We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Views”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Amazing views from the rooms at the front of the hotel. We were on the 7th floor facing the water. We arrived to the hotel around 5 PM from our flight from Stockholm (great airfare promotion from Icelandair) and checked in. We were not upgraded to executive lounge at at first but asked to be. A bit of confusion but finally we were upgraded. Room was clean, wifi strong, queen bed somewhat uncomfortable for me but not my partner. Bathroom was fine, easy to use shower fixtures. Room was simply furnished but nice.

Breakfast in the restaurant was good and plentiful. Exec Lounge breakfast was much simpler so we did not eat there the three mornings we were there. The exec lounge was great and food during tea time and pre-dinner plentiful. Service here was great. Another guest stated she was a vegetarian and the waitress said she would order a dish from the kitchen that did not contain meat. Views from the lounge were great too. It is on the 8th floor and juts out from the main building so the views are a bit extended. The first floor lounge/bar area was very interesting with some cozy seating arrangements. We did not hang out there but it looked nice.

We rented a car to see the golden circle on our own. Parking was plentiful for the most part. Only once did we have difficulty finding a spot. There is a lot in the back of the hotel, too. Up the side street behind the hotel is a pharmacy and small grocery store.

It is a bit of a way from the old part of the city but with a car it was no problem. They said it would take 20-30 minutes to walk or there was also some sort of bus pass they had at the hotel for certain lines that run by the hotel I think.

We booked ahead and got a good price so the value we got from the hotel was awesome. We are planning a return trip sometime when the weather is WARM and less windy to get a better idea of the country. We will most definitely stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are worth it. Otherwise you are looking at some buildings behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostontravelnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    1,464
    342
    59
    42
See reviews for
534
1,734
242
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Nordica as part of an Icelandair promotion.

The hotel was great. Modern, clean and nordic minimalist as one might expect. The end rooms were large sized, with plenty of room to spread out. Bathrooms were large and spacious. We stayed on the fifth floor that had fairly decent views.

While it's not overly close to the center of Reykjavik, it's not that far. Although buses stop directly in the front of the hotel, we chose to walk. The walk takes about 20 minutes, but the sidewalks are very wide and the walk is easy. Bus tickets are available at the front desk.

The Hilton is the "go to" place for brunch on Sundays. We tried it and while it's good, we thought it was a bit overpriced for what was available. It has a nice hotel bar that was always fairly crowded.

Another plus, is that the Laugardalslaug (hot spring pools) are just a five minute walk from the hotel.

Overall, we thought this was a great value and a great place to stay, if you don't mind being outside the city center.

Room Tip: The best rooms here are the oversized rooms on the end of the hotel. They have a bit more room, win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I love the decor of this Hilton it was very modern and hip. The bar is trick...and the drinks are great. I loved the layout and all the little areas to chill. The hotel staff were all very nice. The beds are comfortable even though they are not what we are accustomed to here in the States. I like the separate comforters which is a Scandinavian thing since they were the same in Denmark. It works out best for me and my husband :-) . The customer service was great nothing to complaint about there. The hotel is on the outskirts of downtown Reykjavik but the hotel will give you a free bus pass to take downtown. If you want to be in the middle of all the buzz this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Staff were very helpful, fast and made our stay very comfortable. The hotel it self is very nice, clean, and the rooms are good and quiet. The hotel is not in the center but there are bus stops outside that takes you in to the center within minutes. The hotel also have buscards to lend out

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fargah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I am a Hilton Honors member so Hilton's are always my first choice. This one was a great choice! Rooms are nice and large, very quite, good wi-fi reception and lots of electrical outlets for recharging the many devices travelers carry now a days. If you are a Gold or Platinum Member you get free access to the Executive Lounge. Free breakfast and one of the best Happy Hours I have had in a while. Hilton provides a free bus pass for all guests to get back & forth and around downtown. Otherwise it is about a 10 minute walk to the downtown core.

There is no Airport Shuttle but the airport has a well organized bus service that departs 30 minutes after each flight arrives. There are two airport bus services, I used Airport Express operated by Gray Line, both services cost the same and work the same way. You buy your ticket after you come out of baggage claim, and proceed outside and get on your bus. The bus then departs after the last passenger who has purchased a ticket is on board. It is about a 45 minute bus ride from the airport to downtown Reykjavik. The bus pulls into a large parking lot where there are several smaller shuttle vans the driver directs you to the correct van which takes you to your hotel. This is a much more efficient and faster service then one bus stopping at 10 or more hotels. The US could learn from this process!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Forwarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at the Hilton on a packaged tour with Icelandic Air. Paid a bit extra to be at the Hilton vs the Natura hotel, and while we didn't see inside the Natura hotel, I was quite happy to be at the Hilton. Not in downtown, but like other travellers have said, they give you a free bus pass to use while you're there. The bus system was easy to use. Clean and up to the Hilton standard. Be aware of the breakfast. Buffet is EXPENSIVE! There is a small grocery store next door and an eat-in pizza joint a few strip plazas down. You can also walk from the hotel to the community pool (I forget what it was called), but it is all outside, heated, as expected in Iceland style. Try the waterslide at the community pool; fun even for adults. Enjoyed our hilton stay!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the hotel for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Nordica Reykjavic. We found the hotel exactly as we expected and no big surprises. Staff were very helpful, especially when my wheelchair broke. They found us a wheelchair supplier close by to organise a replacement. Nordica staff also very kindly took care of disposing of my broken chair! The next day, one of the reception staff sought us out to check everything had worked out ok - lovely lady. The hotel was very well placed for us, but we did have a car. We felt we were close enough to everything we wanted. Our room had a stunning view to the sea and the mountains. Breakfasts were great with a huge selection and variety - worth every penny as it kept us going for the day! We only had one other meal in the hotel, a meal in the bar, which was really good quality. Now, sadly just a couple of very small 'issues' (not significant enough to call complaints). The hotel dining information pack describes room service being available 24 hours, yet the one time we tried to order something at about 11pm we were told the kitchen had closed at 10.30! This wasn't a major problem though as there is a hot drink machine and chiller cabinet offering sandwiches etc in the lobby. Our room was way too hot for us and even with both windows open, we found it too hot. There was no climate control in room, so nothing we could do. Finally, and this is possibly just a personal thing, but in a 4 star hotel we expect to at least have cups and saucers on our tea tray - what's with paper cups? Also, no milk. If you like tea like me, you do not want to use powdered creamer in it! All in all though, we had a great trip in a lovely hotel with really helpful caring staff.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room at the front for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzyjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing