We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a secret escapes package and it was better than I'd expected. The hotel is right in the centre of town and the interior is beautifully decorated, minimalist but artistic. There was lots of novel features, sculptures, light fittings etc. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with bookings and advice. They also do a very reasonable happy hour from 17:00 - 19:00. The rooms were also modern and attractive, if a little small. For a few nights it was the perfect respite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambling_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here with my partner last week. We booked with Secret Escapes and had already seen photos of the inside which was good as the outside conveys nothing of the interior!
Our room was lovely, we were upgraded to a deluxe room and the bathroom was stunning with a bathtub to die for!
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with plenty warm fresh rolls, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and cooked sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs and potatoes.
Our only complaint would be about the spa area. There was a small shallow pool which was very warm, the surrounds were relaxing with subdued lighting etc but the steam room was not in operation and the massage room was empty so it looked like that was also not available.
I was a little disappointed with that but everything else was great and we would definitely return. :)

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked a short break in Reykjavik and used this hotel. It is very contempory in style and located within walking distance of everything in the center of Reykjavic. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfasts were tremendous with choice of fish, cooked bacon and eggs and continental from a self service buffet. They do not do evening meals but there are some tremendous places to eat close by. The rooms were comfortable with all that you need. Tucked down a side street made it very quiet. With the gym and heated spa there was everything required for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hutt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here Oct 2013 for our 2nd year anniversary and had a fantastic stay. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Its in a great location, right in the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms are beautifully designed and really clean. The breakfast each morning was also very nice and offered a good selection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is ideal for walking around Reykjavic and less than 5 mins away from the Harpa conference centre which is essential viewing both inside and out and the old harbour area which has stunning views.

The rooms are modern in design, a reasonable size with very comfy beds and individual, warm duvets on the double beds. Even the pillows are comfortable, and learning how the lights work could keep you amused for hours. Warm towelling dressing gowns and slippers are provided and it was nice to have tea and coffee making facilities after a day out.

The staff at reception were really helpful, with a great sense of humour and their English was perfect.

We really can't fault this hotel as we didn't have problems with noise but we weren't there over a weekend so if you are, probably best to ask for a room at the back. Didn't try the spa facilities but only because we didn't have time so take your swimwear and enjoy.

The tours we went on which were organised by the hotel were really good, with English speaking tour guides and experienced drivers and we were all picked up from the hotel itself.

A great place to stay in Reykjavic and we'll be back there to see more of Iceland as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street if you are staying over the weekend. It was very quiet when w...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandSCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location just off one of the main streets in Reykjavic, less than 5 minute walk from Grayline if you are using them for tours. Fairly quirky rooms, frosted glass bathrooms. The beds were stupidly comfy and very warm, the two single duvet system you find in Nordic countries works very well! Breakfast was fairly standard stuff but no complaints. The staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to recommending restaurants and booking tours. I have read a few people complaining about noise, there is a night club oopposite one side of the hotel but I never noticed it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobGT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of Jan for 4 nights, This hotel is very modern and cool.

I stayed in a room on the front of the hotel, fridays and saturdays are very loud because of the club close to the hotel, so if you can ask for a room around the back just because of noise.

Apart from that the rooms are great very airy and modern right up my street.

The breakfast was great alot of choice and plenty of it. The reception staff are very helpful and know alot about the area.

The hotel offers happy hour from 5-7 every evening and it was around £3.00 for a beer. Also there is free tea and coffee available all day after breakfast.

This hotel also has a spa which it doesnt advertise so take your swimwear because it wasnt expensive to go in the hot pool and spa for your whole stay.

If i return to REYKJAVIK I would return to this hotel I loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £176 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing