We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gott

Gott
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: GOTT is a healthy, creative family owned restaurant in Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland with fresh, authentic ingredients. The restaurant makes its breads freshly every day and all food is made from scratch every day. Fresh fish from the fish marked. The head chef and owner Sigurdur Gislason a former member of the Icelandic culinary team and his wife Berglind Sigmarsdottir have published two best seller cook books in Iceland.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Been wanting to go to Gott but never a free spot until one evening I went and had a lovely chicken burger served with salat and a sweet potato on the side, fresh and really good bread, highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IngunnBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    51
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh food and super cheesecake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

A really nice restaurant, decorated with taste and quiet. Healthy fresh food, and wonderful cheesecake. ( I've asked the recipe) The chief and his wife writes also cooking books lefestyle including pictures of their icelandic family. I'll come back ;)

Helpful?
2 Thank GTVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had lunch in here on a day trip to the island. I had soup and bread, DH had a burger. Everything was fresh and the bread was delicious. This seems to be a family run restaurant and offered a nice range of choices. Ask the waitstaff for WIFI password.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank knitter06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Vestmannaeyjar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great food and very nicely cooked. We ordered a burger and the dish of the day which was cod and langoustines, both were excellent. Plus the staff is super friendly, a place highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annelyse p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gott means Good !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My guide told me that we were on our own for lunch, but that she was planning to return to a place that she'd been to on a previous visit, and she intending to return. I joined her and was delighted to find a bright, clean and very popular, made to order soup and sandwich shop with an imaginative menu. I enjoyed a Chicken Curry Wrap with Chilled Sweet Potato.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RAR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gott also viewed

Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 

Been to Gott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing