We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad location and service”
Review of Pavi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavi Apartments
Reykjavík
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad location and service”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I wouldn't go there again (bad location, ugly house, locked entrance door - I had to phone and wait long for somebody, the staff was very unfriendly). No value for much money!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Regina508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    23
    44
    28
    36
See reviews for
9
53
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

i arrived in this place at 2am; i booked online and when at the door i rang no one came down, a little paper on the door told me to call if i was a new guest, unfortunately my phone has no international roaming so i was upset and scared to sleep out cause at that time few people are in the streets. i found a way throught bestwestern hotel not too far and once inside i explained the receptionist it was stupid idea to do this way, cause many people dont have a phone or international roaming, he just told me it was my fault and i should be quiet cause people were sleeping.
the dorm is huge with more than 30 beds, still ok and confortable, no breakfast if u choses dormitory, which is not precised on the booking site. and finally many people complained about the service there so i felt better not thinking it was my fault.
to avoid cause if not full, other adresses are better and well situated for almost the same price

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herbertfaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Finding a cheap accomodation in Reykjavik is quite hard: we managed to find one with this guesthouse, wich is, actually, a floor in an huge building with many mini-apartments (big room with kitchen and bathroom). Room was huge, clean, with a decent bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen, with the only downside of being on third floor and there's no elevator. Breakfast was not so good: a tiny room with 5 tables for about 20 guests, some milk, cheese and bread and nothing else, and, most important, no one cleaning tables. Value for money is good, so probably I would return here again, but forget any good breakfast here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

we arrived in the night, they promised us a room with a sink but did not get it, they told us we could still choose (3am!!). Be aware, the webside told us an amount in euros but they transfer it to ISK with an extremely bad rate, so actually the amount you pay is 20% higher then written on the website!! So be aware. When I told this to the staff (I think the boss) he was extremely rude!!! For the rest the service was bad, for breakfast you had to wait because there was no space. I would only sleep here when the other option is sleeping in the street. Actually we did not get even a room in the hotel itself but in an other old building where you had to take a shower in the shared kitchen!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The first thing you notice when you arrive at Pavi, about 25mins walk from Reykjavik city centre, is that there's no bell. There's a note asking you to call a number for access (if you don't have a working phone you're basically screwed). It can then take up to 10 mins for someone to come down to let you in and check you in. One couple we spoke to said they'd been left for 10 mins in the pouring rain. Simply incredible that they don't have a buzzer system to grant access. 

Then there is no lift, so have to carry luggage up two flights of stairs. 

When we arrived first we booked for two nights, as we were on a red eye flight and didn't arrive until 3am. The idea being that we could just sleep through until the afternoon the next day. But, they messed up the booking, meaning that we'd have to stay in two different rooms on the two different nights. Thus, we were rudely ushered from one room to the other early the next morning after barely 5 hours sleep. Horrible!

This being Iceland, in summer, when there is almost 23 hours daylight, one would expect the curtains to keep out the light. One would expect wrongly. 

The beds were fairly uncomfortable, the bedsheets had holes, the duvets look like they've never been washed (at least there were no bedbugs) only one small bedside light worked (ie the main light and other bedside light didn't), the walls were like cardboard, the flush in the men's toilet didn't work properly, the shower was filthy,  breakfast was terrible (even by hostel standards) and the cutlery dirty on one occassion, tabletop surfaces in the rooms were dirty and sticky, and the rooms generally not very clean.

It did have its plusses, though not many. Late check in, free wifi in all rooms, walkable distance from downtown Reykjavik. Cheap. 

I know this is the lowest end if the accommodation market in Reykjavik, but for €30 per night one expects a certain standard. Not looking for the Hilton, just a small bit of comfort and cleanliness. It's incredible that such a place can still exist in the 21st Century. 

Oh well, lesson learned. Next time (and there will be a next time) we'll fork over that little bit extra to stay somewhere much better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel was a good value for money and previous clients' comments available on internet were correct (clean, basic, well located, the cheapest available...)
Checking-in was not easy, rather unusual. Front door usually locked and the door bell broken. You had to call a mobile number displayed there for a receptionist to open you the door to check-in. Fine if you had a working phone with you, but problematic if had none.
Staff serving breakfast seemed a bit harsh with those coming to eat 5 minutes before the official closing time for breakfast. The breakfast room was far too small for all those wanted to eat, with one table even placed on corridor outside. Our table was in fact an small office desk, with 4No people cramped around it, with place for legs only on one side.

You'll get what you paid for - basic hotel for a basic price. Not bad if you just need to sleep at night and explore the beautiful Iceland otherwise.

For our first night we were in fact located in a basement of a small house 3 minutes drive away - a surprise to us, as this was NOT mentioned during our booking process. The second night few days later was in the Pavi building itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank bso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Pod Hostel
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oddsson Hostel
Oddsson Hostel
#17 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
I Sleep Reykjavik Guesthouse
I Sleep Reykjavik Guesthouse
#57 of 107 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Igdlo Guesthouse
Igdlo Guesthouse
#13 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brim Hotel RCH
Brim Hotel RCH
#47 of 107 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#32 of 100 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavi Apartments

Property: Pavi Apartments
Address: Brautarholt 4, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Pavi)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Pavi Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pavi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Pavi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing