We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a great hotel. It is very well situated close to Reykjavik’s downtown, and is a short bus ride away if you do not want to walk it. The front desk provides bus passes that you can use for the duration of your stay, returnable when you leave. This was really useful to us.

The executive lounge was really good, and very well run We didn’t get the best view from our room, however, the great view from the executive lounge compensated for this. Breakfast was a very lavish spread.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and would really take the time to provide information. They also had a separate concierge desk during the day.

We absolutely loved our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thecaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,680
    1,503
    364
    64
    45
See reviews for
562
1,778
249
385
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Located just outside downtown Reykjavik Hilton Nordica offers a nice place to stay. Offering lots of free parking space this is a perfect hotel to stay in case you have your own rental car. Less suitable if you don't have your own car, as it is located just outside the center (about 15/20 minutes walking). There is a pizza-hut around the corner and there is a good restaurant in the hotel itself (we did not try it, but the breakfast was very decent and offered a wide selection of about everything you can wish). Just around the corner of Laugardalslaug, so pack your swimsuit and pop in one of those hotpools.

Beware of rooms located on the left side of the building, just beneath the lounge on the top floor. The entire hotel has wooden floors and the rooms just below the lounge can suffer from the noise the chairs in the lounge (also during cleaning) can cause.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean-view room. It really adds to the experience of staying in Reykjavik. They look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arjan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I wish I could do a separate review of the Hilton Restaurant because I would give it a one. The breakfast buffet was expensive but decent. (Note: everything in Iceland is expensive). My problem came when we ate dinner at the Hilton VOX. The chef, I assume the head chef as he was instructing other chefs. He wore a chef hat and had a small black beard. He tasted EVERYTHING before he put it on the plate. He even put some sauce on the back of his hand, licked it off and continued plating. He NEVER washed his hands. Maybe health standards are different in Iceland but I was totally grossed out. At one point the chef disappeared and my six year old said "I think he's gone in the back to lick our spoons,." That made me laugh! Could be son, could be. I complained to the waitress who acted like she didn't hear a word I said. I wrote a note on a "Hilton moment's" card and handed into the lady (unopened) at the desk when we checked out. I told her it was my "Hilton disgusting moment". She didn't acknowledge the note. She did come out a few minutes later and gave my little boy a small bag of plastic animals. I guess that was Hilton's acknowledgement. I'm writing this review in the lobby as I wait for our shuttle to the airport so trust me if they cared they had plenty of time to say so.

On the positive side for the hotel. We had to make two separate reservations for two rooms when we booked through Icelandair. The package we booked didn't allow rooms for three. When we arrived they put us in one family room. That was very nice. The room was clean, temperature was good and it was quiet. The housekeeper was very nice.

The hotel gives you a bus pass card to use during your stay. It was great being able to catch the bus to downtown where we could explore and eat.

Room Tip: The rooms were great just watch the person preparing your food. Not that anyone is going to do anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights had a sea view on 7th floor but hardly slept a wink due to road noise coming in through badly fitting windows. Free bus pass was useful as about 20 mins walk from centre. Good sized rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_humphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here last year for bachelor party. Fantastic experience and would recommend to anyone. I travel a lot for business and the hotel did a great job of honoring my status. Lounge was clean and great service inside as well as delicious food. The concierge was really helpful in booking the excursions. I would encourage everyone to try the ice diving and 4x4 with snowmobiling (make sure to do private with the new land rovers) AWESOME!!!!! I have been all over the world and this was by far my favorite all time. Could have been closer to the city but other than that, perfect.

Room Tip: concierge lounge is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJS1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a stylish, busy, and beautiful hotel located a little out of the center of Reykjavik. It is, however, a quick bus ride into the heart of the city (3 stops) - and the hotel will even loan you a bus pass (good for up to 4 people) so you can explore. We had an Icelandair package that included air + 4 nights hotel + breakfast (wonderful full buffet) + RT transfers to/from the airport for an unbeatable price. It also is a pick-up/drop-off point for excursions (right at the front door). Very convenient.

Excellent service, great food, spotless housekeeping, and a beautiful view over the water to the mountains beyond. Unless the conference schedule (very popular) puts you off because the lobby, bar, and restaurant might be busy, I think most travelers will like it very much. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (9), perhaps because of the room type we reserved in the package (1 Double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located close to the centre, although you will have to drive or get a bus (the hotel provides a free service), as it's a bit of a walk.
The rooms are spacious, modern and have safety box, iron board, iron, fridge and coffee/tea facilities. The shower is excellent and everything seems very new.
A swimming pool would be nice, although there is a gym available.
Parking is free. There is free wifi in the rooms too.
I can't fault this hotel. A will come back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan141171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing