We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable but not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here with a tour group. The wifi in room #302 does not work and since I was there on a weekend, I sat in the lobby doing my email since their tech people were not available. They gave me a chit for two drinks for my inconvenience. We came back over one week later and my friend was given room #302 and still no Internet connection! WATCH OUT FOR ROOM #302!
The staff was charming, the breakfast buffet was good and very diverse and the overall appearance of the hotel was clean and modern.
The location is not in town but they will give you a bus pass to allow you to ride free. The ride into town is short. The bus in front of the hotel takes you to the bus station where you can walk to downtown or transfer to downtown buses. The bus about a block behind the hotel takes you directly into downtown passing by the Harpa Concert Hall on the route. Buses run about every half hour.
Not a bad choice but you could find a better location since the city is a great walking city.
They do not have a van service to the airport. A cab ride is over $120 US!

Room Tip: Check the wifi in your room BEFORE you unpack. If it does not work, walk down the hallway a room or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbflgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,090 - 2,096 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nice and comfortable hotel. Good value for money. Service and staff responsiveness is amazing. My wife had a fall and had injured her arm and they found us a clinic and doctor on a Icelandic holiday day. TV channel are very limited and needs to be improved

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I spent four nights in Reykjavik. Our room was very clean and well furnished. The room was a little small by US standards but typical of what we have experienced in Scandinavia. We had a beautiful view of the town and the Ocean. I strong encourage you to pay for the views. We were able to get a very good summer rate but had to ask for this when booking. We were promised access to the Executive Lounge. Unfortunately, the Nordica would not accommodate this promise. Ask for the Nordica bus pass. It is an easy way to move around the city and you won't have to pay the high rates for taxis. Also, take some time to experience the community center thermo pool a few blocks away.
My only other complaint would be regarding the Media. The hotel had terminated their agreement with a cable provider so there was very limited access to cable. In addition, the internet had to continually be renewed. All these negatives were out weighed by the positives.
Finally, purchase your wine at the duty free shop in the airport before taking your shuttle to the Hilton. The prices are 3 or 4 times greater in the city.

Room Tip: Pay for the view overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

It's okay but not great. Stayed as an executive with added services.
The staff here are way too by the book and not flexible with anything. I am still in the hotel for one more night but honestly wished we just stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is a bit out of the city centre, which is good because it is easy to get there by car, easy to park and it is relatively quiet area during the night. Room was a typical Hilton, cosy, comfortable enough and provided a good sleep. Breakfast also a typical European Hilton, very good. Staff at the reception was kind and helpful, it seems to me that in the last two years the Hilton chain in general has improved in this matter. Room too warm, had to sleep with the window open. Free Wi-Fi in the room - normal for Iceland, not so normal for Hilton, so congrats on that!

Room Tip: Higher floor, back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good location and particularly if you get a room on the bay side the views
are brilliant. Lobby is functional rather than special. Rooms are very modern
but well appointed and quite comfortable. High standard as one would expect from
Hilton. Food was good. Do not expect massive menue selection in Iceland but
preparation and presentation very good. Staff all very professional and polite.
Fairly expensive but then most things are expensive in Iceland compared to
N.America.

Room Tip: Ask for bay and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rje2993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

At the end of our holiday and we had a flight very early the next morning, we stayed at the hotel for the most of the afternoon/evening eating twice at the hotel bar. All was fine until the next day.
When we went to check out in the morning the receptionist told us the bill and I thought that it seemed a lot more than for the two meals but assumed it had to be right and it was just my misjudgment of the exchange rate.. Nonetheless asked to see the receipts (they weren't offered) and they'd charged us again for the room even though it had been pre paid by our travel agent and we showed our booking voucher when we checked in the day before. We were all shattered having only had a couple of hours of sleep, barely awake and not really concentrating, very lucky that we noticed it, saving £200! On top of this the receptionist didn't apologise and took a while to actually believe us.

No point talking about the rest of our experience as my opinion is already going to be jaded.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £122 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing