We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, loved the stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel, loved the stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at the Hilton for 4 nights for our honeymoon. I booked direct through the Hilton website which was painless and hassle free. I booked the King Suite and what a lovely room it was. 2 bathrooms, seperate living area, 2 TV's, the biggest bed ever which was very comfortable The main bathroom had a Jacuzzi and a separate walk in shower. We received complementary fruit and dressing gowns and slippers. The room also had a Bang and Olufson CD player, DVD player, radio alarm clock and fresh flowers.The room was extremley clean, excellently decorated and room service was once a day.

We also had access to the executive lounge which was nice. You helped yourself to snacks which were pastries and cakes in the afternoon and evening and savory items such as sushi, cold meats, crudites and dips at dinner time. Free drink was also on offer, tea, coffee, wines, beer and soft drinks and juices in the day, and also spirits in the evening. The lounge also had a PC with free internet, a fire, lovely big sofa's and a TV with SKY.

We could also use the Spa free of charge although didnt have time to use that unfortunatly. I'm sure it would have been nice!

The buffet breakfast was excellent with a big range of food for all tastes/nationalities. We booked the Blue Lagoon/airport transfer trip through the booking desk which was no problem.

All the staff were helpful and polite, there are looks of taxi's outside and a bustop also. Walking into the city took about 15 minutes and the big shopping centre is about a 10 minute walk in the other direction. There are various shops such as a grocers, chemist etc nearby which is handy

Hand on heart i can say the stay was perfect

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dano17439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,589
    1,419
    330
    54
    39
See reviews for
518
1,681
233
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in December. On arrival was greeted with hot chocolate and cookies when booking in. Rooms were clean and spacious. Booking out was equally as efficient. Staff very helpful, especially at the travel desk-thank you. On our last night we woke to a christmas gift from one of the 13 Yuletide lads-nice gesture. The city was lit up with understated and very pretty lights. We were 5 minutes from the Languadalar outdoor pool which was great-open from 6.30am -10.30pm. There every night and only 4.50 gbp for family of 4. Hot pots from 37c to 44c. Hot relax pools. Outdoor olymic pool. Thermal play pool and slide which our kids aged 8-1 loved. lots of floaty toys!!! 24 hr shop behind hotel and lots of eating places out to the right of main entrance at reasonable prices. Large shopping centre-Kringlan only 10 minute walk away. Perlan only 25 mins at slow pace. Nice scenic walk along beach to town in 2o mins too.
Booked all our trips with Rekjavik excursions-prompt and excellant value and service. Icelander aircraft-clean, efficient and great with kids-free head sets, personal tv in back of seat in front, free snack and colouring book for youngest. Santa also delivered a present on the way home.
Loved this holiday. Adored all the gepthermal hot pots and pools. Loved the geysers, falls and snowmobile experience.Visited blue lagoon twice!! Fresh clean air. Definitely a place to visit again if only to see the northern lights which sadly did not present for our trip. All trips pick up and drop off from main entrance to hotel. Lovely fire in lobby to keep warm!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrajaneWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Stayed here four nights. Hilton Honors Diamond VIP, so upgraded to jr. suite type room and Exec Lounge. Staff friendly and helpful. Lounge had great views but little else. Breakfast in lounge was fruit and some juice. No pastries. No eggs. Nothing else. Evening happy hour in lounge was a few light canapes and some alcohol, but once the eight pieces were taken, the tray wasn't replaced. There never seemed to be a bottle opener available, either. Beverages were not replenished until the lounge closed, limiting what might be found in the evening. Computer with free Internet in lounge was nice, but it was at entrance and other guests thought I was a hotel employee when I used it. Breakfast in restaurant was usual fabulous Hilton breakfast. Room was wonderful and spacious, well-appointed.
I understand Iceland is having an ecenomic meltdown, but don't punish the executive level guests.
The tour desk in the gift shop was most helpful in booking tours offered by Netbus, whom I recommend.
Overall an enjoyable stay, but wish the lounge had provided the Hilton standard.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dangrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

We spent three days at the Hilton Reykjavik in late October, booked through Icelandair. Everything about our trip went like clockwork, and I can't praise too highly the efficiency of the Iceland tourist trade - airport transfers, hotel check in and excursion arrangements were dealt with promptly and with a polite and welcoming attitude. Service at the Hilton was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful, offering a wide range of high quality food; we enjoyed our half price drinks during Happy Hour at the popular bar, and the one occasion on which we ate at the restaurant provided us with a memorable fine dining experience. Our 5th floor room was spacious and comfortable and offered a panoramic view across the bay. Altogether a very enjoyable stay at the Hilton, and I would recommend Iceland as a holiday destination as it offers a wide range of experiences for all age groups.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Was lucky enough to be able to stay in this hotel with a deal from Icelandair. The hotel is in the business district on the "city" which is not to bad, it's only a 20 minute walk into the centre of the city, or they have a shuttle bus that runs 3 or 4 times a night to take you and bring you back.

Overall the hotel was great, friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms etc etc. we didn't use the full Restarant, but we did use the Bistro, which was excellent quality and good value compared to the restarants in the city. Breakfast was the usual european set up of fruit, bread, cheeses, ham and fully cooked options. I would recommend booking the breakfasts in advance of going as it is then cheaper.

Rooms were clean the tidy, TV includes Sky News, BBC News, BBC1 and Channel 4, but icelandic TV channels also play UK and US TV and just subtitle, they don;t dub, so you can also watch their channels.

Things i recommend:

1, If you are doing the Northern Lights book it as early as you can in the stay, they don't run everyday, and if you leave it to the last ngiht you may be dissapointed, we were there 3 nights, and it only ran on our last night. And have a decent camera, a standard compact camera WILL NOT work! and a tripod.
2, Hire a car and you can do alot of the day trips yourself for less, the Grand circle tour was around £180 each, but you can hire a car from £120 for 4 days. Roads are a good quailty, and its easy to drive around. Parking is free at the hotel.
3, Don't assume there is alot to do in the evenings in the winter, their favourate food of choice seems to be Italian, they were by far the majority in the city. And there isn't mainy bars. In winter locals tend not to go into the centre at nights,which means it is quite quiet.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

Stayed in the Hilton Reykjavik Nordica for four nights in November 2009, and we were upgraded from the basic Queen Hilton room to Queen Hilton Plus on the 7th floor. Not much of a difference, but still an upgrade and a pleasant surprise!

We got a nice and clean room with a great view of the sea and mountains, with all the usual things such as complimentary water bottles, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries etc. Suðurlandsbraut is a busy street during the morning and afternoon rush hour, so if you prefer to sleep longer in the morning, book a room on the opposite side of the building.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the in-house Vox Bistro offers great, tasty food at very reasonable prices - a must to try if you stay at the hotel. Order the lamb tenderloin! Breakfast is also served in the Vox Bistro, and includes pretty much everything you could want. The hotel lobby bar offers 50% off all alcoholic beverages every day between 1700-1900, take the opportunity to try the Thai Chili Iced Tea! If you're on a budget, great food can also be found at Brasserie Askur just 50 meters to the right of the hotel's main entrance.

The reception and tour desk staff are happy to help and direct you, and answer every question you may have. All other staff are also very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main downtown shopping area in Reykjavik. If you don't want to walk it, there's a free shuttle bus running in both directions several times a day. Alternatively, a taxi will cost you around ISK 1300-1500, or about €7-8 each way. We rented a car, and the hotel offers complimentary parking with easy access just outside the main entrance.

All in all, we will most likely stay at the Hilton Reykjavik Nordica when returning to Iceland some time in the future!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nimenime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

Beautiful hotel with excellent service. It's a good walk to the downtown core - maybe 20-30 minutes. I live in NYC, so that's with my quick pace in mind. Went downtown for a reasonably priced breakfast. Many day tours leave from their lobby, so that's very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girllamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing