We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for four days between Christmas and New Year holidays. I do think the location was quite ideal. Tour buses and guides picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel quite easily, on the edge of town by the waterfront, which is where the hotel is located. Front desk staff was helpful. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Two of the three rooms we had were quite warm and the temperature was not easily controlled so we had to open the windows.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank donna2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 9 a.m. after a flight from the US. We were offered immediate check-in for €40, to include breakfast. We thought that was a great deal and took it and so were able to rest a bit before exploring the city. The hotel is clean and modern, and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room on the 4th floor was roomy and the bathroom large enough for our stuff - though the open shower does tend to flood the room. When the sun eventually came up we had a lovely view across the water to the mountains. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. Also nice was the Happy Hour in the Sky Bar in the evening. The hotel is well located - a short walk into town and right opposite the opera house. One night when walking back from town we saw Northern Lights above the hotel - ironic as we had spent hours in the countryside trying to find them with little luck.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal with secret escape and I have to say the hotel is fab.. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel itself is clean and modern looking. We were lucky and had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the front and the gorgeous mountains. The room itself has everything you need from tea and coffee facilities and a mini bar (although we didn't have anything form here). The bathroom is interesting with the shower but manageable. Just leave your clothes in the bedroom so they don't get wet. The breakfast is fab with everything you could want from fruit, cereals, pastries and flapjacks to bacon, eggs and sausages. We even took some pastries and flapjacks back to our room as they were delicious. Wifi is free and has a good connection. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

As part of a package, we were originally slated to stay at a different hotel. The other property, however, was overbooked, so they changed us to the Centerhotel Arnarhvoll and updated us to a deluxe room. This turned out to be a lucky turn of events. The Arnarhvoll is in a great location, and the entire staff (particularly Angel at the front desk) was very helpful. Rooms were small but adequate and the bed was comfortable (very important after a long and busy day). The included breakfast was very good with scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage as well as a variety of fruits, cereals, cold cuts and breads. The harbor and city center are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 707 facing the water. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrod53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We came here with a Fleetway offer and had an absolutely fantastic time. Cannot recommend Iceland highly enough. The hotel is nice. Didn't see the hot tub as we were so busy. The beds were two singles pushed together, whereas I would have preferred a double. The breakfast was great. The staff friendly. The wifi good (on my side of the bed). The view from the Skybar is brilliant. Everything is a short walk away.

Only negative - I asked for our shower head to be replaced as it was faulty but this did not happen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Having been made aware of the relatively high price of living in Iceland we were apprehensive about staying in such a reasonably priced hotel. There was no need to worry! Also don't be fooled by the gull, granite exterior of the hotel, the decor inside is extremely modern, warm and welcoming.

The room was space-efficient but nonetheless perfectly comfortable. There was no wardrobe, only some small shelves, however this didn't bother us as it was only a four night stay. The bathroom is a wet room. When you have a shower most of the (small) room gets wet. Again, may not be ideal for some but was fine for us.

Breakfast was served in the Skybar with brilliant panoramic views across the waterfront. Happy hour in the Skybar was between 5 and 7pm - half price beer and wine. Breakfast itself was tasty enough; choose between either fruit, cold meats and cheese, pastries or warm English style breakfast. The sun never rose before 10.30am so we had long and lazy breakfasts enjoying the view.

The view is spectacular. We contacted the hotel beforehand to request a waterfront view before our stay and the hotel were extremely amenable to our request. The reception were also very accommodating and helpful when providing information about tours (Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle and Northern Lights trip).

There is a very relaxing spa area underground - they provide robes for you to go down and enjoy the hot tub, spa, sauna and showers. It's all set against a rocky background which is in line with so much of Iceland.

Location is brilliant. Directly opposite the Harpa, then a short walk down to the harbour and plenty of fish restaurants, whilst the bus terminals where the day trips leave from are easily within walking distance. Reykjavik is a relatively small city and you can walk to most places of note from the Arnarhvoll. We spotted some other hotels from the Centerhotel chain on our sojourns through the city, however none seemed as nice as the Arnarhvoll.

In terms of restaurants, we had excellent meals at Cafe Paris (economical), Geysir (sophisticated local delicacies), Icelandic Fish and Chips (an eat-in chippy with service) and another by the harbour that was delicious but expensive.

You can probably fill two days exploring Reykjavik, depending on your individual tastes (a climb to the top of Hallgrimmskirkja is essential. It's fantastic architecture and the views from the top are breathtaking. I would highly recommend a trip to the Blue Lagoon - taking your own towels and robes or taking the ones from the hotel will save you a lot of money when you get to the Blue Lagoon! It is like a resort with fantastic facilities. Sensational swimming amongst a volcanic backdrop and plenty of therapeutic treatments, saunas and steam rooms and even a 'poolside' bar. The resort also has a hotel, restaurant and other facilities. The Golden Circle is also extremely picturesque and interesting. We found an afternoon more than enough time to cover this, however there are trips running from 9am to 5pm. Finally the Northern Lights. Guttingly, we did not see them! As we decided to go on a boat tour from the harbour in search of the lights we had the added disadvantage of being freezing for three hours too. If I could do it again I would make sure we were on a cosy coach and then you could venture outside as and when an opportunity to see the lights presented itself. One thing to watch out for if you don't see the lights is that none of the tour companies offer a refund. They will offer you a free ticket to return that is valid for two years, however this is not much use if you are not going to return to Reykjavik in the near future! We were unsuccessful on two nights and they were not sympathetic to our sob story...!

Overall though, an outstanding city break at a lovely hotel. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked this hotel via Secret Escapes and the trip was so cheap we were dreading the hotel.
It was actually fab. One of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. The staff recommended restaurants to us and were very helpful booking the Blue Lagoon for us.
The rooms are small but perfectly decorated and everything seemed brand new. The shower room was clean and perfectly proportioned.
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to all. The location is spot on too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsbals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,843 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
172 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,843 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,817 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 54 in Reykjavik
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £138 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing