We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location, fabulous shower and bath!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. Best points were the staff, who were typically Icelandically welcoming and helpful, and one of the best showers and baths we have ever had in a hotel. We were upgraded to room 214, which had a bath in the bedroom (romantic weekend away for us, so that was a luxury). We agree with the comments that you need to be very comfortable with your room companion given the soundproofless bathroom, and that there is a faint noise from the nightclub until about 4am at the weekend. Having said that, I normally struggle to sleep if there is any outside noise, but the noise level was not loud enough to keep me awake. The double bed was comfortable enough, but not the best hotel bed ever - it didnt have a huge amount of support for those who need to be careful of back pain. The room is quite full, but there's space to move round, and a good wardrobe (though no full length hanging section), with ironing board and iron. Excellent hairdryer in the bathroom. Lighting is quite dim, but I managed to work on my iPad with no problems. Breakfast was plentiful but nothing freshly cooked so if you love a fry up, this isn't the place for you. We loved the pastries, granola, breads and good coffee. All in all, we loved our stay and will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sianw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is superbly well situated, modern design and very clean. The staff are very friendly. Drinks prices are about 1900 Icelandic Krona for 2 beers during Happy Hour. Be aware that Reykjavik gets very lively on Friday and Saturday nights, and you do get Street noise from this, but thats the downside of being in such a handy location. We'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We booked the junior suite for our week long trip to Reykjavik. We were surprised that literally EVERYTHING we wanted to do was in walking distance of the hotel! Best location ever!

We arrived at the airport at 6:00 am as arrived at the hotel around 7:30. Check in wasn't for a few hours and the hotel charged us 20€ for early check in. Although this is common it was frustrating as we booked one of their top rooms! If it hasn't been vacant it would make more sense....but regardless, other than that everything was great!

Breakfasts were wonderful. Tours picked you up at the hotels door step. The decor is dry Scandinavian and upscale ikea. Our room had a calf skin rug!

The staff was helpful in making recommendations of things to do, and places to eat, or sites to see.

I'm sure it's the same everywhere in iceland, but not having to EVER worry about running our of hot water was great! The water from the tap was also super delicious!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ammon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Thinghold seems to be the nicest of all the center hotels. Decor is clean and modern, rooms big enough, with a separate sitting area. Very efficient bathroom design. Breakfast was include, and very delicious - just what we needed before heading out for a long day's adventure. The hotel is just steps away from shopping, bars, and restaurants. Staff was friendly and professional, however, they could benefit from having 2 people at the reservation desk at peak times - check-in time and excursion start times somewhat overlap. The reception / concierge was helping the person in front of me arrange a tour, which was taking some time. Overall a great value and I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Great Location staff were very helpful and friendly, room was small but warm and comfortable
Toilet was a bit open !!! frosted glass do not go here if it's your 1st break away with your new girlfriend probably not ready for that just yet !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyDisco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in the hotel in February in the week of Valentine's Day. Before arriving at the hotel I wrote to the hotel with a few of questions and the reply was received very promptly. The hotel is located just off the main street at a corner, it makes everything very easy. (to grab some supermarket essentials, little shops for food, buying gifts etc) Given it's centrally located - it is still very peaceful and quiet. Check in was smooth, we arrived at dinner time after like 20 hours of traveling so it was really appreciated. There are a few steps to walk down (like 5?!) from the street level to the lobby, but there is a lift. We were a bit lazy to do that but taking our big suitcase down those steps was not a problem at all.
The room was very clean, nicely decorated, adequate heating/ temp control. Forgot to take photos of the room because we were so jet-lagged - just felt asleep after the activities and tours everyday! We booked the "Deluxe"room and it lived up to the expectations, what we saw in the photos etc. Our 2 big suitcases fit perfectly fine in the room, we opened them at the same time and still lots of space to move around. The bathroom was very clean, and the housekeeping did a great job that each day we come back they make it up like we just checked in the room.
Breakfast was great - a good selection of hot food (scramble egg, sausages, bacon), bread for toasting, fruits, cheese, cold cuts, cereal. Just really nice to have a good breakfast to start off the day especially we spent quite a bit of time doing outdoor stuff. Definitely will stay in CenterHotel Thingholt again if we come back to Iceland :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just returned from Reykjavik today after a 4 night stay at the Thingholt. The room was stylish and immaculately clean. Warm and comfortable bed. I requested a high floor as other reviews mentioned noise and this was provided. I had no problem sleeping despite Reykjaviks reputation for late night revels and the central location of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a selection of hot and cold meats, eggs, cereals, fruit, yogurts, pastries, juice, breads and jams etc.. The staff were friendly and helpful and always looked cheerful. We parked in the same street as the hotel and the parking is much cheaper than in the UK so not a problem. In summary, a clean, stylish, comfortable and friendly hotel in a very good location.

Room Tip: I slept in a top floor room and no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,750 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,064 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £168 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing