We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Modern Hotel in a GREAT location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool Modern Hotel in a GREAT location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The highlight of the Center Hotel Þingholt is, by far, the location. You're literally in the heart of downtown with great dining, shopping and sites all a short walk away. For me, this was worth the price and helped us make the most of our six days in Iceland.

Be warned though, the central location also means you can hear the weekend bars and partiers all night. Seriously. On summer solstice, the bars shut down at 5:00 a.m. and i could still hear people slogging hime at 6:30 a.m.

We stayed in a third-floor junior suite, which included a pretty amazing bath tub (big, great water pressure and hot water) that was a nice luxury. The bed was low but very comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned, temperature was difficult to control. With the windows open, the room was perfect, but on Friday and Saturday night, the noise was just too much.

I would absolutely stay here again, though only Sunday through Thursday nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnno1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    600
    147
    45
    25
See reviews for
144
1,010
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

What a disapointment!
Rooms are tiny, you can hardly open two luggages in a standard rooms, then it is so warm you have to keep windows wide open (impossible to adjust the temperature) Yet having windows open in the city center is not a good idea as it can get very noisy at night.
Despite designer furniture here and there, the hall looks like a dark hole.
Service is just average with no extra (no umbrella available for customers!) and breakfast is the worst we had during our stay in Iceland.
All in all: not recommanded even by low Icelandic hotel standards.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week. Buffet breakfast was pretty good, room was good. We did have a problem with the TV and they fixed it. They give out a 20% discount voucher for an evening meal which we used and also have a happy hour for drinks. Nice and comfortable. The only downside was we heard a fair bit of noise in the early hours of the morning from parties in the streets outside - it was summer solstice, 70th anniversary of independence and a couple of Saturday nights so maybe not unreasonable. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over the summer solstice and the sun didn't set for our hope trip! So first the negatives ( we stayed in a Jr suite) :
No frosted window in bathroom which means when you do anything other than clean your teeth you have to have the blind shut or risk flashing someone!
There was no full length mirror in our room which made it difficult for my wife to check out her outfits ( apparently this is an important aspect being a man I didn't care!)

The good bits:
Hotel clean and tidy throughout.
Staff very friendly
Breakfast had good variety and was if good quality.
Room was well equipped. Iron, ironing board, hair dryer, fan, mini bar, tv with itv, film 4 and BBC 1 & 2 .
Comfy bed.
Good lighting and decor throughout.
The hotel lobby is stylish and well maintained.

Some Iceland top tips:
This hotel is close to the harbour, shops, excursions booking centre, free shuttle to shopping centre so if your reasonable mobile don't pre book any trips as you can travel to most places and get a better price.

Also they don't sell anything stronger than light beer in supermarkets so if you want to purchase alcohol you need to go to a specialist shop next to "the English pub" where you can by wine, spirits and creates of beer but beware of there short day time opening hours as we found we couldn't by a bottle of wine after 6pm on a Saturday night until 11am on Monday so had to pay over double the price in a pub for it!

Finally, it's expensive to do everything here, eating out, gifts, clothes, pubs... So just be aware Iceland is an amazing country and I'll defiantly be going back but be prepared to spend spend spend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanethereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The good- we liked the absolutely perfect location, very nice and helpful staff, decent breakfast, funky furnishings and clean room. The staff was so helpful with all of our questions. They recommended a private day tour with a company called www.icelandinaday.is and our guide Einnur was absolutely fantastic.

The bad- there was really nothing that we did not like about the hotel itself, but one issue is that we stayed in a jr. suite on the 4th floor for 2 nights, left the city for a few days and then came back and stayed in a different jr suite on the 2nd floor. It was annoying to us that these 2 rooms are in the same category of jr. suite with the same rate yet the 2nd floor suite was so much smaller, had a much smaller bathroom, couch and desk area. Also, I did not like how you had pay extra to use the sauna and spa area, which we did not end up using.

The noise issue- every review here mentions about the noise level, so here it goes... it was quiet during the week, but starting on thursday night, the music we heard was so shockingly loud and it was really as if our own radio was on. We completely heard the words of each song. We still slept well though since it did not actually bother us, so this comment just serves to warn you if cannot imagine sleeping to loud music.

We would for sure stay here again. Iceland is an indescribably unbelievable place and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a short break and were largely impressed - reception staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. There were some loud and obnoxious americans down the corridor from us who kept us awake 2 nights in a row but on the second night we complained to reception and the manager sorted them out. I thought breakfast was really nice. Negatives would be: 1) the fact that there is no ac - it wasn't that warm outside while we were there and we were still boiling hot most of the time and (2) the fact that everything is so dark - the lights in the room do absolutely nothing and it's actually quite difficult to see properly. But would recommend this hotel nonetheless.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank polkadotstrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a very good location in Reykjavik, next to many top-rated restaurants, and the harbour. It is very modern, and has a really lovely breakfast buffet with freshly baked pastries, eggs, meats, etc.

The rooms are spacious and very clean with extremely comfortable beds.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik for any number of nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing