We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch the charges on your bill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vestmannaeyjar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vestmannaeyjar
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Watch the charges on your bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Although, this is isn't the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, it seemed to be the best available on the island. I was a little upset that they charged me for a breakfast that I never had. I noticed the difference in price when I got home and was going through my credit card bills. Unfortunately, I never bothered to dispute the charges as it seemed like more of a hassle than it was worth, but just make sure you check your bill before you leave.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank doc111872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    55
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
88
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 211 Westman Islands; Vestemeyer

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences. LOWER YOUR EXPECTATIONS FOR ALL ICELAND HOTELS

LOCATION: Good… walking distance to major sites and the best restaurants are on the same block but (at least our room) didn’t have a view of the water (rooms on the other side might).

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We took the 30 minute ferry. Be sure to reserve a space for your car in advance (and bring a car as the island will be more enjoyable).

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed and sheets were not impressive (as with most of Iceland).

LIGHTING: Adequate lighting in bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom is typical of Iceland… Very small and basic. Only plus side was that the shower was in a separate enclosure versus sharing the same floor as the toilet.

TOILETRIES: Shampoo is not good and there is a tiny bar soap included. Best to bring your own.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is clean but could use a detailing.

A/C: Just open the window for AC, heat worked fine.

STYLE OF ROOM: No style. Ikea-ish and nothing special (like nearly all hotels in Iceland).

COMMON AREA: No common area.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room is on a street but is quiet enough as it is a small town.

FOOD: Only had breakfast here which was mediocre. Cold cuts and some choices of cereals with milk that should be colder. Coffee was average at best. Breakfast is typical of other hotels in Iceland.

TV/INTERNET: Didn’t use TV but wifi worked fast and at no cost.

SERVICE: The guy at the front desk was the highlight of the hotel. Very friendly and helpful.

SUMMARY: I think it might be worth splurging for the suites since they may include flatscreen TVs and wood floors. Be sure to eat at 900 restaurant across the street and to do the yellow boat tour with safari tours which was incredible fun. Also, don’t miss the puffin hut which is easily to miss if you aren’t aware of it.

Room Tip: Probably worth getting a suite for the wood floors and better TVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our group of 7 stayed at Hotel Vestmannaeyjar for two nights in June. We got two doubles and a triple, each with private bath. The doubles were small, but comfy (we didn't spend much time in the room anyway, busy cramming in as much sightseeing as we could) and the triple had two rooms - two beds in one, one in the other, which was nice. The hotel is very conveniently located, with a great "spa" room, featuring two nice jacuzzi hot tubs, sauna, and snooker table, open 24/7 (contrary to the hours listed on the door).

But it's the new owner/manager that really makes this place shine. Magnus mentioned he had just bought the hotel in the past year (Congratulations) and it would seem he's bending over backwards to make people feel welcome, with great effect. He was really helpful in explaining points of history on the island, the best places to bird watch, which trails up the various (steep) volcanic mountains were in good repair and "doable" for us, etc. It was absolutely wonderful to have someone that accessible and helpful to guide us as we went out for the day. It also seemed like he was always at the front desk. But even when he wasn't, his night staff or other workers were just as helpful. Really pleasant experience, without question the best we had at any hotel whilst in Iceland.

Without question, I would not even consider another hotel if (and hopefully when) I visit the island again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We fell in love with this place (the island and the hotel). The hotel is clean and comfortable, gorgeous restaurant. Manager (the owner) is nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelicps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had such a wonderful time staying here. The hotel is beautiful, clean and in a perfect situation in the middle of town. It is run by Magnus, the nicest man on the islands and a huge help for planning local excursions. There is nothing quite like hiking a volcano and then coming back to soak in the hotel's hot tub with a glass of red wine. The rooms in both the main hotel, and the small building across the street "Hotel Mamma" are fantastic. Don't think twice, book your stay here and come to the Westmann Islands. An unforgettable couple of days.

Jamie and Nicky.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatentrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here in February with my wife and our young toddler. It being the low season, we arrived on the ferry with no reservations, but we had read a good guidebook recommendation for the Thorshamar. As noted by another reviewer, this centrally-located hotel (not really a B&B as Tripadvisor categorizes it) is under new ownership by a local couple, who could not have been nicer or more helpful during our one night stay. We stayed in what I think was one of the nicer rooms, with a jetted tub, mini-fridge, and view toward the harbor. The complimentary breakfast was very good -- different cereals, toast, cold cuts, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, juice, milk. In our short stay we didn't get a chance to try the hot tubs or use the TV (the owner said that they were just about to greatly expand the selection of channels). All in all, I would say that it was a good value for the price, considering that Iceland is generally fairly expensive. I would heartily recommend this establishment to visitors to the Westman Islands.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilmored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Þorshamar this January after jumping on the ferry to Vestmannaeyjar. Did not make reservations, but January is not exactly peak tourism season in Iceland and especially Vestmannaeyjar and it was not an issue. The hotel had recently come under new management by a gentleman who had grown up on the island. I believe he said that he was changing the name of the hotel to "Hotel Vestmannaeyjar" or something to that effect. Our stay was great, we could tell that he was excited to be fixing the place up, which, from a few photos, seems to have been largely unchanged since the volcano. Two jacuzzis and a dry sauna were working fine, and the included breakfast was great. Not sure what summer will bring, but would expect to see other good reviews on here.

Room Tip: Better WIFI on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestmannaeyjar
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Hamar
Guesthouse Hamar
#3 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
17.0 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eyjar
Hotel Eyjar
#2 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vestmannaeyjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestmannaeyjar

Property: Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Address: Vestmannabraut 28, Vestmannaeyjar 900, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Westmann Islands > Heimaey Island > Vestmannaeyjar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vestmannaeyjar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vestmannaeyjar 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar is located in the heart of Vestmannaeyjar town. Although distances are short on the island it is convenient to have all the services you require with in walking distance. The hotel opened its expansion in April 2014 with 24 new spacious rooms. The hotel has now 43 rooms. All rooms have a 10-channel flat screen TV, phone, and free high speed wireless internet connection. The hotel has beautiful views of Heimaklettur to the north and Helgafell to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vestmannaeyjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing