down the street if you are leaving for Keflavik.

On the whole an ok place to stay but it would be nice if the management invested more in mattresses, regular cleaning and better breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seumasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 53 in Reykjavik
155 reviews
Marina Apartments
#53 of 100 in Reykjavik
10 reviews
House of the Spirits
#41 of 107 in Reykjavik
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Three Sisters Guesthouse
#30 of 100 in Reykjavik
81 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
#11 of 107 in Reykjavik
123 reviews
Reykjavik Light Apartments
#78 of 100 in Reykjavik
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfholl Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfholl Guesthouse

Property: Alfholl Guesthouse
Address: Ranargata, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alfholl Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing