We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel - don't expect much and you'll be ok. Want something special, look elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Pros: Breakfast was decent and had a nice view. Good location. Clean and modern room.

Cons: Room was smaller than appears on the website - basically it could have been a large closet. Don't expect a helpful staff. Room was too hot, didn't have AC and was on the ground level near the trash so we didn't want to open the windows, especially at night. Internet didn't work from iPhone (could have been iPhone setting).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kei88th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
There are newer reviews for Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed for 7 nights. Room small but clean and functional. Only 2 staff on breakfast duty - they could not cope resulting in a very poor service. Food quality OK but limited in variety and quantity. Breakfast was a major let down. The view however from the 8th floor is superb. Reception staff were polite but not particularly friendly or helpful in providing recommendations. Free parking is limited to 4 cars but ample on-street parking outside payable between 10 and 6pm. Other free parking can be easily found at a short walk. Room provides kettle, safe and TV with BBC 1,2, Sky News.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew1NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

SERVICE
The reception staff were friendly and helpful - booked our tours and restaurants. Impressed with all the languages they spoke!

ROOM
Nice room - decent size, clean and nice big TV! Bit like an Ikea showroom though - not much character. The wet room was very wet but had a great shower. Be warned - there are no curtains so eye masks are a must if you want to sleep.

SPA
The basement spa was really nice although I felt it was a little cheeky that you have to pay extra to use it.

LOCATION
GREAT location for getting in to the main part of Reykjavik - a really easy walk. Don't be fooled by the wonderful views on the website photos. There is a main road right outside the hotel, then the view!! There is currently work being done opposite so it's quite noisy in the morning too.

BREAKFAST
Breakfast was simple but nice. Great waffles!

VALUE
We booked through lastminute.com so it was great value

TOURS
Golden Circle tour with Reykjavik Excursions to visit the geysirs, Gulfross, National Park etc.
The Blue Lagoon was fantastic - very relaxing and fun. You definitely need to book ahead if you want a massage though which I found out too late.

RESTAURANTS
Can highly recommend La Primavera and The Lobster House - the food was delicious, the service was fantastic and although they were both pricey it was well worth it.

BARS
Bar 5 - great atmosphere, cocktails, friendly & fun staff and really lovely tapas.
Thorvaldsen Bar - very chilled, great music, nice outside area overlooking the square.

REYKJAVIK
We LOVED Reykjavik - delicious food, beautiful scenery, friendly people, great nightlife, fantastic vintage shopping.......I would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I booked this hotel through last minute's secret hotel's which made it excellent value for money for Iceland. The location is fantastic and rooms clean and modern, perfect for a couple of nights stay. They have a spa in the basement which you can use for a little extra which is fantastic after a days sightseeing. Breakfast is fine, although their staff couldn't care less. On arrival each morning we had to clear and wipe our table before sitting down!!! Even so, at the price I paid I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azila25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed here as part of my Conference Event at Reykjavik University and well as taking a few days off to explore the city. To start with, the location is great. Just 10 minutes walk to the old harbour (for the whale watching tour and Sea Baron restaurant), 3 minutes walk to the main shopping area, 3 minutes walk to Faxaflói bay and 3 minutes walk to the nearest bus station (it took me direct to Reykjavik University and Kringlan shopping mall).
The views overlooking the bay was great during the evenings. If you want a great view for breakfast, I suggest you get up a little earlier! Internet connection is free via the wireless network (lobby and the dining areas) or by cable in the rooms).
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke good English ... definitely would return!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Great price included adequate breakfast. Good location. Great view of harbor. Staff very helpful.
Flybus was late, desk called 3 times to confirm pick-up.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICKEY_K1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

At one point, a local summed it all up in one sentence: The hotel staff change every 6 months, so why should they bother learning about all the activities or restaurants or tours?

CenterHotel Arnarhvoll is pretty well-located, we had the famous Harbor views if you specify them (you will also be looking onto the half-finished symphony hall that has fallen victim to the Icelandic economic collapse) , and has clean rooms with all the amenities except for drawers or closets or a shower curtain (the shower half-door makes bathroom flooding inevitable) . It even has free wired internet by LAN, which is not really advertised, and a geothermally heated spa / sauna that is well worth the one-time expense of 10 Euros per person per stay. The breakfast is complimentary and generous, and we got the hotel for a great deal in mid-season. So why only 3 stars?

The desk staff is amazingly incompetent. Friendly, but clueless. Is the restaurant at the blue lagoon a tourist trap, or is it any good? Dunno. Are the restaurants going to be open on a Sunday night at 10pm? Dunno. Where would you go for fresh fish? I'm not from here. How much is a coffee? I just started. Do you have sweetener? Dunno. Do you have sugar? Dunno. Which tour company do you recommend for a Golden Circle Tour? Dunno.

We were never called when our tour bus arrived 2 minutes early to pick us up. They simply were not aware that we were staying at this hotel. It is similarly egregious that we never learned about some of the great features of this hotel until the last day of our stay. Yes, the free WiFi in the lobby is advertised, but nobody told us about the free wired lan and the free cable we could have just picked up.

Yes, sauna is advertised, but there is actually a really nice geothermally heated spa / hot tub (no fitness center, despite the trip advisor "fitness" symbol!), accessible for a modest fee.

So; Come here if you find a good deal - it's a clean 3 star hotel. But do not rely on the front desk to provide any assistance with your stay -- or do anything properly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sugardoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,706 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 54 in Reykjavik
655 reviews
City Center Hotel
#31 of 54 in Reykjavik
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £141 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing