We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in the CenterHotel Thingholt for 3 nights in December and wouldn't hesitate in returning. For a fairly expensive city, the room price was very reasonable (we paid around 85 euros a night on a non-refundable booking) and the location can't be bettered - you are literally metres from the main street where there are an abundance of bars and restaurants.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the noise - I requested a room at the back (away from the noise) when I booked and we heard nothing at all so I'd definitely recommend requesting this when booking.

We were on the very top floor in a lovely cosy room, with a modern bathroom and powerful shower.

The buffet breakfast (which was included) was fairly small but of fantastic quality, in particular the flapjack. We had to leave early on our final morning and they arranged for a light breakfast (tea, juice, pastries) for us before our pick-up.

Overall, a very good choice for Reykjavik.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    601
    147
    45
    25
See reviews for
144
1,010
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in early January. Overall, it's a great hotel that we would definitely return to when we're back in Reykjavik. I wrote a previous review for this hotel the night that we arrived in which I only gave the hotel a rating of 2/5, based on the initial room we were given; however, the hotel moved us to the correct room later that evening and we had a great stay.

The Pros:
1. Location. Really good location, right in the heart of central Reykjavik.
2. Service. Service is great, especially Clara, who is among the most wonderful front desk people I have ever ecountered. She is super friendly and willing to help with anything.
3. Cool, Trendy Vibe. The hotel definitely captures Reykjavik's cool, trendy and youthful vibe. The lobby area is great, as are the rooms.
4. Great Room. The "standard room" that we had booked was exactly as it appeared online. It's fairly well-designed room with a good amount of space for a large closet, a couple of chairs, a desk, and some cool atmospheric lights.

The Cons:
1. Rooms on Lobby Level are Terrible. We we arrived, we were initially given room 011, which is on the ground floor (actually below street level, given how the hotel is built). The door opens off the lobby, adjacent to the elevator. The room was terrible. Nothing like a "standard room" as shown on the website. The room was about the tiniest room I've ever seen (smaller than the Standard in NY), and featured a concrete wall within the room and a window overlooking an outdoor concrete retaining wall that is below street level. Lighting was horrible. There was no safe (website says all rooms have a safe), and while there was an iron, there was no ironing board. Sometime after midnight (after returning from a Northern Lights tour) we were finally moved to an actual "standard room", which was exactly as we expected it to be. It's embarassing that the hotel rents out the two rooms on the lobby level as "standard rooms", as they are NOT the same as the rest of the "standard rooms". The hotel should market these as "singles".
2. Noise. It wasn't bad, but we did hear noise until about 4am on a Friday night from the bar scene out on the main street. Again, the noise wasn't too bad. In fact, it was kind of cool to know that this little country knows how to party, especially in the dead of winter!

Overall, this is a great hotel. We would definitely recommend to anyone in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lobby level, which are vastly inferior to rooms elsewhere in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked for 5 days arriving on a sunday and leaving on a friday. We were put in 214 which was right by the club everyone is talking about. We weren't there on a weekend but were there on NYE and the club didn't shut until 6am. I'm used to sleeping all over the place and slept OK - as I drifted off I thought - hmm it is a bit like the time I camped behind the dance tent at Glastonbury. My husband was woken up by a fight amongst locals outside at 6am. We also heard the drains and toilets flushing from other rooms. Having said all this there is so much we loved about the hotel we sort of put up with it, but I would advise the hotel not to charge the level of prices for this room at weekends. Things we loved:

Design - our room was lovely with a huge starck bath by the bed. Lighting perfect. underfloor
heating, very comfortable bed, warm, stylish and cosy.
Breakfast - the best we have had in a hotel in all our travels
Location - can not be beaten especially for new year eve. Amazingly close to the cathedral and all the sites of Reykjavik.
Room - coffee, good channels on telly, nice bathroom products, amazing job by the maid, nice fluffy towels
Staff - very helpful on the whole
Cost - this is what has pushed it to a four rather than a 3. We paid a very reasonable sum for a deluxe comparable to other cities and standard of hotel - it was above and beyond what we would expect at the price we paid

Couple of things they could do which would make it better -
bigger towels as bit skimpy
Some initial advice on the nuances of the room - lighting!
Do food as room service would be a hit after 10 hour day tours and walking...we ate so badly because of this - mini bar crisps for dinner as too exhausted. I would also say this would become more important as Airbnb becomes more popular.
Ipod dock would be good for music to get ready too or get a music channel on the TV.
Let visitors know the tourist guides in reception contain vouchers - we didn't know this until the last day and went to recommended restaurants which accepted the vouchers. Eating out is tremendously expensive but very very good
Be upfront about the noise - we asked if we were in a noisey room on check in and the receptionist feigned ignorance. I would ask for a discount on this room if we were staying at weekends.

Also do your own research on northern lights trips and trips generally. I was advised on using a company I know from past experience are pretty useless.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights over NYE period. We had a junior suite and I asked to be at the rear of the hotel due to previous reviews and concerns around noise. I emailed them the night before our arrival regarding my preference and they acknowledged me pretty much right away. We were not troubled by noise at all and this was New Year's Eve. The size of the room was good in my opinion but I accept that we were not in the smallest room type. The bathroom was of the frosted glass variety but to my mind did not cause any difficulties around privacy nor would it have if I had been sharing with a friend. The bed was a king but had 2 separate duvets. We didn't mind this at all but some might.

The staff were all great at their job - friendly enough and efficient. The breakfast was good, very busy though because most people seemed to be going on trips and such at a similar time. The lobby/lounge area was nice and relaxed and people made use of it to have a leisurely drink (happy hour is 5-7pm). The lobby has changed somewhat recently. Older photographs show a set up with a bar in the centre of the lobby. This has changed now with its removal and the addition of more sofas. There is still a bar available but this is now towards the rear in the breakfast room. I think this is a pity personally - but it does free up more space.

Staff were helpful regarding printing boarding passes and excursion tickets and also contacting providers and assisting with restaurant recommendations.

The location is excellent - just off the main drag. It was exactly where we wanted to be - close to restaurants and shops. Some of the hotels and guest houses we saw whilst being dropped off by various buses seemed to be in the middle of nowhere - the Thingholt is right in the centre of things. My partner and I both agreed that there was at least one more trip in Reykjavik for us and similarly we both agreed that we would return to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be at the rear away from the street ask in advance by email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reluctant_Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of December over a weekend. I was highly impressed with the hotel and would certainly stay again If I were to visit Iceland.
The hotel has a brilliant location, modern, quirky atmosphere and has one of the most helpful and friendly staff I have encountered at a hotel!

The only slight negative is the size of the room and next time I would upgrade. We stayed on the fourth floor facing the Main Street and had no problems with noise or disruption to sleep. So i would recommend requesting a fourth floor or quiet room.

Overall we had a wonderful trip enhanced by a brilliant hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynebirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a city trip. We absolutely loved the hotel, its boutique style interior and the cocktails. The entrance is very impressive, walking down into the basement with its funky seating area. The receptionist and girl behind the bar were absolutely lovely and very helpful when we were sorting out getting tickets printed, checking on pick ups etc.

The room was very spacious with boutique style interior. We particularly liked the walk in rain shower. The only downside to our room was that it was room 313 which is directly opposite the lift which meant you could hear the door opening and closing. In addition given the location of the hotel and it being near two nightclubs there is a lot of noise on the street side of the hotel. On Saturday evening the noise went on until 6am! However we don't hold this against the hotel as that what you get with inner city locations.

Breakfast is included and for a continental it has a very good selection of very fresh food. There is salmon, fresh fruit, their version of an English breakfast, toast, pastries, fresh rolls, cereal, yoghurt etc etc.

If you book any excursions with Iceland Excursions, there is no need to pay extra for the pick up as their offices are just a five minute walk down the high street from the hotel. The same applies to the whale watching as the harbour is about a 10-15 minute walk away. The scenery is amazing around there with the mountains as a backdrop.

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik. Our only piece of advice would be to ask for a room that isn't street facing. I would also highly recommend the happy hour in the bar from 5-7pm every night. It only covers beer and wine, but a pint is only 3GBP. The cocktails are unfortunately not included and are about £10 each but the Heimdallur is well worth that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and avoid room 313 as it is opposite the lift and street facing which mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiffy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stopped in Iceland after traveling for 2 weeks in Norway and Sweden... so we were used to small rooms. Nothing could prepare us for the size of the room. No room for luggage and we were really on top of each other. The front desk was hit or miss. First day we had great service/help with booking excursions. The next couple of folks at the front desk were doing us a favor. Great location - we walked to everything in town and it was very clean. We were not there on a weekend but experienced some of the noise from the bar down the street others speak of in reviews. We would probably try the Centerhotel Arnarhvoll next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing