We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely welcome to Iceland! :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alba Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alba Guesthouse
Ranked #38 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely welcome to Iceland! :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a lovely stay here in Reykavik. The owners were really helpful and helped us book tours and organise car rental. Wifi included and overall a very relaxing atmosphere.I would come back again here to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    40
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
57
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Please check your plumbing in basement room and shower. The water is leaving too slow from the drains.
Breakfast was very very nice. The service from the owner was very good.
It was nice location from city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Wiveca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Alba Guesthouse at the beginning and the end of our time in Iceland. Two mates and myself brought our bikes to Iceland to explore. The owners were very gracious and helpful when we arrived and needed directions, telephone calls and even mail. They made us feel very welcome not only in Reykjavik but also in Iceland. As we planned on traveling for three weeks around Iceland they patiently answered all our travel inquiries and even made calls/emails to other parts of the country to find out about conditions etc. The wireless internet worked perfectly for us as we did research on travel conditions around the island.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was an assortment of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, juices, coffee and tea.

The guesthouse itself is about a 10-15 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik. It is a very easy walk with underpasses and lighted crosswalks on major roads/intersections.

I would recommend the Alba Guesthouse to anyone traveling to Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hosts extremely nice, sparkling clean, an easy 10 minute walk to the city center. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is the room was on the small side, as many BNB rooms in Iceland tend to be.

I fail to understand why I need to pad my review to make 200 characters when I feel I wrote what I wanted to express. I don't have a lot of time to write OR read what other people write, so I believe in brevity where ever possible. Now are you happy, Trip Advisor?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiehfasjklfhasdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The room was comfortable and the wifi access fast at all times. The breakfast buffet was excellent and was always being replenished.... cereals, fresh fruit, tomatoes, cucumbers, wholesome bread and biscuits, cheeses and hams, meats.... juice, milk, tea, coffee,...... enough to fill you up for the day.... and that´s worth a lot given that a three course meal in Iceland can put you back 60 pounds per person. Friendly and helpful owners, always there to welcome you and answer questions. Only a ten minute walk to the main bus station, easy to find, and a twenty minute walk to the main shopping area downtown. Just a ten minute walk to the Perlan on top of the nearby hill which gives you views of all Reykjavik and which has excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed there for 1 night in April 2013. Guesthouse is really close to the harbour and the Laugarvegur street located. Only walk 15 minutes to downtown. Guesthouse has new owners since last week. Really nice and warm welcome. Family told us where we could go for dinner. We have been the only guests because it was not high season. Rooms are at cellar but they are bright and comfortable. Shared bathroom is clean! Breakfast was very individual and tasty! I can really recommend this guesthouse!

Room Tip: Don´t be deterred by the fact that rooms are in cellar. They got big windows and are bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Igdlo Guesthouse
#12 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Miõborg
Aurora Guesthouse
Aurora Guesthouse
#26 of 106 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Miõborg
Loki 101 Guesthouse
Loki 101 Guesthouse
#29 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue House
#9 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Eric the Red Guesthouse
#3 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Loa Loa Guesthouse
#65 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Guesthouse

Property: Alba Guesthouse
Address: Eskihlid 3, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alba Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba Guesthouse has been open since June 2004, well established with a personal touch from many years in working with travelers from around the world. The house was built in 1944 as a family house for Sigurvin Einarsson and his wife Jorina G. Jonsdottir, grandparents of Alba Guesthouse former owner. The house was renovated before opening as a guesthouse, inside, outside and the garden. Alba has 12 rooms with shared facilities, including family rooms that can accommodate up to 4 people. Owners since April 2013 are Harpa Sigfusdottir and THorsteinn Fridthjofsson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing