We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week”
Review of 4th Floor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
4th Floor Hotel
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Leeds Yorks England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just ended a week long holiday in Reykjavik staying at the fourth floor. Really nice hotel and people especially Geeta. Lovely room and free breakfast. Right on main shopping street with walking distance of a few of the attractions. Main bus station just behind. Swimming pool with hot tubs and steam room just round corner.. Great value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    155
    82
    26
    25
See reviews for
51
141
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed with my friend for a week during the Airwaves festival. We had a very nice spacious room with chairs and table and a desk with chair and wardrobe. Washroom was also good although the bathroom lights needed to be replaced and the faucet was a little loose. Breakfast was great and filling every morning - both cold and warm options. Staff were super nice and helpful, bug ups to Magdalena and Gheeta (sp?). It was at the top end of Lagavegur where most of the shops end but was a great daily walk to go down the strip, over to the church or by the harbourfront. Oh, how I miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the 4th Floor Hotel in Reykjavik on October 26 for two nights. We had booked the standard Double room with private bathroom, but when we arrived, we were bumped up to the Superior Studio Apartment.

First of all, if you're staying in Iceland, you should know that food is extraordinarily expensive. We saved so much money by staying at the 4th floor because the buffet breakfast was included in the room rate. I expected a tiny continental breakfast, but was so impressed to find a full breakfast with eggs, meats, cereal, fruit, cheeses, breads, pastries, yogurts, vegetables, and the fixings for a sandwich. We also saved some cash by making use of the kitchen in our room and the grocery store across the street. Be prepared to pay 25-50 dollars per plate at the local restaurants. We ended up paying over 30 dollars for 2 crappy hamburger meals at the Burger Joint. If I visit Iceland again, I will be booking the apartment style room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us directions and booking our transportation to and from the hotel. The rooms were cleaned impeccably. The location was also amazing!

Room Tip: Apartment style is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBUtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Fantastic experience staying at this hotel. We were given a room upgrade on arrival..so we ended up getting a studio apartment..which was awesome :). The service at this hotel was amazing. Magdalena and another lady (sorry I didn't get her name) went out of their way to be helpful. Usually the staff provide information only if guests ask them questions but at this hotel the staff was so friendly and did their best to ensure you are comfortable. They also proactively checked with our tour companies to ensure our bookings were confirmed etc which was good because the tour company we booked with to get to the airport didn't have our names on their list even though we had a confirmation email from them.
The accommodation is good, breakfast is nice but the best part is the location - 10 min walk to the Hallgrímskirkja Church, high street is across the road, plenty of restaurants to choose from, a supermarket across the road with a Thai take away restaurant close to it, the sun voyager sculpture is a 5 min walk. The old harbour is also within walking distance.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pramela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The 4th floor hotel is in the heart of Reykjavik. Just a short walk to nearest restaurants, stores, clubs and sights.
Some of the rooms have a shared bathroom. In our case that was ok, because we were a large group who knew eachother, may be a little awkward if your "roomie" is a stranger. The doors have locks though. Rooms have been interiored nicely, slightly modern.
It was not expensive at all, compared to other hotels in Reykjavik.
Breakfast was really good, even if the assortment wasn't that broad.
Receptionist really nice and friendly.
A free bus to and from the hotel-airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteML94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

In a city of expensive hotels, this is not an exception but looking at the rates, it was one of the most reasonable. We were hesitant because of the shared bathroom but it turned out to be just fine. The hotel rooms are on the 4th floor of a building block (hence the name). Our room was a very good size with comfortable beds. A washbasin was also in the room. The TV had a decent selection of English channels.

The hotel is on a main road, and if you sleep with windows open you will get some traffic and street noise from the locals returning from their parties at dawn on weekends. But we did not have much trouble sleeping through that.

As I said, the main compromise was the shared bath, but it was always clean and never had to wait to use it. It was only a couple of doors down the corridor.

Breakfast was also good, served at the ground floor cafe. They can take care of early departures etc.

The hotel is located next to the main shopping street which has lots of restaurants and tourist shops so it is convenient. You can walk everywhere of interest from here without needing public transport. Staff at reception was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stay in the Hotel for a week on september 2013, A very good location, the apartment was equipped with the best, nice staff, clean hotel, spacious rooms, all that a tourist need for a nice sejour. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakov e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
526 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
450 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 52 in Reykjavik
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,157 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#45 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,037 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4th Floor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4th Floor Hotel

Property: 4th Floor Hotel
Address: Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 4th Floor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4th Floor Hotel operates as both a boutique and a budget conscious hotel with affordable rooms suited to all the needs of our guests. Location, we got that covered! The main shopping street, Laugavegur, begins at our hotel. Car rental and coffee bar on site at the hotel! Free breakfast! Free wifi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 4th Floor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing