We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great views, was not disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel is clean and probably has the best view in Reykjavik. A small SPA which is free for guests. Good internet and a nice breakfast (except for the scrambled eggs which for some reason has sugar in it)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in room 412, which had great views over the harbor (although the windows are in bad need of cleaning). The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the blackout shades worked well (it was June). We thought the breakfast was quite good.

My complaints: 1) not much help in getting checked in early unless we were willing to pay a fee, 2) the shower was small and awkward, and they did not stock or provide shampoo (really?), 3) at least in our room, the wireless internet sucked.

In the end, the location and comfort trumped the annoyances above for us.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing the harbor, on a room at least on the third floor. Most of them d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We also stayed in Room 512 (seeing a previous review) and was pleased that the hotel honoured my request for both our rooms to have a sea view as it was a spectacular view. We only stayed one night and felt our room was adequate...bed, comfortable; shower, excellent (although as I am not used to a "wet room" type bathroom, it takes some getting used to all the water everywhere); location, perfect as it was quiet on the seafront and unlike some of the review I had read about other hotels and the noisy weekend revellers. Breakfast was outstanding and enjoyed the opportunity to sit out on the balcony eating our breakfast in the sunshine and warmth overlooking the sea and landscape beyond. Do not pay for parking unless you first check the few available free spaces behind the hotel although the cost of parking is not prohibitive and free from approx. 18:00 to 10 a.m. the next day (which worked out fine for us staying only one night).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Average amenities and room size for Reykjavik. Perfect location for seeing the small capital on foot. Breakfast in morning was average for the country, and wifi was reliable. The front desk was not particularly helpful about any early check in (ie, nothing available a minute prior to 2 pm). There really wasn't "free parking" as advertised on the website, as there are only 5/6 spots for the entire hotel. However, on the street parking is free after 5 or 6 pm anyway, so it's not too big a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Situated downtown directly opposite the relatively new Harper building and the seafront, very easy walking distance to the centre for sightseeing and shopping but also very close for any whale watching tours etc. The staff were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one.
The bedrooms may not have the nicest views, some were lucky and had sea views but others only had the car park to look at, however the rooms have everything you need, modern and minimalistic but with great facilities. Very comfortable beds, flat screen TV showing BBC and ITV channels, hairdryers and excellent showers (the bath was a bit small). Very pleasant decor.
Breakfast on the top floor was selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, breads and cakes, boiled eggs, cheeses, bacon, sausages etc etc a very good selection and a wonderful place to sit and have breakfast with the breathtaking views over the harbour. Excellent hotel and we will be returning later in the year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms can be requested but not guaranteed. Lower floor rooms are slightly noisier than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_channelmanager, Manager at Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear UKCarole,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the services of our staff.
We most certainly hope to welcome you back to Iceland and CenterHotels in the future.

Sincerely,

Eva Josteinsdottir
Director of Operations
CenterHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Weekend visit to Reykjavik and stayed here in room 512 with superb views over the bay and to majestic mountains. Small but perfectly adequate room. No real storage, just minimal shelving. No drawers or wardrobe, just hanging rail. Fine for a weekend but maybe not for longer. Bathroom very good. Everything worked. Tea and coffee making facilities, fridge / minibar and a safe. Hotel staff at reception very helpful and many thanks to Andrea for booking us restaurants. Did over hear other people much less satisfied with noise at night. Hotel does directly overlook a dual carriageway, but this is Iceland - it's hardly busy! But otherwise the location is great and you can walk around central Reykjavik in a day anyway. Main Street with shops and bars only a few minutes walk from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to look over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metafaculty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_channelmanager, Manager at Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Metafaculty,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.
We appreciate your honest feedback and will share your comments with all our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services of our staff and Andrea will be very happy to read your comments as well. We are very lucky to have such dedicated staff as Andrea working with us.

We most certainly hope to welcome you back to Iceland and CenterHotels in the future.

Sincerely,

Eva Josteinsdottir
Director of Operations
CenterHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,888 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
691 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,831 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
173 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £130 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing