We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A really nice Hotel made all the more better by its cracking location. Right in the heart of the old Town ideal for shops,bars, resteraunts and the harbour. A great location for starting your Blue Lagoon, Whale watching, and Northern Lights tours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rbattley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed in the CenterHotel Thingholt in October with friends. We were upgraded without charge, and the accommodation was excellent. Good breakfast, wifi & happy hour in the evenings!

We're returning in October 2013 & will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel certainly has the wow factor from the moment you step through the door. You immediately get the impression you are entering a world of cutting edge designs with a high quality feel. The rooms carry on in this vain. We had an attic room which was spacious with great features, such as leather floor tiles, cowskin seating, superb bed and a great bathroom in what can only be described as glass box. Whist other reviewers have criticised this,we felt it was great. The breakfast buffet was excellent and plentiful with enough choice to satisfy everyone. The service in the hotel was excellent with every question we asked met with a knowledgeable answer and a smile. All in all would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheffieldSpikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 and it was perfect. The location, stylish rooms, free wifi and breakfast were all great. The front desk was also extremely helpful with recommending tours and restaurants and they made all of reservations too! I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobolovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 days in Reykjavik, and the chosen hotel for this little treat on our holiday was CenterHotel Thingholt. We arrived early in the morning so we had to wait 4 hours for our room to be ready. If there are rooms available, you can choose to pay 50€ for an early check-in.

The hotel was all in all a very nice hotel with thoughtful design and decoration. Our room was a bit small but cosy and absolutely up to standards. All rooms had free WiFi and a safety deposit box. The breakfast was not the biggest hotel breakfast I've seen, but it was sufficient and after New York it was absolutely wonderful.

The staff was helpful and did their very best to try to help us then we had some questions. Also the cleanliness of the room was good.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends, and we'd probably book it again if returning to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed at the ThingHolt hotel in October 2012 and enjoyed the best "included in our price breakfast" we have had anywhere on the globe! The foyer and bar in the hotel are modern and appealing. We had a choice to upgrade our room and did so but both rooms were very nice and modern and were efficient with the space. The hotel is smack in the middle of town, so anything of interest is an easy walk. All the cafes and restaurants and shopping are right nearby. We would definitely stay again. The hallways are narrow and a little uneven but hey, who spends time in the hallways!

Room Tip: See if there is a room that minimizes the after party noise at night from the streets. Each night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Highly recommended - lovely, stylish hotel, very central with friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely too! Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Great value as part of an Iceland Travel package.

Room Tip: Top floor can be a bit loud with nearby pubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthRagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,748 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £168 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing