We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at this hotel as part of a Secret Escapes package deal that included flights, transfers and 2 trips. The hotel is small but perfectly located with lovely décor, and very pleasant staff. They upgraded us to a Luxury Suite which was very nice indeed. The spa is small but very pleasant and perfectly adequate. The included breakfast was exceptional and way better than we expected. The only knock on the hotel was it's location meant we were right in the middle of the 'Runtur' on Friday and Saturday nights so lots of whooping from hammered revellers outside! Would definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: Email in advance and ask for an upgrade. They promptly replied saying they would try and help me and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Good location close to the centre of Reykjavik. Although it doesn't look much from outside, it has modern, attractive common areas and rooms. As in many modern styles in my experience, there is a small degree of style over function. The shower cubicle is a little small for a rain shower head, and it was not until the second day that we discovered that the lighting was not totally inadequate, that the light switches were actually dimmers, you have to press and hold to achieve a normal level of lighting.

The night life in Reykjavik is buzzing, with many a hen and stag party (Do these people know how expensive drink is here before they book???). Unfortunately the hotel is located near a night club, which, if you are at the front of the hotel, you can hear until 4 in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are better for night life lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davided_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a secret escapes package and it was better than I'd expected. The hotel is right in the centre of town and the interior is beautifully decorated, minimalist but artistic. There was lots of novel features, sculptures, light fittings etc. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with bookings and advice. They also do a very reasonable happy hour from 17:00 - 19:00. The rooms were also modern and attractive, if a little small. For a few nights it was the perfect respite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambling_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here with my partner last week. We booked with Secret Escapes and had already seen photos of the inside which was good as the outside conveys nothing of the interior!
Our room was lovely, we were upgraded to a deluxe room and the bathroom was stunning with a bathtub to die for!
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with plenty warm fresh rolls, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and cooked sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs and potatoes.
Our only complaint would be about the spa area. There was a small shallow pool which was very warm, the surrounds were relaxing with subdued lighting etc but the steam room was not in operation and the massage room was empty so it looked like that was also not available.
I was a little disappointed with that but everything else was great and we would definitely return. :)

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked a short break in Reykjavik and used this hotel. It is very contempory in style and located within walking distance of everything in the center of Reykjavic. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfasts were tremendous with choice of fish, cooked bacon and eggs and continental from a self service buffet. They do not do evening meals but there are some tremendous places to eat close by. The rooms were comfortable with all that you need. Tucked down a side street made it very quiet. With the gym and heated spa there was everything required for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hutt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here Oct 2013 for our 2nd year anniversary and had a fantastic stay. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Its in a great location, right in the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms are beautifully designed and really clean. The breakfast each morning was also very nice and offered a good selection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is ideal for walking around Reykjavic and less than 5 mins away from the Harpa conference centre which is essential viewing both inside and out and the old harbour area which has stunning views.

The rooms are modern in design, a reasonable size with very comfy beds and individual, warm duvets on the double beds. Even the pillows are comfortable, and learning how the lights work could keep you amused for hours. Warm towelling dressing gowns and slippers are provided and it was nice to have tea and coffee making facilities after a day out.

The staff at reception were really helpful, with a great sense of humour and their English was perfect.

We really can't fault this hotel as we didn't have problems with noise but we weren't there over a weekend so if you are, probably best to ask for a room at the back. Didn't try the spa facilities but only because we didn't have time so take your swimwear and enjoy.

The tours we went on which were organised by the hotel were really good, with English speaking tour guides and experienced drivers and we were all picked up from the hotel itself.

A great place to stay in Reykjavic and we'll be back there to see more of Iceland as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street if you are staying over the weekend. It was very quiet when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandSCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,842 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £164 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing