We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel right in the heart of town, lovely staff, great breakfast, really lovely rooms. Just what we wanted from the trip, they gave great advice on day trips etc. Surrounded by lovely bars, restaurants and shops but still super quiet and comfortable, 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location for downtown and waterfront attractions. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. But the room was postage stamp size (and a small one at that), the bathroom was tiny and the shower cramped. The bed was comfortable. There were no instructions with the phone and it didn't work like any other I had encountered (press "9" then "ok" to reach the front desk). Iceland is very expensive, but this place, even by that standard, was a bit much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great new hotel, great central location, great breakfast, great service. Only (minor) complaint is that the bathroom walls are glass (don't share a room with a freind!) and everything is very dark. This might bother an older traveler, though we loved it. FYI for 50 eur you can check in early and get breakfast. We landed at 730am and this was the best 50 eur we spent the whole trip.

Room Tip: Early checkin includes breakfast. Well worth it if you arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kn518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Very contemporary, sleek and comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of reykjavik! Hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating. Dinner at Isafold Bistro is highly recommended. Icelandic cuisine at its finest! Our breakfast was included in the rate and i thought it was your standard hotel breakfast buffet. Not bad but not special either. I thought the bathroom floor was heated - a pretty nice bonus! The room just like the lobby was modern and sleek in design, bed was a good size and comfortable. Now I'm not sure if they had centralized AC or not but it wasn't on when we stayed there so had to open the window at night. I think thats a problem with small boutique hotels anywhere. That said, it invited late night partying noise from a nearby bar.
Thats about the only negative i could say about this hotel and it being located right where the action is.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Eric_generic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we stayed 2 nights in the Thingholt. Its a great hotel, very modern & trendy, a lot of black, natural wood etc. We got a room facing Thingholt street & after reading the other reviews I thought people were maybe over-exaggerating the noise from the bars. I live in NYC & am used to noise, but the difference in Reykavik is that the bars are allowed to have people standing outside on the street, with their doors open. This means you get the full blast of the music & the people dont seem to really care that their are hotels/houses around. The bars seem to shut around 5am & unfortunately their is a bar about 50-100m from the hotel.

The room was comfy, the staff very friendly & overall it was a very good hotel to stay at. When the Flybus was late in picking me up the receiption called them several times (I didnt have to ask for them to do it) & when he thought I would miss the bus leaving for the airport he called a taxi & said the hotel would pay for it. Of course as soon as the taxi turned up the flybus turned up, but it was a great gesture by them as its not their fault the bus operator wasnt running to schedule.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot_in_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I took my wife as a surprise for her 30th birthday. I read the reviews on here which made up my mind to book and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was great, very modern, clean with lovely staff. They couldn't do more for you. The breakfast was also nice with lots to choose from. Can recommend the chocolate flapjacks for those who have a sweet tooth.

The room was very modern and stylish. Was kept very clean but if I want to be a bit niggly the rug had a few stains on. As read on the reviews there is a pub/nightclub at the end of the road which we could here. Music was still playing at 4am. However, it was such a fantastic place to go we didn't mind. Would like to visit Iceland again and stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel so maybe if you had a room at the back, you might not hear the mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really wanted to give this 4 bubbles, but there are just too many (fixable) issues here.

Rooms. Ok but weird. Decent size. The bed is really low to the floor -- and its two twins combined to make a queen. The middle is hard, though the two beds themselves are just fine. The office/desk area is nicely laid out, though the whole 'cow/black leather' motif is a bit odd. The bathroom is fine -- very clean and well laid out, with a soaking tub. However, if you shower, the water pressure will basically shoot you over to Greenland, its so powerful. Room was also warm if windows were closed... but see problems below at night if windows were open.

Ambiance. Again, modern/weird. Very modern, Euro, dark leather motif runs through it all. Fine if you go for that.

Location. Very close to the main tourist strip- great. But... we didnt know it would be crazy-loud outside all night and we needed earplugs to sleep, even at 3 am. Not ideal. Get a room thats not on the road if possible.

Service. Good, definitely. Front desk staff was helpful and nice. Free breakfast was also good -- no problems there. They even helped us figure out how to use the parking meters nearby (no valet or other parking of any kind). Free wifi was spotty but nice, though a $25 fee to use the tiny gym was absurd.

Its been a middling experience -- but I would not stay here again, in spite of the fair value.

Room Tip: dont stay on the side by the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,798 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,083 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £164 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing