We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here Oct 2013 for our 2nd year anniversary and had a fantastic stay. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Its in a great location, right in the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms are beautifully designed and really clean. The breakfast each morning was also very nice and offered a good selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    620
    152
    47
    24
See reviews for
152
1,045
63
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is ideal for walking around Reykjavic and less than 5 mins away from the Harpa conference centre which is essential viewing both inside and out and the old harbour area which has stunning views.

The rooms are modern in design, a reasonable size with very comfy beds and individual, warm duvets on the double beds. Even the pillows are comfortable, and learning how the lights work could keep you amused for hours. Warm towelling dressing gowns and slippers are provided and it was nice to have tea and coffee making facilities after a day out.

The staff at reception were really helpful, with a great sense of humour and their English was perfect.

We really can't fault this hotel as we didn't have problems with noise but we weren't there over a weekend so if you are, probably best to ask for a room at the back. Didn't try the spa facilities but only because we didn't have time so take your swimwear and enjoy.

The tours we went on which were organised by the hotel were really good, with English speaking tour guides and experienced drivers and we were all picked up from the hotel itself.

A great place to stay in Reykjavic and we'll be back there to see more of Iceland as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street if you are staying over the weekend. It was very quiet when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location just off one of the main streets in Reykjavic, less than 5 minute walk from Grayline if you are using them for tours. Fairly quirky rooms, frosted glass bathrooms. The beds were stupidly comfy and very warm, the two single duvet system you find in Nordic countries works very well! Breakfast was fairly standard stuff but no complaints. The staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to recommending restaurants and booking tours. I have read a few people complaining about noise, there is a night club oopposite one side of the hotel but I never noticed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of Jan for 4 nights, This hotel is very modern and cool.

I stayed in a room on the front of the hotel, fridays and saturdays are very loud because of the club close to the hotel, so if you can ask for a room around the back just because of noise.

Apart from that the rooms are great very airy and modern right up my street.

The breakfast was great alot of choice and plenty of it. The reception staff are very helpful and know alot about the area.

The hotel offers happy hour from 5-7 every evening and it was around £3.00 for a beer. Also there is free tea and coffee available all day after breakfast.

This hotel also has a spa which it doesnt advertise so take your swimwear because it wasnt expensive to go in the hot pool and spa for your whole stay.

If i return to REYKJAVIK I would return to this hotel I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel looks nothing from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised when we stepped into the below ground level reception area and lounge,

Everything was clean and tidy, and the rooms were well presented, spacious and comfortable. dressing gowns and slippers were provided. Our room had a bedroom area with a sitting area a few steps down on a different level. Hot water was always available in the large shower room

Breakfasts are also excellent. They provide a good range of quality food to suit all tastes, and there is plenty of it to set you up for the day.

The spa, which is situated on the ground floor, provides a large relaxing warm, shallow pool to sit in for half an hour or more. We came out refreshed and relaxed. It is not over used, so you are likely to have it to yourself.

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Reykjavik, and only a few steps from the main street, and a short walk to the harbour area. It is well situated to tour the city on foot. We noticed that a number of the bigger names in the hotel world were situated a good deal further out and not convenient at all, so we were lucky that we chose this hotel. We did hear some noise from the nearby bars on the Friday evening, but this was not too bad, and did not keep us awake.

The bar in the hotel sells the local Icelandic beer for £2.50 a pint during the evening 'Happy Hour' - between 5.00pm and 7.00pm. So you can get a drink at a reasonable price in Iceland, and surprisingly, in a hotel

Hotel staff are all very helpful and gave us good advice on the local area.

We would highly recommend the hotel, it suited our needs, and we could not have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: The room we were in was one of only a few of the top class rooms, and I think we were just lucky to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed last Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Room 212 just above the front entrance.
Room was very nice and spotless. Facilities and breakfast were excellent with a really wide selection. The staff were very helpful and polite and made us feel welcome. The location is very central. The only issue was the noise from outside. There is a night club just down the road and it is very loud. On the Thursday night it quietened down at around 1.30am, on Friday and Saturday nights it was closer to 5am. I fully understand there is little the hotel can do about it, but, however good the hotel is, we simply got very little sleep.
Would only stay again if it was far away from the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barters_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is really convenient to eating, shopping, the bus lines, harbor,everything. The rooms are warm, spotless, the beds are great and we had no issues with noise on the third floor. Breakfast selection was huge and everything was good. All of the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaGal_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
968 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing