We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving! ”
Review of Einar Ben - CLOSED

Einar Ben
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Miõborg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks can be deceiving! ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Nice looking place. Service is terrible. Nobody seems to know what they're doing and cant give us a time frame on our food. I am sitting at the table after being here for over an hour and still haven't eaten anything. Want to walk out but think it's too late to go elsewhere at this hour. Don't come here!

Helpful?
Thank BT111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Entertaining evening”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Probably the friendliest restaurant I have ever visited. Food was exceptional and different - the Minke Whale was outstanding. Traditional décor with a historical twist - ask and they will tell you the story of the restaurant and explain the menu with pleasure and pride. My son and I enjoyed the evening so much we stayed for drinks after dinner and were made very welcome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WAP1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent icelandic food,friendly service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Never ever eaten such baked lamb and potatoes! Excellent!
My husband took whale and it was quite unique.
We were there for the world cup semi finale and we could seat in front of the outdoor screen on the square... Cosy place to watch the game.
Well very well cooked dinner : it worth the price !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Icelandic fare”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went there on the recommendation of our hotel staff. A house in the commercial centre which has been renovated into a fine restaurant. Good Icelandic dishes with friendly helpful staff. I had the lamb 2 ways which was really good. Everywhere in Iceland, we find the cost is high, but this was not too bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is better than the food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A cool old restored home of renowned poet Einar Ben. Individual serving rooms ensure an intimate dinner. Food selection a bit limited and the lamb and rizzotto I had was average.

But I loved the room, decor, and the staff were attentive while somewhat formal, a bit of a throw back to older times.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Einar Ben also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing