We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CenterHotel Thingholt
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Plaza(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,015)
Filter reviews
2,015 results
Traveller rating
998
738
185
60
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
998
738
185
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitefrosted glassthe main streetboutique hotelcentral locationfriday and saturdaycenter hotelsteam roombreakfast was includedstandard roomlight sleeperhappy hourmini barearly checkstreet noiseloved this hotelthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
1,603 - 1,608 of 2,015 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel - right in the centre of Reykjavik. Modern in design with a nice breakfast and hotel bar. I would really recommend this place, although it can be noisy on the streets outside at the weekend, but to be honest I slept through OK. You are going to get that issue anywhere in central Reykjavik during the weekend "runtur".
A great hotel!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the further you are away from any street noise although I was on the 2nd floor + it was OK.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neildj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Staff are very helpful and the hotel is spotless. The rooms are small but very lovely and well appointed. I love the lobby/bar beautiful contemporary design that reflects Iceland's landscape, you could easily just spend an evening here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storysearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Uber cool hotel with the usual trend filled reception and bar - cow skin rugs, oversized leather sofas, quirky arm chairs, all works of fine and innovative design. Nice bit of wi fi and a mac you can use. Up into the lift and into your room, the quality continues unabated. Room 415 occupies a corner location and splendid views over this low rise capital city across the harbour and inland, glacier also visible on the clearer April days. The room is of a great spec. Large bed with sofa and mini bar. Really good bath room with bast bath and very hot powerful shower which is perfect after spending days out in the harsh environment. Only slight fault was that the TV and wi fi didn't work. We didn't raise this and give the hotel a chance to fix to be fair, as we were happy to be without such distractions and if you desperately needed wi fi, I'm sure they would have sorted it. Another point to be aware of, is Friday and Saturday nights which are very loud until chucking out time at 5am and it really can be heard. We adopted the stay out as late as them option but if you were looking for an early night, this could be something to consider. Another positive is the buffet breakfast which is amazing. Very crispy bacon and chocolate flap jacks two of the highlights. Would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Front rooms have best aspect but are noisy as weekends
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 411Foley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Thingholt for 5 nights over Easter and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was a very good size, well equipped (massive bed!) and very clean. All the communal areas in the hotel were really modern, beatifully kitted out and also very clean. Several reviews commented on noise from the local bars, but we didn't really find this to be a problem. Although we did hear bit of noise, none of it was too loud or kept us from sleeping.

The hotel bar was good for a happy hour drink or two as it was 2 for 1 from 5-7pm. Breakfast was also good - good selection of hot and cold items and all good quality. A couple of v minor complaints about breakfast - one day we struggled to get a table as it seemed like everyone had come to eat at the same time. Also, the area where the food was set out was very tight, so only a couple of people could serve themselves at a time, which meant we had to queue quite a bit. I think this could be easily sorted out by spreading out the food on bigger tables/area.

The location of the hotel is great. Just off the main shopping street, so very close to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Also, it was only about 10 mins from the harbour and other sites. Also, although the hotel doesn't provide parking, there are lots of side streets where you can easily park and it was relatively inexpensive (most of the weekend and holidays you can park for free).

The reception and bar staff were all very helpful. They were happy to advise us and book restaurants, tours and taxis, which we really appreciated.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Thingholt and thought that it was good value, a lovely place and in a v good location. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Botto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here in June 2011. It was in the perfect location. The hotel was nice with modern decor. Room was a little on the small side but big enough since you're not in it that much. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Would stay here again. Great breakfast. One piece of advice though, if you are doing any type of adventure in Iceland such as volcano hiking or rock climbing etc., get a room with a bathtub in it, you will need it. The volcano hike was spectacular but definitely need a soak in the tub after. WE only had a shower. Also there is an italian restaurant right at the corner/beside the hotel where we had great pizza after the hike. We brought it back to the room after the hike and just vegged. Loved Iceland and would definitely be back. Loved the fact that it was 24 hours of daylight......

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews