We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient Scandinavian style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“convenient Scandinavian style hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We were booked with Centerhotel Klopp, but I emailed a few days in advance that we needed an early check in and a quiet location so was upgraded to this hotel. Checked-in at 9am and proceeded to the Upper floor breakfast which was a great view of the harbor (our room did, too). Comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet was very good and lots of it. Could email from the lobby. Did have to pay for coffee in the lobby in the European fashion of one cup per payment. Took a Gray Line tour of the Golden Circle in the evening and was picked up and dropped off at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    570
    192
    34
    19
See reviews for
156
702
82
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancs
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

After an odd smell from from the bathroom in our first room we were moved with no hassle to another room. the rooms are small and basic but clean and stylish with a big flat screen tv with mainly british channels to watch. The beds are very comfy and come kitted out with a nice warm duvet.

The view across Faxafloi Bay from both our room and the Hotel was pretty special, even with the construction of the new Concert Hall going on right across the road.

Found the staff helpful and freindly.

As many reviewers have mentioned before the breakfast on offer was plentiful and included everything from corn flakes to stir fried vegatables. As food is expensive in Reykjavik I recommend filling up with a big breakfast so you won't need any lunch.

My one critisism is that the automatic door closers are a bit strong so there's quite alot of slamming doors as people come back in during the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Spencer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

poor service. VERY noisy. poor and dangerous bath. poor breakfast.
please find other hotel !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARIEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
668 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Arrived by plane and continued on the Flybus+, which offers commuter service from the main bus station and to the hotel.
The hotel is 3 blocks away from the main shopping street. It's located near the harbour, and has a lovely view from the terrace on the top floor. Scandinavian style hotel.
Friendly staff, everything was taken care of in a proffesional matter. The rooms have flat screen TV, safe, minibar and internet connection thru cable. No WIFI in the rooms unfortuantely. The rooms has no air condition, so it may get varm in the evening if you have windows facing the sun. The bed was very nice, slept like a baby.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the top floor. The food was just how I expected it when travelling in northern Europe. If it is sunny you may take your breakfast outside on the terrace. I would be more than happy to come back.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank VacationOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

First things first - the location. I seriously doubt you'll find a better located hotel in Reykjavik. Only minutes away from the heart of the city (more on that in a minute) but in a quiet spot so you wont get disturbed by the noise of the weekend party crowd. The hotel itself is right on the bay, and the top floor offers stunning scenic views of the mountains on the opposite side, which is also where the breakfast/dining room is. An ideal way to start the morning.

For those of you that have not been to Reykjavik before, expect to be in shock when you see the city centre. It is tiny. The main squares, the parliment and historic buildings, the port (for whale watching trips), the lake, and the main shopping/dining/entertainment street are all within 10 minutes walk of the hotel, and that is at a slow pace. Reykjavik could really be considered a very large village on that account. However, the residential areas spreads out for what looks like miles, and it seems to be where many of the other hotels are based, so bear that in mind if you're thinking about a slightly cheaper option.

The other big incentive is the breakfast. A decent feast of hot and cold buffet food will give you plenty of choice, whether it be something straightforward like cereal and toast or more Scandanavian like fish and rye bread. As mentioned in other reviews you'll come to love the waffle maker! Although the costs in Iceland aren't as bad as they are often made out to be (prices for food and drink seem to be equal to prices charged in Central London if that's of any use) filling up at breakfast time is a handy way to minimise food costs, especially as breakfast is included in the rates itself.

Otherwise, ignore the grey concrete fort as you approach the hotel from the outside, inside its all very well designed, especially if Scandanavian minimalist chic is your thing. Like most European hotels, a double bed is two twin beds pushed together, something that I'm slowly learning to accept is the norm outside the UK. Our room was fairly small, but clean and tidy. Surprisingly it did get a big hot in there, not having any air-con. Not something you'd expect in Iceland anyway, but being able to only open the window a tiny fraction (no doubt for 'elf and safety reasons) did mean it did get a bit stuffy. Still, I don't suppose thats a problem in the winter time.

Otherwise, the staff were fine, no problems there. There's also a half-decent spa and sauna in the basement thats worth a visit. I would definatley recommend a stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99_redball00ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

The location of the hotel is very good a short walk to the main shopping areas and eating venues.We had booked a deluxe room with Thomas Cook but there was little deluxe about it !. We found the room very small for three people and the bathroom is on the cosy side. On the plus side we had satellite tv with BBC Scotland 1 & 2, Itv 1,3 & 4, Cnn and Sky News although it was broken at the time. The free breakfast is good with waffle maker and various items to choose from but it could get very busy and seating was an issue. We did have a kettle in the room with a very limited amount of tea/coffee, there is though a mini market 10 mins away. There is a construction site across the road and it was noisy from there from 8am until 23.00 and it spoilt the otherwise lovely view. Two of our nights were broken by guests arriving back at 2- 3am being loud in the corridors and in their rooms. The rooms are very close together and this could be a problem if you are unlucky with your neighbour.
The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English and reception is manned 24 hours, There is little in the way of climate control and if it turns muggy the room will get rather hot.
Overall its okay, good for location and average for everything else.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ferribytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

I originally booked a room at the Centerhotel Klopp, but they overbooked an "upgraded" my family and I to the Arnarhvoll and paid for a taxi to get us there, though it wasn't far. Initially, I wasn't too thrilled to be told that the room I prepaid at the Klopp was not available, but in the end I was happy with the Arnarhvoll and felt like I was well taken care of by the hotel in general.

The hotel has a lot going for it: First, the service was fantastic Everyone we talked to was extremely helpful and friendly. When we arrived at 9 a.m. our room was not yet available, so they sent us upstairs to their breakfast room to eat while we waiting. By the time we were done eating, our room was ready and we were able to check in. We really appreciated this effort, as we had been traveling for over 12 hours and were still operating on Pacific Coast time, so we were anxious for a nap!

Second, the location is good. The water views are nice and it was a quick walk to the downtown area. It is a little out of the way, but that meant it was also a lot quieter. If you want to stay "in the middle of it all," you might be off with a more centrally located hotel. However, it was only a ten-fifteen minute walk to the middle of town and we never felt like it was a chore to get anywhere we wanted to. (Reykjavik is really, really small!)

Finally, the hotel rooms are very reasonably priced and includes breakfast and wi-fi at no additional costs, which is a nice additional benefit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ej09rg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Property: Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing