We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Modern Apartment”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartment K
DC, USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Modern Apartment”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Upon arrival, we had to wait about 15 minutes for someone to meet us, but once we did we had to walk just a few minutes to the location of our apartment. We booked a studio, but due to being overbooked, were upgraded to a deluxe one-bedroom. It was a beautiful property, only a couple of blocks from the main shopping street. Parking was a bit of a hunt for a spot, but not terrible. Just beware that with heavy suitcases, there was a couple flights of stairs outdoors to get to the apartment. Inside, had a wonderful stone bathroom with heated floors. The living room was modern, spacious, and comfortable. The kitchen was well provided for and also very modern. The bedroom was small, but with the rest of the apartment being so spacious, it wasn't an issue. Would whole-heartedly recommend Apartment K.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    372
    164
    85
    65
See reviews for
195
609
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Taking the different price structure of hotels in Iceland into account, this hotel was not a bad choice. We had a fine, comfortable stay. I understand that there are many different apartments, which vary greatly in design and size. Ours did not have any frills but all the basics. The kitchen was clean, the sitting area was spacious albeit a little worn. The design of the apartment was stylish and different especially with the bed built in between two walls, a bonus for the long summer days. The bathroom could definitely use a face lift, and the reception area looks gloomy and neglected. The location couldn't be more central although parking can be tight at times. Wifi was very fast and coffee generously provided for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff was very friendly & helpful! The pictures on the computer of this hotel look great but in reality my room was very different from the pictures. It is possible that it was just my room and all the other rooms are great. I think the room was probably nice at one time but now is in need of some serious help. If I go back to Iceland I would pick another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor, michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great place to stay. In the middle of shops and restaurants -a Perfect location. We walked to information just a block away. We Loved having a fridge and stove! Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I'll start with this- it's not a terrible hotel, but it's pretty similar to staying with your 20 year old cousin who just got their first place. Mismatched towels and dishes, all of the utensils that make you say "why would I need this?" and very few of the ones you actually need.

The location is good, but very thin walls allow you to hear all the party-goers out on the street. This would work if you were one of the party-goers I suppose, but those same thin walls allow the early morning happenings to wake you up as well. It's hard to find a decent time to sleep soundly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWeigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were here for two nights, after a week spent in the South of the island. We were grateful for the stylish environment and high speed internet wi-fi (although be aware of the restrictions) but could have done with a little more quiet. Extremely helpful staff and absolutely perfect location.

The apartment is very stylish - more than we could afford at home! The living area is lovely: lovely comfy sofa, huge TV (with UK channels), coffee table, well-equipped kitchen (fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, oven, grill etc) which has a folding screen if you'd rather not see it.

The bedroom consists of a built in bed in between the kitchen and bathroom, so it's massive which is great! However there's no door so you get the light which comes in through the non-black-out blinds in the living room. Not a problem most of the year but if you're staying in the 24 hour daylight months (July/August) then you'll most definitely need eye-patches. There's no 'wardrobe' to speak of, just a small space for about 4 items. No drawers either. A small cupboard which contains the fold-out ironing board and iron.

The bathroom is, again, very stylish with a monsoon shower (although we couldn't figure out how it worked until the second day - tip: turn the knob the other way), although the door is not exactly secure. It's a slide door which a) makes a lot of noise when you move it (thus waking up your sleeping partner), and b) doesn't exactly keep your activities in the bathroom 'private'.

The apartment is VERY warm - the temperature outside was around 15/16 degrees and the apartment felt like 25 degrees. We were sweltering. The small windows do not let in enough air so we just wanted to get out. If you're there in winter of course this won't be an issue.

It is also very noisy - you can hear all the doors closing in the other apartments, people dragging their suitcases along the metal staircases (the entrance to the majority of apartments is on the fire escapes. If people are coming back late they invariably wake you up. I didn't sleep at all well there - but I am a light sleeper. My husband was fine though.

The manager of the apartment is really helpful - but has a lot to do. He looks after this building and two others. He's not always there so sometimes you might have to wait a little, but when you do see him he cannot be more helpful. He will book your bus to the airport, give you maps, store your luggage etc.

It is perfectly located - you're at the bottom end of the main (best) shopping street and there's a great sushi place opposite. Turn left at the end of the street and the bus-stop is 2 mins walk away. The cafes and squares are a couple of streets away and you're about 5 mins from the harbour. It's a great location.

Overall we'd definitely recommend staying at the Apartment - just if you're a light sleeper you might want earplugs and eye patches.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firemunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in Reykjavik and partly because of the great location and having a place to relax and hang when we wanted. The apartment has been designed very well but it is clear this was quite some years ago because it is starting to fall apart. Wet bathroom floors are not what we expected for the price, nor the pieces of wood falling from the ceiling (maybe caused by the noisy stomping by the upstairs neighbor in the middle of the night?). Our cartons of milk and juice fell out of the broken fridge door and the dishwasher was also out of order. Other than that we felt quite comfortable there and when we asked for a bottle opener and new towels we got them the next day. With a little tender loving care this can once again be an A level place to stay, but as is I wouldn't say it gives you expected value for the money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MCWj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing