We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in Reykjavik, with a few quirks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Reykjavik, with a few quirks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

First, the positives: The location is great, the hotel's rooms and common areas are clean and modern, and the service is impeccable. Really, I can't speak highly enough of the front desk staff. Having stayed in some expensive-yet-cramped northern European hotels in the past, I was pleasantly surprised by the room's reasonable size and amenities.

There were a few downsides, though. For one, the shower was an open stall (i.e. no edge or full door separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom) but the floor isn't slanted at all towards the drain. We flooded the entire bathroom during our first shower! We ended up having to create a barrier with towels every morning, which solved the problem. According to the front desk, some rooms are like this.

Secondly, there are some extremely noisy bars near the hotel. It isn't terrible, but if you are a very light sleeper you might find yourself looking for ear plugs on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to be further from the bars nearby, and remember that the heat for the room can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichDC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    589
    145
    44
    23
See reviews for
139
985
57
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull, england
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great hotel, perfect location. Amazing holiday.
After moving rooms from the first night. Low front floor - moved to the back high floor. Things became amazing. The lady on the front desk was awesome..... think she was called maria? Short black haired lady.
The rooms are small but clean and comfy. Breakfast is excellent..... lots of coffee!
Design of the hotel is a little dark, might not suit most but we loved it. I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjohnHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel and room was immaculately clean - ideal for the main centre and pubs. The prices were for food and drink were pretty much the same as the rest of the area. parking isn't easy or cheap though and it proved challenging to find the Hotel with the one-way system - persevere though its worth it...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Visiting Iceland for the first time celebrating our friends Stag do, we could not a wished for a better hotel experience. The location was perfectly central, walking distance from all the best bars and clubs. The breakfast was substantial with plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and spacious with nice bathrooms and comfortable beds. The spa and sauna area was another highlight, the perfect place to relax with a beer or some wine.

All the staff were incredibly helpful, with special mention going to Maggie, who was polite, informative and courteous day and night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eng
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Overall we were very impressed by the hotel. The contemporary style is very unique (the hotel was designed by Icelandic architect Gulla Jonsdottir) and there are some very cool features throughout the hotel and within the rooms themselves.The staff were excellent and extremely courteous; there was always a member of staff on hand at reception to answer questions/other tips etc. There is free wi-fi in the hotel as well as a computer with free internet in the lobby.

The free breakfast as has been referenced elsewhere was extremely good - a nice range of fruits, smoked salmon, meats/cheese, fresh breads, pastries, coffee/tea/juices, cereals and yoghurt etc. We ate big at breakfast to save on the need for lunch - you'll need to save those pennies for the evening meals out which are excellent but pretty expensive.

The location of the hotel is both its best and worst feature. It is, as the name suggests very central which means it acts as a great base (although Reykjavik is very contained anyway so not necessarily essential). Unfortunately though despite us staying Sunday - Wednesday (4 nights) most nights (particularly the Easter Sunday and Wednesday) the streets outside generated an incredible amount of noise (loud music, shouting etc) which was not helped by the poor quality windows in our room (they appeared double glazed but the sealing was poor which meant quite a draught) - this noise properly kicked in around 2am - 4am and it felt like actually being in a nightclub at times. I was aware that Reykjavik is a party town but did not expect that level of noise midweek - so it's definitely something you should be aware of if you are a light sleeper and/or planning on doing a lot of trips which require an early start. Bring earplugs.

Otherwise our room (212) was very good again with a contemporary design theme similiar to throughout the hotel . Spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. The toiletries supplied were of high quality too so no need to bring shampoo/conditioner etc. They also had an iron and mini bar. You can control the heat of the radiators and so we were never cold in our room (despite the draught in the window) and they have very thick curtains so no need to worry about the light waking you.

Finally, there was a spa ajoining the hotel but it appeared to attract a fee of 25 euro to use it for the duration (which out of principle we decided not to pay).

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a quiet room in advance if you are concerned about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howdyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great location, lovely designed hotel, excellent friendly staff and lovely Buffett breakfast. Fresh salmon each morning. Got a free room upgrade just because we asked, drinks on arrival and 30% of the restaurant bill. Our room was of a good size. A great hotel in an excellent central location! Great for the shops but take lots of money as food and gifts are still very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade! If they have it you seem to get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I was blown away with the amazing hotel, fabulous staff, great breakfast and tasty cocktails!

I also made the mistake of leaving one of my favourite necklaces in the safe of the hotel. I contacted the staff, they located it and posted it out to me. I can't indicate strongly enough how happy I was with the service. All the front desk staff were smiley, helpful and always available. They helped us book transport and gave tips for good restaurants and shops.


The hotel was very modern looking, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was served 7-10am and was a mixed buffet with something for everyone. We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious and worth the money. The bathroom was modern with a really good shower and a bath.


Iceland was a great place to visit and I would definitely go back again. I'd also be keen to go back to this hotel. Thank you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Funtimesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing