We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for great pizza not great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldsmiojan

Eldsmiojan
Ranked #136 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We have been making pizza with Love since 1986. Handmade and baked in wood fire. We are a chain of pizza restaurants and have 5 different locations around Reykjavík. Bragagata Laugavegur 81 Bragagata 38A Sudurlandsbraut 12 Ártúnshöfdi N1 (gas station) Dalvegur 4
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go for great pizza not great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Pizza really is good so if you can cope with indifferent service from disinterested staff it's definitely worth going. We've just come from two weeks in US so the naturally reticent Icelandic style of service is a culture shock but it's nothing personal. Be persistent (or order takeaway) and you'll be rewarded with a delicious pizza from a huge menu selection. Viking beer is good too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DroitwichBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    181
    48
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Hands down some of the best pizza I have ever had! If I could remember what kind I had I would definitely give it as a recommendation... One thing that was odd, yet delicious, that put cream cheese on some pizzas. Delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Kamalineequa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

everytime I go to Iceland and stay in Reykjavik I go to this place, can be too crowded sometimes but they do great pizza and good and cosy warm ambiance

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This place was near our hotel, and we tried it based purely on the delicious pizza smell as we walked past.

The pizzas are soft based with plenty of toppings - there is a wide selection to choose from, but some of them sounded a bit... Unusual!

We shared two different pizzas between us, and they we both good, but the salami one just beat the chicken one!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hbk619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Pizza / Hit & Miss Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We ate here twice and the pizzas were very good. The problem is the service, when the restaurant was quiet the service was good and friendly, when the restaurant was busy the service was terrible. The senior waitress was aggressive and then they forgot our order, when we chased our food it arrived approx. an hour after ordering. They did discount our bill, and so they should !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zena36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eldsmiojan also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Eldsmiojan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing