We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house with perfect view”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the front of the house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the front of the house.
The front of the house, facing the road. Living room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from the front of the house.
The front of the house, facing the road.
Living room.
Kitchen and dining area.
Front, side view.
View from the backyard.
View from the bedrooms.
A riend.
Night view of the house.
The house and the garage (shed).
Rear view of the house, entrance.
View to from the rear of Presthus.
Waking up.
The look from the entrance of the house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Vik, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
movesalot
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely house with perfect view”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Our family of 5 loved our 2 night stay in this Viking style house near the Black Sand Beach in Vik. Perfect location in South Iceland. We saw all of the beautiful waterfalls and glaciers and drove out to Jokusarlon. It had everything we needed for a relaxing stay, and the view was breathtaking. We cooked dinner two nights in the kitchen, so that worked well for us. We also loved the geothermal heating in the floorboards.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
1 review
“Beautiful Vik”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Fabulous house, great interior design, wonderful location, brilliant views.....an absolutely perfect location to begin our Iceland holiday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRACE W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Iceland/Vik Beach House”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful, private beach house.
There is easy access to so many sites in this part of the country not to mention just across from the beautiful black sand beaches.
What a treat to stay in a home after being in a hotel for a few days prior.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2018
Nice to see that you enjoyed the house, it is indeed conveniently located.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jquesnell...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Misleading Ad”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We arrived late at night after a long day of sightseeing. We kept the owners in Sweden notified of our progress. We arrived exhausted and ready for bed. To our surprise the master bedroom was the only bed made up. We are a family of four with a twist. My ex husband and I are traveling with our daughters. This point had been made clear in advance.

The two additional bedrooms have mattresses that are approximately 2” thick. I’m hard pressed to call them beds. They are both small. The table lights did not work, and the hole with the Kleenex stuffed in it right over the bed made it all the more upsetting. I found bedding, however, it was very damp. The pillows have a funky smell. I slept in the room with the Kleenex above where you lay your head. I slept without bedding or a pillow fully dresses in my clothes and jacket. One daughter slept in the other room in her clothes and jacket. Bedding was too wet to put on. My other daughter slept on the leather sofa in the same condition. We were all horrified by the state of this place.

I did contact the owners in Sweden who offered no solutions. They had an obligation to rectify the issues, and they did absolutely nothing. We literally counted the minutes until we could move on to our next destination. Two nights of torture in a filthy home.

The home may have been designed by an architect, but the same standard is not applicable when it comes to the interior decorating. The decorating leaves much to be desired. The living room chair and sofa likely came from the previous farm. My daughter referred to it as the Black Plague. I appreciate well made furniture, but reholstry is a must. They are unusable in my opinion. The Kleenex shoved in a hole in the wall above the bed where you lay your head speaks to the lack of care. Creepy to say the least. The owners would not address it via email. If nothing else, use some common sense and hang something over it such as a picture. God only knows what the Kleenex is keeping out.

The place is very dirty especially in the kitchen area. It’s obvious that it’s not well looked after. There was plenty of food crumbs from previous stays. The fridge, oven, microwave all were covered in fingerprints. The same can be said for the windows with the view. I’ve taken photos and will be submitting them to all sites that this home is advertised on. It’s open and you hear everything including someone in the bathroom.

The two essential things I expect when renting a high end home are fresh linens including bedding, pillows, and towels. These items have to be replaced often. Pillows should be in air tight covers, so they are not collecting dust mites. The second thing I expect is cleanliness. This place offers neither. It was supposed to be the highlight of our trip. Instead it was a complete disappointment. It’s not enough to offer a view.

It might be helpful to know that there is a cross right outside. I assume someone is buried there. Creepy black and white photos of the dead hanging on the walls left us feeling uneasy. There is a well type thing behind the home that’s reminiscent of horror movies like the ring. The children’s play area outside is damaged and broken and includes a huge tire that radomly sits in the middle of nowhere.

This place has potential, but it needs some serious investment to make it a high end rental. I would not recommend this.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Unbelievably Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This house is just amazing. The location is central to many activities on the South Coast and Reynisfjara is a just lovely walk down the road--being able to visit the beach during the off-hours is worth the cost alone. The house itself is really beautifully designed (the sliding walls are amazing!) and has every amenity that you could hope for, but the views are what makes it so special. Our family of five had such a great time exploring the area and the property--we will definitely be back in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
596carag
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sleek house in a rustic setting”
Reviewed 27 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We didn’t know what to expect when we pulled up but we were so excited once we saw it. Very cool house nestled into hillside. Unfortunately it rained the entire time we were there so we didn’t get to fully enjoy the views or outdoor space but still enjoyed the beauty of the house. House has everything you need except freezer so we didn’t have ice cubes for our cocktails but we survived.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather K
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is a wonderful option in South Iceland. The house has a minimal, modern design yet manages to still feel warm and comfortable. I'm not normally one to notice such things, but the place had a very peaceful, well-loved atmosphere that we all appreciated. We particularly enjoyed the "modular" sliding doors, which could be opened to enjoy the epic view from the windows. There are plenty of attractions very near to hand including the famous black beach is a short walk away, puffin-watching on Dyrholaey, even a nice hike around the mountain directly behind the house. There's a supermarket, liquor store, and some decent dining options a short drive away in Vik, The kitchen has all you could require to prepare a meal. Our young children loved the home--something about the "longboat" layout really appealed to them and they spent hours happily playing in front of the continuous beach-facing windows. We also discovered some toys in the house that kept them happy and occupied one rainy afternoon. My only critique would be that the living room furniture is beginning to show its age, and is veering toward the shabby side of "shabby-chic." Overall, this was a great place to stay. It was easy to pick up the key at a local hotel, and the owner was helpful and responsive to all our inquiries. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing