We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grillid

Grillid
Ranked #74 of 457 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$163
Cuisines: European, Fusion, Scandinavian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining On the eighth floor of the Radisson BLU Saga hotel is Grillid, a restaurant that for more than half a century has been a symbol of a perfect night in Reykjavik. The reason is simple, at Grillid quality comes first, in food and drink, service and atmosphere. A night at Grillid is really a celebration for your senses, quality food and fine wine. Grillid Restaurant truly defines fine Icelandic dining. Panoramic view Grillid is on the eight floor of the Radisson Blu Saga hotel in Reykjavik and provides amazing view over Reykjavik city, the sea and the mountains.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The view of Mountains, the city and ocean in this restaurant is amazing.
The food and service was of high standard.
Only complaint is that the wines where not cooled, and the selection of the main course was only between fish and lamb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pernillebergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Manager at Grillid, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It is really a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests.
We value your thoughts and that you give yourself time to write about our restaurant. All comments are appreciated and helps us to do better.
Best regards
Jakob Mar Hardarson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    26
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the grillid, Reykjavik on 21 March.
The service was impeccable and the food was, without doubt, the best I have ever had the privilege to eat.
Unfortunately, all good things come at a price and the cost of the evening was as spectacular as the view of the sunset over Iceland

Helpful?
2 Thank RobnKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Saga, Manager at Grillid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our restaurant Grillid. Truly, it is rewarding for us to hear from satisfied guests. I want to thank you for taking the time to write these comments. Hope to see you again.

Best regards
Jakob Mar Hardarson
Restaurant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keflavík
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I dined at Grillid last week at the Food'n Fun festival. I had the 6 course tasting menu with selected wines. It was amazing, not only the food but the wines as well as it was obvious that thye had really carefully selected the wines. I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinþór J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They have outdone them selfs again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I went to Grillid with friends and family yesterday during the food 'n fun festival. I wrote a review a couple 3-4 months ago titled that Grillid provides the best dining experience in Reykjavik. This time it was even better than last time. I think there is no other restaurant in Reykjavik that puts as much effort into every meal, and it does show.

I went in the last month to Tapas Barinn (twice) and the Seafood grill (Sjávargrillið). Both of them were really good, but they really do not stand a chance when it comes to Grillid. If you are in Reykjavik and want to taste the best Iceland has to offer - Grillid should be your choice, no doubt.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Njáll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keflavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I went there with my family and friends. We had a 6 course special food 'n fun menu. We also had the House number 7 cocktail which was created by the restaurant manager.

The food was the best I've ever had, every thing was delicious from the cod to the beef tenderloin. We had excellent service and the atmosphere was great. But I think that the view over Reykjavik is unmatched as the Grillid is positioned on the 8th floor.

I will definately return and so should you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSB0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grillid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing