We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Opportunity”

National Museum of Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.74*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
More Info
US$38.84*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 180 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful Opportunity”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a must see. Great collection of artifacts and depictions of early life in Iceland. I must admit I was not excited to have to make this stop as part of our day tour, was I happy I had no choice of turning it down. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. It gave me a new appreciation for the price people paid for life on this beautiful island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank supernatxpresion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,428
    1,057
    266
    33
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice displays”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We took a break from the rain, and joined the 1 hour free tour. This was very well done and we both learned more about the Icelandic people and their roots, beginnings and life styles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bokunhandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western colorado
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We always enjoy visiting this museum and always learn something new. This time we joined a tour in English which lasted about an hour. Very informative. The cafe has good coffee and snacks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average national museum”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It's so cold that day when I was walking uphill to the national museum. It's very informative and I love the idea that they have all these small footage on computers that give you information on different section of the museum. It's the aveage tell you all about Iceland kind of national museum, if you are interested in the history that it's for sure your choice to go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressive Overview of Iceland History”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Really enjoyed the well designed and sequenced exhibits of the country's social, economic, cultural, religious, and political history. The audio guide was well worth the additional ISK 300 fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CathySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Iceland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing