We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location”
Review of 4th Floor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
4th Floor Hotel
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fab location”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights it's is exactly what is says hotel on the 4 th floor was a little basic but absolutely perfectly placed across the road and your in the Main Street and 10 mins walk into centre , staff where very helpful and friendly , breakfast more than expected would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    155
    82
    26
    25
See reviews for
51
141
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The 4th Floor Hotel is a great place to stay. When I arrived at 8am, the staff found me a room to sleep despite the fact check in wasn't until 2pm. They also arranged for a late check out, as my return flight was not until the evening. The staff was wonderful checking on my tours and booking excursions for me. I stayed in a single room with a shared bath. The room was small, but it was perfect for one person. The shared bath was always free when I needed it. The location is perfect, right off the main walking/shopping area. Free Wifi and free breakfast included! I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for four days last week and it was a great experience. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the rooms and decor are basic but that suited me fine as i didn't plan on spending much time there. The rooms were warm and (which is important!) and the location is great as its just at the end of Laugavegur. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOToole100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent the first night of our four day golden circle trip at the 4th Floor Hotel. We picked this place as it is right in the centre of Reykjavik and was cheap (compared to the rest of the city). The staff were lovely and advised me of a free parking space when there weren't any left behind the hotel. We had a double room with a private bathroom. No complaints about the room; the bed was big and comfy, the bathroom was a decent size with a huge shower, and we had a shared balcony that faced the mountains. With free wifi and a good selection at breakfast (included in the room rate) you can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
238 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

As many had already said, Iceland is a very expensive place, even during winter. The hotel is very cheap, compared to others, but that comes with a price. The floor of our bathroom was very dirty, the bedsheets had hairs all around (but the looked washed). The decor is tacky. Towels were thin and super washed.
Pros: comfortable mattress, location, friendly staff
Cons: cleanness, breakfast choices, tiny room
I may consider stay there again if I am on a budget trip, but will definitely look for a hotel in the same area.
Tip: the hotel hire cars, but shop around, because you can find better deals.

Room Tip: Check the room as soon as you get the key, if dirty, ask to change it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds Yorks England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just ended a week long holiday in Reykjavik staying at the fourth floor. Really nice hotel and people especially Geeta. Lovely room and free breakfast. Right on main shopping street with walking distance of a few of the attractions. Main bus station just behind. Swimming pool with hot tubs and steam room just round corner.. Great value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed with my friend for a week during the Airwaves festival. We had a very nice spacious room with chairs and table and a desk with chair and wardrobe. Washroom was also good although the bathroom lights needed to be replaced and the faucet was a little loose. Breakfast was great and filling every morning - both cold and warm options. Staff were super nice and helpful, bug ups to Magdalena and Gheeta (sp?). It was at the top end of Lagavegur where most of the shops end but was a great daily walk to go down the strip, over to the church or by the harbourfront. Oh, how I miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
526 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
450 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 52 in Reykjavik
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,157 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#45 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,035 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4th Floor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4th Floor Hotel

Property: 4th Floor Hotel
Address: Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 4th Floor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4th Floor Hotel operates as both a boutique and a budget conscious hotel with affordable rooms suited to all the needs of our guests. Location, we got that covered! The main shopping street, Laugavegur, begins at our hotel. Car rental and coffee bar on site at the hotel! Free breakfast! Free wifi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 4th Floor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing