We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
AlbanyL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel is clean, quiet, modern, and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice. They were able to check us in early in the morning (our flight arrived early) and that made a huge difference in how our trip started. Rooms were always clean and everyone very helpful and knowledgeable. A really great stay.

There are several restaurants around the hotel, and a great sport complex with an outdoor hot pool and a small farm animals zoo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbanyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    1,432
    333
    55
    40
See reviews for
524
1,702
235
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is the 4th time I've stayed at this hotel, 2nd time since it was significantly renovated in mid-2000's. It has never disappointed. Rooms were attractively furnished and a decent size. Television choices were limited and it was hard to use. Rooms were a bit stuffy and beds would have been better without the overly bulky and warm comforter. Breakfast in the excellent Vox restaurant was generous in quantity and selection. Commons areas in downstairs lobby included classy bar, fireplace, and gift shop. It is a short walk, and even shorter cab or bus ride, to the city center. Another plus of Nordica's location is its very close proximity (3 blocks) to World Class Iceland, one of largest gyms in the country, along with an adjacent swimming pool with its choices of hot pots. Nordica is a great combination of quality and convenience at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Select even numbered room facing Mt. Esja and Flaxafloi bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We LOVED Reykjavik! The Hilton Nordica was a really great choice. The only reason I couldn't give it a 5 dot rating is because it is not in the city center. Although the Hilton offers a shuttle bus, it only makes runs 4 or 5 times a day. Taxis, like just about everything else in Iceland, are very expensive so more shuttles would have been nice.

The breakfast buffet each morning was outstanding - even better than their Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We'd highly recommend this hotel! Spare, modern Nordic design with a nicely designed spiral staircase. Rooms are a little small, but bright, immaculate and with windows that open (love my fresh air). Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, as well as the typical wallhung liquid soap dispensers in shower and by sink. The staff behind the desk was super helpful with info on everything from the music scene to directions and booking tours. Umbrellas were always on hand for the near constant rain, which was okay since we had many rainbows right outside our room's windows. The gift shop was not inexpensive, but nothing in Iceland is, and the quality of the merchandise was very good. The breakfast was very good too, and part of our package. American choices of bacon and eggs, fruits etc. as well as Icelandic cheeses, breads, cereals and, what I found amusing, little shot glasses provided for a gulp of codliver oil! Coffee is strong, and they like it that way. Vox's dinner with wine pairings is expensive, but well worth it. The reindeer carpaccio one night was beautifully presented on a honed piece of Icelandic rock - perfect way to keep it at the right temp.
One feature I loved was the thought put into electricity usage. You needed to keep a plastic card key in the slot by the door to have room power, so when you grab your key on the way out, there's no wastage of left-on lights. The halls are equipped with sensors and will be dark until someone enters, when they are quickly triggered to light. The windows on each floor in the central elevator area are floor to ceiling, and they have a lucite panel hanging in front with the outline and names of the Icelandic mountains visible just outside. Great thought in these little design features, and a very pleasant experience!
We didn't try their spa, since we were told by the desk staff that the waters were not mineral rich geothermal ones, but regular water. We checked it out anyway, and it seemed well-equipped and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede NL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Hilton Nordica Hotel in Reykjavik is a good hotel, located near the city centre and largest shopping mall in Reykjavik.
The rooms are very comfortable, up to Hilton standards and it is worthwhile booking a hotel on the top-floor where you get a beautiful view over the city and nearby bay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk_Oldenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We purchased a special 4-day package through Icelandair, and this was the hotel. We were delightfully surprised by the quiet, comfortable rooms and outstanding service. Breakfast, included in our package, was delicious and plentiful--there's something for everyone. We found dinner at the hotel quite expensive by Canadian standards, but hotel guests do get a 10% discount at the bistro, There's also a Happy Hour from 5-7 pm with half-price drinks.

There's a hotel shuttle that goes downtown three times a day if you don't feel like the 30 minute walk to city centre. All in all, a spotlessly clean, modern hotel with some attractive Icelandic features.

Room Tip: We had a room facing a parking lot--probably based on the price we paid. There are rooms with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
269 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was our first trip to Reykjavik - a 3 night long weekend. The Hilton is about a 15 minute walk from city center.
We arrived at 7:30am and they were expecting us. Went to have breakfast whilst our room was being made up. As others have said, the hotel is modern, stylish and clean in all areas of the hotel. Our room was quite small but clean. Our only complaint being that we had some very noisy guests down the hall that made one of our nights hell. The hotel was very accomidating and offered to move our room. I had grabbed the wrong adapter plug for my phone and the hotel staff was great and loaned me one for the time we were there.
Breakfasts were delicious with a large offering of local goodies.
Vox, the Hilton's restaurant is supposed to be fantastic but we didn't manage to eat there. We did have drinks during Happy Hour and they were 1/2 price in the bar area.
Nordica spa was clean with good equipment but we found their staff less than helpful. Quite cold actually. They do have spa services but you must book in advance.
We found the staff to be very helpful and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
930 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 53 in Reykjavik
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing