We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location just off one of the main streets in Reykjavic, less than 5 minute walk from Grayline if you are using them for tours. Fairly quirky rooms, frosted glass bathrooms. The beds were stupidly comfy and very warm, the two single duvet system you find in Nordic countries works very well! Breakfast was fairly standard stuff but no complaints. The staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to recommending restaurants and booking tours. I have read a few people complaining about noise, there is a night club oopposite one side of the hotel but I never noticed it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobGT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of Jan for 4 nights, This hotel is very modern and cool.

I stayed in a room on the front of the hotel, fridays and saturdays are very loud because of the club close to the hotel, so if you can ask for a room around the back just because of noise.

Apart from that the rooms are great very airy and modern right up my street.

The breakfast was great alot of choice and plenty of it. The reception staff are very helpful and know alot about the area.

The hotel offers happy hour from 5-7 every evening and it was around £3.00 for a beer. Also there is free tea and coffee available all day after breakfast.

This hotel also has a spa which it doesnt advertise so take your swimwear because it wasnt expensive to go in the hot pool and spa for your whole stay.

If i return to REYKJAVIK I would return to this hotel I loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel looks nothing from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised when we stepped into the below ground level reception area and lounge,

Everything was clean and tidy, and the rooms were well presented, spacious and comfortable. dressing gowns and slippers were provided. Our room had a bedroom area with a sitting area a few steps down on a different level. Hot water was always available in the large shower room

Breakfasts are also excellent. They provide a good range of quality food to suit all tastes, and there is plenty of it to set you up for the day.

The spa, which is situated on the ground floor, provides a large relaxing warm, shallow pool to sit in for half an hour or more. We came out refreshed and relaxed. It is not over used, so you are likely to have it to yourself.

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Reykjavik, and only a few steps from the main street, and a short walk to the harbour area. It is well situated to tour the city on foot. We noticed that a number of the bigger names in the hotel world were situated a good deal further out and not convenient at all, so we were lucky that we chose this hotel. We did hear some noise from the nearby bars on the Friday evening, but this was not too bad, and did not keep us awake.

The bar in the hotel sells the local Icelandic beer for £2.50 a pint during the evening 'Happy Hour' - between 5.00pm and 7.00pm. So you can get a drink at a reasonable price in Iceland, and surprisingly, in a hotel

Hotel staff are all very helpful and gave us good advice on the local area.

We would highly recommend the hotel, it suited our needs, and we could not have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: The room we were in was one of only a few of the top class rooms, and I think we were just lucky to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed last Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Room 212 just above the front entrance.
Room was very nice and spotless. Facilities and breakfast were excellent with a really wide selection. The staff were very helpful and polite and made us feel welcome. The location is very central. The only issue was the noise from outside. There is a night club just down the road and it is very loud. On the Thursday night it quietened down at around 1.30am, on Friday and Saturday nights it was closer to 5am. I fully understand there is little the hotel can do about it, but, however good the hotel is, we simply got very little sleep.
Would only stay again if it was far away from the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barters_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is really convenient to eating, shopping, the bus lines, harbor,everything. The rooms are warm, spotless, the beds are great and we had no issues with noise on the third floor. Breakfast selection was huge and everything was good. All of the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaGal_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

3 night stay in central Reykjavik. This is position A1 in terms of exploring capital, 2 minutes walk from Gray line coach terminus, harbour area, shops, restuarants, bars etc... We had a deluxe room with double beds (separate duvets) with a separate seating area and large bath. Staff were in main helpful, if there was a little problem, it is soon sorted. Breakfast is very comprehensive, something for everyone, with a wide variety of food and drink available. Might be a little noisy at nights, especially weekend, so 3rd/4th floor at rear of hotel might be best option for light sleepers. There is a bar and relaxation area, which is basic but comfortable. The Hallgrímskirkja cathedral is well worth a visit and a trip to the top for the views.Oh and mind your step leaving hotel, lighting is poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great hotel, lovely decor great location, walking distance of the bus station for all our trips. Breakfast was good will definitely be recommending to friends. Staff very helpful. We stayed in the top floor - 4 and had lovely views of the city.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine but small if you can manage a deluxe it's worth the extra money. We went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,802 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £165 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing