We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but ... impractical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I just spent a few nights at this hotel with my girlfriend. The staff was very good and friendly, the room was clean, the breakfast pretty good as well. The room we had was a standard double room and it was rather small and a bit impractical. The whole hotel has a unique rough-cut feel to it, using plain concrete here and there and stuff. But especially in the room it was in many ways form over function. Like having a double room's bathroom with just one hanger for towels and virtually no table space for stuff. The hotel's location was very central, which can also mean listening to some loud music from bars until 4 AM.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERRRRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had never been to Iceland before and were very much looking forward to our trip. Upon our arrival at 6:am, we opted to pay the additional 50 euros to get an early checkin. Within ten minutes of arrival we had access to our room. The front desk staff were super friendly and extremely helpful. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. It was decorated in a very modern Scandinavian style, not particularly to our taste but nonetheless very comfortable. The only suggestion that I would make would be extra lighting in the room since the lighting was not really adequate for reading.

The best part however was the hotel restaurant. The food was absolutely exquisite and beat any of the local restaurants for both price and quality. We stayed for three nights and ate in the hotel on two of those nights. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamandaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were booked into the Hotel Skjaldbreid but when we arrived the desk clerk said we were "upgraded" to the Hotel Thingholt. He wasn't kidding. We hiked the two or so blocks down the street and experienced a great beginning to our Iceland trip. The concierge, Klara?, said we could leave our bags until a room was ready, and by the way have some breakfast. We did and waited for our room to be ready on comfortable sofas. Since we arrived on a red-eye without sleep this was a godsend. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent and all the staff were very nice. Klara was especially helpful in providing us advice whenever we needed it. The decor in the hotel was designed for looks but not convenience, so it took a bit of getting used to the glass bathroom and strange lighting setup. The room was very nice and although on the street we did not have noise issues since we stayed Sun through Thurs and missed the weekend revelers (which we knew before reserving a hotel that it would be a problem in downtown Reykjavik). We also had dinner one evening in the new Bistro Isafold, 20 percent discount and we were tired. The food was excellent but the service kinks had not yet been worked out. We would highly recommend this hotel because of the convenience, the unique style and the wonderful treatment we received there.

Room Tip: Weekends are noisy so ask for quiet side. Midweek was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If the hotel is full, half of the guests will have rooms on Thingholdt Street. If it is Friday or Saturday, those rooms will be experiencing techno-pop until 3am. Don't get upset about it. Just put in your earplugs and go to sleep.
We got to the hotel at 7am after a sleepless redeye. We got into our room at 11am, after those more desperate and willing to pay the $69 surcharge for the first available room were served - this money grab was the only real negative about our entire stay. In retrospect, it might have been worth it if it had gotten us a room away from Thingholdt Street. Paying the surcharge also gets you immediate access to the breakfast buffet.
The breakfast buffet was very good. It is identical every day.
The soaking pool and steam room were terrific, and sparsely used. They are adjacent to the bar, which makes them a good place to enjoy a happy hour beer.
Our bed was two twin beds shoved together. There was no top sheet, only two twin sized comforters arranged sideways. This arrangement was peculiar, but comfortable.
The hotel location is geographically ideal, near the bottom of the shopping district and close enough to walk to the boat excursions.

Room Tip: We requested a room not facing Thingholdt Street, but got one anyway. The hotel was full. We got w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We arrived in Reykjavik on a very early flight and were at the hotel by 1000. The receptionist was very apologetic and said she would try to check us in as soon as a room was available. As it happened we left our bags and went for an explore, a visit to the Saga Museum (don't bother, go to 871+/-2 instead) and lunch at the Shalimar and didn't get back until 1500.

We were given room 403 which is probably the optimum position, top floor around the back. We could barely hear revelers in the street and whilst there was quite a bit of noise from the ventilation until outside in the courtyard, with the window closed there was just the white noise of the aircon.

The room itself was a good size, funkily designed and very clean. The translucent glass walls on the bathroom did take some getting used to but after the initial surprise it was fine. The bed was comfortable and we slept well every night. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed daily.

The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help guests. We were pretty self-sufficient but the team were happy to help with booking excursions, advice and recommendations for attractions and restaurants and generally helping people to get the most out of their time in Iceland.

Breakfast was good with a choice of pastries, continental (cheese and ham), Nordic (salmon, herring and eggs), American (scrambled egg, links, maple bacon) items as well as cereal and various breads, juices, coffee and teas. I suppose the range of items could be criticised as compared to the spread available in, say, a Radisson but then again space was limited and in any case the quality of the items was good.

Another bonus was the bar with a happy hour between 1700 and 1900 where draft beer was 500kr (around £2.50/$4.00) a pint and wine was 800kr, a good saving over bar prices. As with everything else the service was excellent and the vibe was cool. The hotel has recently launched a bistro for which I have written a separate (high scoring) review. At the moment you get a very worthwhile 30% discount in the bistro.

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Reykjavik. If you book a Greyline tour or transfer, don't pay the extra for the drop off and collection, you're only about 100m from their terminal. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Reykjavik Excursions terminal so maybe it is worthwhile to pay the extra for that transfer.

All in all an excellent hotel in an excellent location with excellent service

Room Tip: Top floor around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Don_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Possibly one of the best hotels we have stayed in! The staff were all amazing, helpful and friendly. We cannot commend anyone specific person, because they were all lovely.

The room (a junior suite) was lovely, great breakfasts and a super location. Strongly recommended! We can't wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I booked a vacation to Reykajavik through TravelZoo with a great deal to stay at the CenterHotel Thingholt. Sometimes hotels offering too good a deal can turn out to not be great, but that is not the case with the Thingholt hotel. This place is amazing. The decor and design of the hotel is welcoming and clean. We booked a double room as it was part of our deal and although it was a small space, it was everything we could have needed. Located right off of (what appeared to be) the main strip in Iceland, it was perfectly located for shopping and going out to eat. The hotel breakfast was a huge money saver for us because they served a variety of things (baked goods, Icelandic yogurt, cereal, potatoes and eggs) which allowed us to save some of our food budget. One warning for Americans with flights that arrive early on Iceland, check in for the hotel isn't until 2 p.m. You can pay for early check-in (about $75) which I would highly recommend because my husband and I was exhausted by 2 p.m.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,745 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £167 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing