We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Sisters Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

As a family of 4 we enjoyed our stay at Three Sisters. Management were friendly and helpful. Luckily we got parking out the front each time. Room was clean and sufficient for our 2 night stay. Great location for exploring Reykjavik.

Room Tip: We stayed in room downstairs (below street level) and was fine for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JosyJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Some places take you up one level, allowing you to enjoy a splendid view at no extra cost... others are leading, mind the steps, down to... the basement.
Three Sisters, in Reykjavic is one of those, luckily, few hotels where if you get on your toes you can discover an incomparable view over ...the pavement. well if you are lucky you can then listen to passing by people's conversation (for advanced Icelandic language learners only), or do some shoes watching or even more offending peeping, this is the place.! shame on you!
Place is clean, owners are helpful, but, frankly, renting a basement... Shame on them! Especially considering the price.

Room Tip: Specify "No basement" please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean jacques j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skolli, Manager at Three Sisters Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are truely sorry to hear that you disliked our apartment. We have never had complaints from that room, on the contrary most people are very happy with it.

To call it a basement is a stretch, yes you are 4 steps down from street level as the street is on a slope. But to say that you had to stand on your toes in order to see out the window is an outright lie. The windows are at a normal height.
I wish I could attach pictures here as they would prove that this is a lovely room.

We have 9 rooms on 4 levels, each one offering a different view. The penthouse flat is available for bookings if a view over the ocean is what you seek.

/Three Sisters Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just returned from a horseback riding excursion that started and ended in Reykjavik at Three Sisters Guesthouse. Thor, Hanna, and Marcus are tremendous hosts, the rooms are very nice, and it is centrally located. There's a community pool and spa within walking distance to top off the day's touring. I'll stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over NYE and found Thor extremely helpful in accommodating our requests and helping us manage our trip. The studio was spacious clean and comfortable and perfectly located - just a few minutes walk from everywhere, including a spot where we managed to see the Northern Lights on our last night!! Would certainly go back and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRVINEJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our two daughters. The room was clean and spacious, it was great for our daughters to have some privacy in the bunk beds, even if just separated by a curtain. The location was perfect, we could walk anywhere within minutes, and it was nice to be able to eat breakfast in the room, Our hosts were kind and helpful. It sounds like breakfast was served onsite on the website, but it is not, however we were pointed to a nearby bed and breakfast a few houses away. There was a TV, but only had three channels and not in English so not helpful, but we did have another option for a movie during a particularly cold and rainy day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We really liked this place, which is really close to the Reykjavik city center. Comfortable beds where we got so much of rest which we needed after our trips.
Provided breakfast was quite fine as well, but I just hated toast bread after 6 days :).
Drapery in kitchen window would be a big advantage - there's no real darkness in Summer.

Room Tip: we had a 1st floor room on the left, which was a bit larger with larger bathroom than the center one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were looking forward to all the well described and praised features of the Three Sisters Guesthouse, which we had booked at a time when supposedly a lot of apartments were still available, but were thoroughly disappointed because we ended up in a second building closer by the harbour at a busy junction. The apartment was small, but adequately equipped with the necessary things. Apart from the traffic noise that didn't stop until 1 am and started again before 7am, we disliked the fact that the windows (ground floor) were facing street and pavement so that pedestrians were within arm's reach. With the curtains drawn the place was very dark, all in all not the cosy and comfortable base for our excursions we had imagined.
We think that this studio, which is not mentioned on the website at all as an alternative to the ones in the main building, should not be given to people who wanted the nice apartments without extra notice and an alternative offer. We felt ill-informed by the website.
We found it fair, though, that we could check out after only one of the four nights we had booked without any further hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for a studio in the main building, avoid the other building by the harbor.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Hotel
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
815 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#11 of 109 in Reykjavik
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Sisters Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Sisters Guesthouse

Address: Ranargata 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £115 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Three Sisters Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing