We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally hospitable, kind owners with a lovely house in a great setting and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Galtafell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I was travelling with my child and wanted a quiet safe place to stay and I couldn't have chosen better. Our room was very clean and very spacious, with large windows and a great view. The beds are ssssso comfy. The property has an interesting history and is full of character, is warm and inviting, unlike some of the tiny box rooms advertised in some bland concrete structures in the city. My son even said it was brilliant! Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who really are genuinely lovely people and very knowledgable, being locals. Must mention their cat , Jelly Belly, also very welcoming! We wanted to bring her home! Location... very convenient. Breakfast..... great choice and plenty of it. Tours... The owners work well with tour operators to ensure all runs smoothly, collections, drop offs etc. Having stayed at various hotels , Radisson, Hilon etc I can truely say I'd rather stay at Galtafell and plan to go back. Cant fault it. Takk (thanks) Thorey and Arnie :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janetteh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed in a nice apartment that fitted the two of us well. It was clean and the water hot! The cooking facilities were appropriate and was close to the local supermarket, so we could save a lot of money on our trip by cooking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Very helpful, English-speaking, friendly owners went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Basic, but comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price. Great location in a very nice, quiet, Reykjavik neighborhood within walking distance to all the major sites, shopping areas, and restaurants. Short walk to the bus terminal makes it easy to get to and from the airport. We would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdoswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at Galtafell for three night in August of 2009 with extended family staying in one of the "apartments" at Galtafell (their experience was very good and is covered in a seperate review). We were in the tower room...up a circular staircase. The room was fairly basic but served our needs well. The lack of them didn't bother us but black-out shades seem like a good idea for every hotel/guesthouse in Iceland for those who have difficulty falling asleep in daylight. Again, it didn't bother us...in fact we all ended up joking about it, but the airport is nearby and it was clear when a plane was landing. The guesthouse is in a residential neighborhood with several embassies nearby (including US)...in fact Galtafell is the former Maltan (sp?) embassy. Thory, the owner, was very nice and helpful with all our questions. We had several nice conversations with her. She was overly-accomodating when we arrived quite early...actually waking them up. She also made a couple of calls for us about bus pick ups etc. The location, I think, is excellent. Short walk to downtown, "the big church", restaurants, shopping etc. We went local and shopped at the local supermarket, it's called Bonus...just look for the big pink pig. We had a shared powder room (down the staircase) and our shared shower (never saw anyone else in there) was actually out the front door and around the front of the house. I know....sounds bad but it really wasn't as long as you expect it before you get there. Which brings me to expectations. After having travelled to Europe many times I understand the basics...it's fairly expensive, the accomodations can be small and their bathroom/shower facilities are different from ours. Different...not better, not worse...just different. So, in my book, expectations are quite important when travelling and can have a big impact on how you view your hotel/guesthouse experience. Galtafell was a very good guesthouse...my expectations were in line with reality. I would recommend Galtafell without hesitation. Oh, the price...we paid $100/night. I believe my extended family paid $212 for their apartment. I had looked at many other places to stay in Reykjavik and found this to be a very good price for that area and time of year. Lastly...if staying for more than a few nights I think I'd opt for one of the apartments for the extra space along with the private bath and kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delawaretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Galtafell is located rgiht in downtown Reykjavik. The beds were clean.
The guesthouse is family run, and the proprietors could not be more accomodating.
We arrived at 7AM and weren't supposed to check in until 2PM. Exhausted from our overnight flight they brought us into their own apartment and allowed us to rest, while they hurried to prepare a room for us. By 11:30AM we were all sleeping.
The apartment was clean, with a full kitchen and bath.
We had relatives that traveled with us who had a single room that needed to share a shower and bath. The prices were affordable and the proprietors very friendly.
There were no surpirses and it was a great value for its locations alone.
I would recommend Galtafell to anyone who wants to be close to downtown, needs a clean place to rest your head, and doesn#t require a luxury Hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryofpawling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Great location near downtown everything! Very service oriented host that made phone calls and arranged events for us. Stayed 5 nights. Spacious apartment with separate bedroom and kitchenette with some food essentials included. Free parking. Would stay here again!!! Enjoyed DVDs that were provided.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Trav-W0RLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We had an awful time at this place. Unbeknown to us it was the night of the Culture Festival when we arrived and the owner was in a state because as she said it was so full on. She had got our booking muddled and we had to take two rooms for the three of us instead of n "apartment". The toilet was blocked and smelly in the double room's ensuite and with two other guests we had to share a very poky bathroom. She was so "upset" she didn't show us round properly and we had no idea what the facilities were. There was food in the kitchen: were we supposed to help ourselves for breakfast? Was there a code for WiFi? All in all we felt unwelcome.
She apologised when we went to pay after our second night, sure, but we were still charged the full, exhorbitant rate.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Philippa_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Galtafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Galtafell

Address: Laufasvegur 46, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £100 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Galtafell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtafell is located in the heart of Reykjavik, within easy reach of all major activities. Our bright and non smoking suites are comfortably furnished and all have private entrance. Every suite consists of a bedroom, bathroom, living room and a fully equipped kitchen corner. Laundry facilities are in the building. The apartments can comfortably room up to four persons and bed linen and towels are provided. We also offer double or single rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guesthouse Galtafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing