We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pre 4.30pm menu”
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Ranked #28 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The housing Laekjarbrekka was built as a dwelling in 1834, by the influential Danish ship owner and merchant P.C Knutzon. Hel also build a bakery and a turf house in the same lot and brought the Danish baker T.D Bernhöft to Iceland to practice his trade here. Bernhöft, who was for a long time the only baker in Reykjavík, bought the houses in 1845. The Bernhöft family continued in the baking business at this location for two generations, building a retail shop onto the dwelling house in 1855. This addition is today the part of the restaurant facing the main street. The building was used as a dwelling until 1961, and a small shop was there until the time of reconstruction began in 1980. By then, the house had fallen into disrepair, and had been neglected for a long time. Its future had been uncertain until 1979, when it and several other houses in the same block were declared protected buildings. During reconstruction, every attempt was made to preserve the original appearance. It is therefore with great pleasure to invite you to dine in this beautifully restored house, which has an eventful 180-year history behind it.
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pre 4.30pm menu”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I visited this restaurant on Friday 2nd and Saturday 3rd May after seeing the board outside showing the daytime menu. The food was excellent value for the price. I had the Salmon pasta on 2nd. This came with a beautiful cauliflower soup with plenty of delicious bread first then the creamy pasta with chunks of lovely fresh salmon, salad and garlic bread. On the 3rd I enjoyed the shredded lamb with vegetables and mash, ahead of which I had a lovely tomato soup with bread as before. I cannot comment on the evening menu but the pre 4.30pm menu is excellent food at reasonable prices. Higly recommended. Also delightful atmosphere, very clean and friendly and polite staff made me most welcome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    435
    96
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Within an easy walk from center city in Reykjavik, this is a gem to enjoy and return to more than once. The food is fresh, uniquely prepared and served in style. We returned twice and would have returned again if we had not run out of time. Don't miss this well run restaurant with a friendly and professional staff.

J.G. Strout

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Traditional Icelandic Cuisine”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We came here for a friend's birthday to try traditional Icelandic cuisine. Some items from the menu included fermented shark, puffin, mink whale and horse steak. We had all, and apart from the shark were truly delicious, very well cooked.

The restaurant is very traditional and smart, with a warm atmosphere. The waiting staff are very professional and polite.

I'd recommend for groups, couples and friends - a good all round restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
“a nice introduction to Icelandic cuisine”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a very nice looking restaurant. Artic char, salted cod and the horse fillet were the main dishes we had. All very good. Puffin appetizer was OK but not special. Do not get the pickled shark. It would have a very limited appeal unless you are used to it. As the waiter said it smells like a bottle of ammonia. Additionally you have to understand that food is very expensive in Iceland because everything is brought in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,384 reviews
962 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
“Unique Taste of Icelandic Foods”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Laekjarbrekka is located in the center of Reykjavik in a loving restored 1834 house that once was a Danish bakery. Entering this unique restaurant is a little like stepping back in time and you clearly get a sense of old Reykjavik. It's a charming setting.
Laekjarbrekka celebrates the tastes and flavors of Iceland and has some unique offerings on the menu - horse, whale, puffin and a fermented shark that is famous in Iceland and I am told very strong. On my night here I did not feel very adventurous and I wanted a bit of Iceland in a more conservative tasting.
My meal was elegant, with a lovely window table with a candle and linens. The wait staff was friendly and was very happy to discuss the foods of Iceland and help you find the right meal.
I started out with a Cream of Langoustine soup that was delicious and flavorful. Next I had the Mountain and Bay - this is a nice piece of pan fried lamb with a langoustine on the top (can you tell I love langoustines!). Dessert was a unique dish and one that I remember fondly. It was a raspberry mousse with liquorice marengues. The dessert was unique and had wonderful flavors. I loved the liquorice taste with the sweet mousse! Of course I had a Gull beer to wash it all down.
The presentation was beautiful, each plate was a work of art!
I left here happy and feeling that I really had a taste of authentic Icelandic cooking in the most elegant setting. This is a must do on your visit to Iceland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing