We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
2
3
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
3
5
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

First of all this place is now named Askot Guesthouse, since the breakfast has been cancelled.

Positive: the rooms are spacious, clean, and the bed is good. The price is good, but don't be fooled

Negative:
The house only has 1 combined toilet and shower, which is far from enough for 9 rooms, some with triple occupancy. My Icelandic is scetchy, but I think they are only allowed 10 guests, but while we stayed minimum was 12 guests. And their promise of better facilities seems hollow.

There is absolutely no sound proofing in the house, you can hear the conversation and snorring in the next room. And guest arriving late, going to the toilet, and getting up early are sure to wake you, so you will not get a good nights sleep here, and afterall, that is what we book accomodation to get.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jens U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on a mini-break to Iceland. It's good value for money and the location is great - quiet residential neighbourhood only a few streets from the Old Harbour.

The floors throughout the guesthouse are wooden and very noisy. This is further compounded by the absence of a bathroom on the ground floor, forcing guests to troop up the stairs in the night to use the toilet.

The hostess was very accommodating about our late arrival (1am).

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Spacepuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This place was just ok. My only real complaint about this place is that there is only one bathroom, one shower. One morning, we had to leave really early. Somebody decided that they wanted to take a long shower at 7 AM. Not sure what that was about. Needless to say, we left after brushing our teeth in the sink of the kitchen without a shower. The beds were comfortable, but the place was noisy. Parking is as described--free. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again, but the price was good.

Room Tip: Shower when you can.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandiKSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

The room was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. It would have been nice to have more than one bathroom at the house available. I wouldn't really call this place a B&B because breakfast was cereal on the counter in the kitchen. However, it was very convenient and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Guesthouse itself was clean and well maintained, however the owner made the stay very uncomfortable with her shaming/judgements. My friend and I only stayed for about 12 hours and we couldn't have left fast enough. Plus, breakfast was not offered even though the website states that it is. You will not feel comfortable or welcomed here. There are plenty of other Guesthouses in the area that could accommodate you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews