We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Hilton Reyjavik Nordica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed, with friends, at the Hilton from 19-23 January 2012. Everybody we met was welcoming and extremely helpful –receptionists, the bar tenders and restaurant staff. The rooms were comfortable and warm, but could have done with some more storage space – two small drawers, a shelf and small wardrobe was not enough for two people.

We asked for a couple of extra non-feather pillows and these were provided very quickly, including changing the duvet and other pillows to non-feathered. Also, asked for some decaf coffee and a supply was available in our room when we returned from our day out.

The extensive breakfast was very tasty. Our friend found the gluten free bread the best she had ever tasted. Here we also tasted our first Icelandic yogurts – Srky.is – absolutely gorgeous, especially the pear flavour.

When using the hotel shuttle at 10am, it was too full to take us all, so they immediately arranged for another shuttle to collect us and take us into town.

We took advantage of the hotel’s happy hour between 5 and 7pm, and also partook of the bar menu – very nice.

Also, for Reykjavik Excursions, we tended to be the last to be picked up and the first to be dropped off - much appreciated after some of the longer journeys.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel had excellent views out to the sea and of the Blue Mountains - m...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,708)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,829 - 2,835 of 3,708 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Early check in, late check out, those are details that please hotel guests. The place is clean, well designed, and is a good location for starting tours.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Amazing staff made this hotel stay a real plus. We were excited to visit Iceland for the first time and hopeful of seeing the Northern Lights. While the weather wasn't conducive to the aurora, the hotel had plenty of activities to suggest. Hotel restaurant was vey nice with reasonable prices and good food. A happy hour every evening was fun because the lounge was filled with Icelanders who were delighted to interact. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable with hardwood floors-why doesn't every hotel have hardwood?? A short distance to the business district was serviced by a free hotel shuttle. We would definitely recommend this hotel and certainly stay there again if our travels take us to Iceland again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliec2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We enjoyed our trip here, and would come again. pro's are the views, upgrade for $35 per night to get a queen bed, and ocean/ mountain view. Worth it. Nice bartender, so have a gull beer if you get a chance, take the beer and sit on the chairs on the 6th foor, very relaxing. Front desk people were very friendly and helpful. Room simple but perfect. Use the bathtub, it's well worth the time. Around the corner to the right of hotel is a breakfast cafe with awesome coffee. If you don't want the morning all-you-can-eat breakfast, which we don't like. Unfortunately if you want a small breakfast, there's no other option. Internet is free and works well.

Con's: spa for 3,500 is a bit of a let down, woman who work the front desk bring down the whole place, you get one towel, and information about the services is need to know, and they don't think you need to know. Queen mattress was horribly uncomfortable, but that just got us up earlier in the day, sice in Feb the sun doesn't rise until 10:00 am, so it's hard to change time zones in the dark. Sunday shopping isn't much, 10% of shops are open. Taxi to city is about $12. Cable doesn't work in this hotel, has lag.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie_riding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

IcelandAir's usual hotel in Reykjavik was fully booked when we arrived so we were bumped off and we were asked to move to the Hilton.

Definitely nothing to complain about. Restful stay, excellent breakfast. I only wished we also stayed here on our last night in Reykjavik before flying home!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a nice Hilton with very friendy staff who were aways happy to help out. The breakfast was a huge buffet with lots of tasty choices.

Food and drink in the hotel was very expensive, but then that's true of Iceland generally. The hotel barman has won various awards for cocktails so we tried a few out, but they were a bit oversweet for me and not worth the cost in my opinion.

The hotel was very nice, clean, well equipped and welcoming, but it has the feel more of a conference/business hotel than a tourist hotel, there wasn't any real character to it. It's also quite a bit out of town. It might be walkable in summer, but in winter the pavements were just giant ice rinks and walking any distance was practically impossible.

If I returned to Iceland I'd prefer a smaller, more central hotel, but this is a perfecty fine Hotel of its kind.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank werebimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

When we booked our trip to Iceland, we hoped to find a contemporary boutique hotel to make our trip special. There wasn't a great deal of choice beyond the B&B level, so we opted for the highest graded chain hotel, the Hilton Nordica. I'm not usually in a rush to book a Hilton, often finding it to be one of the least personal of the big brands. But this experience changed my mind. The new, contemporary, well designed, perfectly planned hotel was exactly what we wanted. Lots of amenities, great service, friendly staff, Icelandic design touches etc all made our stay extra enjoyable. The bar, restaurant, spa and gym were all fantastic - deserving of a five star rating really. There's not a 'luxe' feel to this place but if you want a reliable, contemporary, clean, warm, almost indulgent place to act as a base for the city and the island, I'd recommend booking here. Ask for a mountain facing room and spend a little more to get an Executive room if you can.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craiglegrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 53 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £144 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing