We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Apartment with pleasant hosts”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartment K
Neubrandenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Apartment with pleasant hosts”
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Modern and fancy furnished apartment, located in the mainstreet of Reykjavik. Very clean and comfortable, with two amazing hosts. You can feel like at home.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Legoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    360
    154
    77
    54
See reviews for
177
590
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed in a 2 room apartment, which was spacious, clean, bright, comfortable and warm. The fixtures and fittings were modern and funky. My daughter googled the lampshade above the dining table, and found that it cost £950! No expense was spared in furnishing the apartment. The beds were out of this world. They had mattresses which mould to the shape of your body and the quilts were extremely warm. The owner was friendly, arranged a taxi for us from airport, and gave us some good tips on arrival (eg no need to buy currency in Reykyavik, as everyone uses debit/credit cards not paper money). There was even a balcony for the smokers. This was a much better bet than staying in a hotel, as I would have needed 2 rooms in a hotel (I travelled with my 2 daughters). We had lots of room to spread about. And a huge screen Mac, to check out the local restaurants, weather, etc.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — The coffee machine was not working
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

My sister and I rented from Apartment K and we stayed at the H1 location over Thanksgiving. The apartment location was excellent - perfect for visiting all the stores/restaurants/bars etc. We did not end up using the kitchen to cook at all because we ate out most of the time but it was definitely nice to have the refrigerator and option to do so. When we could not get the coffee maker to work and called Kathy her husband came over that night to get it working. Also, we thought that our apartment would have robes and when we mentioned it to Kathy she said that only certain locations had robes but her husband brought over 2 for us to use anyway which was very useful and appreciated. I cannot say enough about the excellent location. Kathy was wonderful and very informative about places to visit and grocery stores. We bought an Icelandic SIM card for our cellphone so we did not use the phone that was provided. I wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely stay there again. The only thing I would mention that might be a negative for people with a leg disability is that there is a flight of stairs to walk up to get to the apartment with luggage etc.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rlzCt_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We had such a relaxing stay at Apartment K that it has set a new standard for us in accommodation style - much nicer to stay in a private luxury apartment than a high end hotel. Our stay started with a real highlight of being picked up at the bus depot by cheerful Jokull and driven to the apartment, despite the delayed arrival of our flight which meant he had to meet us at 1 in the morning. Our very generously sized modern apartment was very conveniently centrally located on the main boutique shopping street in Reykjavik. Despite this location it was quiet and even had an ocean and mountain view (see the photo). The apartment was well designed, very clean, nicely furnished and exceptionally well equipped. Most pleasing was the excellent espresso machine and ample supply of coffee. As we were guests for a week it was also nice to have a large flat-screen TV, MacMini loaded with good movies and remote control sound system for our iPod.

  • Liked — Spacious, well equipped and very private.
  • Disliked — We were not clear about arrival procedures until we made last minute contact.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BengalConte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Fantastic apartment in an excellent location. The aprtment itself was warm, very clean and furnished to a great standard with a very comfy bed, the shower was space age with steam settings and all sorts! Jokull, the owner is a very easy going, helpful and laid back chap who was a real pleasure to meet. Nice bar next door and you are right in the centre of it all. I would recommend this place heartily to anyone and intend to go back again at some point.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LadySnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Good points:

* Location
* Size of apartment
* Value for money
* Funky furniture
* Free internet in room
* Free movies
* Massive TV
* Full kitchen

Bad points:

* Customer Service - one person in our party tried to book another room so she could stay in the same place as us and the owners said they had a room and would call her back to confirm it, she never heard from them again and subsequently stayed elsewhere.
* Was not given a key for the lift had to walk up stairs.
* Coffee machine was broken, when this was brought to the attention of the owner she said she would come back to have a look at it...we never saw her again.
* Kettle was broken - had to hold down 'on' button for it to boil.
* Storage room in apartment was left unlocked and full of dirty towels.
* Dishwasher was full of dirty dishes when we went to use it.
* Fridge had other people's half used food in it.

Overall, we wouldn't suggest this is not a nice place to stay, we were just disappointed by the points above considering this is advertised as a luxury apartment.

Be sure to visit the tourist office to book tours, they are very helpful. Also, a trip to the Blue Lagoon is a must!

  • Liked — Location and facilities in apartment
  • Disliked — Customer Service and cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

The apartment we stayed in was spotless, modern and very well located. Very good alternative to a hotel room. Much more space that in a hotel and beautifully decorated as well.

Kathy was very, very helpful and even went so far as to make us a last minute reservation at one of Reykjavik's best restaurants.

Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Roundtheworldin50yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing